So... Genesis 2?

WsCGWsCG Posts: 391
edited June 2017 in Carrara Discussion

Hi all,

I spent some time last night on the DAZ Store, looking at different Genesis models/generations, to find one that I want to work with and maybe to learn a bit more about what each has/does, etc. Turns out I learned a bit about it. 

I think I've found that Genesis 2 has a nice look, and a great variety of options... and it's nicely compatible with Carrara, which is a little bit important :p. So I'm leaning toward using that as my "main version", perhaps using others if/when there's a good reason to. As of now, I'm not aware of any particular reason why I shouldn't; I've seen some really great stuff based off of it. But again, I'm still very new with the DAZ "universe", so that could change over time.

I'm also curious what  y'all like to use around here as your "base" or "go-to" model/generation, and perhaps some reasons why? Versatility, looks, etc?

Thanks!

Post edited by WsCG on

Comments

• DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,078
    edited June 2017

Personally, I am willing to use any figure, but Genesis 2 is my most common.  Each generation of figure has gotten better in some fundamental ways.  For example, the default joint bends of Victoria 6 and Michael 6 are much better than the corresponding default bends of Victoria 4 and Michael 4.  See it in the shoulders even if fully clothed.  However, there are fixes that can be done in Carrara, and there are 3rd party products to improve V4 and M4 joint bends, so I'm not saying joint bends would stop me from using V4 or M4 if I think they are good for another reason (for example, I have some Carrara hair products that grow directly on the mesh of V4 or M4).