New to Daz Studio. I have questions.

drzapdrzap Posts: 795
edited June 2017 in Art Studio

I've been playing around with my gf's Daz installation to evaluate its suitability for my movie project.  I was able to assemble my first scene in a reasonable amount of time.  My first takeaway:  It seems that animation is Daz's weak point.  It's a little tedious compared to other packages (granted the other packages aren't free)  and Two:  I have a lot to learn.  So here is my first of many questions.   I have attached my scene below.  Is there an easy way to make the character's sword glow (like a light saber) inside Daz Studio?  Are the camera settings connected to real life optics or should I just view them from the context of within Daz Studio?  My background is filmmaking and I find the renderer's responses to the camera settings a little puzzling.  But maybe it's because I am unfamiliar with the software.  Finally (for now), is there a log file that provides info such as how much Vram a render is consuming and how long it took to render?  This information is vital in planning for production of the final render.  Thanks in advance for your help.

The Incident.final.png
1920 x 1080 - 3M
Post edited by drzap on

Comments

• zombietaggerungzombietaggerung Posts: 3,645
    edited June 2017

I can answer one of your questions. You can make the blade glow; by first making it's surface emissive under the Surface Settings and changing the color temp and brightness; if rendering in Iray. Bloom will also make glowing things look better in Iray, the settings for that are under Render Tab --> Filter 

bloomsettings2.png
    2940 x 2000 - 873K
    Post edited by zombietaggerung on
  • drzapdrzap Posts: 795