Genesis in Poser

13

Comments

  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    rather slow in poser. probably too slow to be all that useable at this stage.
    Love esther

  • monkeycloudmonkeycloud Posts: 0
    edited December 2012

    esther said:
    rather slow in poser. probably too slow to be all that useable at this stage.
    Love esther

    It's the "projection" stage, involved in adding conforming clothing, that is just painfully slow to run, for me still.

    Hopefully this will have been able to be improved in the next build???

    At present, provided I don't add more than a couple of Genesis figures to a scene, most other operations are not too bad.

    It generates multiple progress windows too, when the "projection" is running. Which makes me think its got something wrong with it still...

    It seems it takes almost as long to complete the projection stage, each time that has to run, for some things, as it does to run Wardrobe Wizard on an item of conforming clothing!

    Post edited by monkeycloud on
  • wimvdb_dc63ee9ce6wimvdb_dc63ee9ce6 Posts: 183
    edited December 1969

    Each time you add or change something (like a morph), the DSON thing goes through ALL the DSON items. It is not only for that figure, but for all genesis figures.
    So every time you add an additional item it takes progressively longer.
    This looks like a simple bug in the addon and they should be able to correct this

  • sandmanmaxsandmanmax Posts: 827
    edited December 1969

    I"m having a problem with poke-thru on the breasts with the Genesis Bikini Top and a standard V5 morph. If I zero out V5 and set the default Female to1.0, the top fits fine. There are no breast morphs and as far as I can tell, any breast setting larger than the default cause poke-thru. I used the DSON Transfer Active Morphs script and it didn't fix it. I gave up and deleted the top since it was just a test render anyway. But it's annoying.

  • cntl-shiftcntl-shift Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Just downloaded DSON Importer 1.0.0.56 for Mac64. I noticed the speed increase right away. Loading characters was quicker and the transfer active morphs was very quick. It looks like just the necessary morphs are transferred (or at least that is what is displayed).

    However, I'm still experiencing general slowness when I load clothing or multiple characters. Dials are very slow and do not respond to mouse movement as quickly as I need them to. Zooming, panning, rotating within the scene creates a 3 second delay that is just too frustrating to work with. I've become accustomed to this when I have many of Gen 4 characters loaded in a scene and have developed strategies to deal with this. But for a simple scene with only two characters... I just can't use this and be productive.

  • Cliff BowmanCliff Bowman Posts: 1,677
    edited February 2013

    I've only just gotten around to trying out the new DSON method of using Genesis (rendering images of humans isn't generally my thing) but I have found that turning SubDivision off in the DSON Support menu (off the Scripts menu!) really REALLY helps speed things up while you're working - just turn it back on before rendering or when sorting out any "issues" (pokethrough etc) that arise while building your scene.


    Naturally, with SubDivision off things will look a little rougher while you're working - but the speed improvement should be quite noticeable. I hope that might help, at least a bit :)

    Cheers,

    Cliff

    SetSubdivisionOff.png
    800 x 800 - 396K
    Post edited by Cliff Bowman on
  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,317
    edited December 1969

    OK, tried a cr2 export of my late Mum facegen character in PP2012
    yes it works
    yes the aniblock importer works on her too!
    yes I can change texture poses!
    yes yes yes Mimic pro actually worked and she talks

    but clothing????????????
    saved also as cr2
    conformed
    transfered active morphs with DSON python script
    sits above her shoulders perfectly shaped and conformed?????????????
    Whaaaaaaaaaaaat?

    dson_mum.jpg
    1926 x 1067 - 346K
  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,317
    edited December 1969

    these are the settings I used

    clothes.jpg
    657 x 693 - 101K
  • FixmypcmikeFixmypcmike Posts: 19,011
    edited December 1969

    I'm guessing that since you used CR2 export rather than DSON import there is no scaling factor.

  • WandWWandW Posts: 2,293
    edited December 1969

    In the parameters of the Body of the clothing check Include Morphs when Conforming and Include Scales when Conforming, and try selecting Follow Origins and/or Match End points when conforming.

    The Transfer Active Morph Script is for DSON imported clothing; I don't know if it has any effect on CR2 exported clothing...

  • Arcane Von OblivionArcane Von Oblivion Posts: 149
    edited December 1969

    LOL funny thing is I just always convert a whole Daz Scene to a Poser Scene and it always works just fine (I havn't used poser to Pose for quite a long time now).

  • wimvdb_dc63ee9ce6wimvdb_dc63ee9ce6 Posts: 183
    edited December 1969

    LOL funny thing is I just always convert a whole Daz Scene to a Poser Scene and it always works just fine (I havn't used poser to Pose for quite a long time now).

    You must have the patience of an army of angels.....

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,317
    edited December 1969

    lol. Dimension 3D's python script solved my woes but now a new one!
    textures
    I end up manually applying them but for an odd reason the elven cape is not rendering?

    render.jpg
    920 x 475 - 410K
    setting.jpg
    1908 x 1044 - 474K
  • Arcane Von OblivionArcane Von Oblivion Posts: 149
    edited December 1969

    WimvdB said:
    LOL funny thing is I just always convert a whole Daz Scene to a Poser Scene and it always works just fine (I havn't used poser to Pose for quite a long time now).

    You must have the patience of an army of angels.....

    Well....yes...but not for the actual Import into poser. Mine stems from the curent tests I am doing with Reality 3 (yes I don't have it for Daz). thing is I dont know my pipeline yet. But I do know I want Dynamic hair and Cloth at some point and Dz doesnt yet allow it the way I want it...so....

  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    I tried V6 and to my surprise she seemed to work a little faster than V5 in poser, and she also has some different dials with dson controls - not sure what they do though.

  • marius_ifmarius_if Posts: 43
    edited December 1969

    To be perfectly honest, humans aren't really my bag (I mostly prefer toons, monsters, and animals) so I don't have a lot of clothing for Genesis - but shoes don't seem to be much of a problem.

    Now I'm going to run away before I get accused of commercialising this thread too much (A bit is OK to be informative, but I don't want to turn this into a marketing zone).

    Cheers,

    Cliff

    Second render looks better! ;)
    On a second thought, humans look great, considering your preferences for toons. :D
    Just teasing you..
  • marius_ifmarius_if Posts: 43
    edited October 2013

    lol. Dimension 3D's python script solved my woes but now a new one!
    textures
    I end up manually applying them but for an odd reason the elven cape is not rendering?

    Hi Wendy,
    Check this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgGNBlO_yZw
    I hope it may help.

    .., and NO, I haven't clicked.. :))))))))))))))
    I've got PPRO 2014 ;)

    Hugs,
    marius.

    Post edited by marius_if on
  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    there's a new script by netherworks which can poserize a genesis figure in a couple of clicks. It's at rdna and is called creator's toy box. It works fine for figures that have a V4 UV but the UV isn't kept for the male figures.
    So to do that I probably have to export from DS into poser rather than use the DSON importer first before I run the netherworks script.
    Love esther

  • Male-M3diaMale-M3dia Posts: 3,549
    edited December 1969

    esther said:
    there's a new script by netherworks which can poserize a genesis figure in a couple of clicks. It's at rdna and is called creator's toy box. It works fine for figures that have a V4 UV but the UV isn't kept for the male figures.
    So to do that I probably have to export from DS into poser rather than use the DSON importer first before I run the netherworks script.
    Love esther

    I would shoot netherworks a note to look into fixing the issue; exporting from DS is not the same as using the DSON importer, and you won't get the same result and would have to fix a few things internally in the CR2 to get it properly to work.

  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    I might just try it first. How do you export a genesis from DS again into poser and select a UV? It's been a long time since I did this.
    Can M5 use M4 maps?
    Can M6 use M4 maps?
    love esther

  • Cliff BowmanCliff Bowman Posts: 1,677
    edited July 2014

    esther said:
    there's a new script by netherworks which can poserize a genesis figure in a couple of clicks. It's at rdna and is called creator's toy box. It works fine for figures that have a V4 UV but the UV isn't kept for the male figures.
    So to do that I probably have to export from DS into poser rather than use the DSON importer first before I run the netherworks script.
    Love esther

    IIRC Netherworks can't post a link to it here as that'd be advertising - but as neither you nor I can benefit in any way other than the warm glow of being helpful, it's here:

    http://www.runtimedna.com/Creator-s-ToyBox.html

    I'm sure one of the mods will correct me fairly quickly if I've messed up :D

    Netherworks does some excellent work, so that script looks quite exciting :D

    I might just try it first. How do you export a genesis from DS again into poser and select a UV? It's been a long time since I did this.
    Can M5 use M4 maps?
    Can M6 use M4 maps?
    love esther

    IIRC you got my Genesis to Poser CR2 tutorial - a quick flip through that should refresh your memory!

    Yes - M5 can use M4 maps and the other way around too - it's a bit fiddly to set up, but FAR from impossible.

    Cheers,

    Cliff

    Post edited by Cliff Bowman on
  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    you have a great memory. I did get that. Is it still applicable in the latest poser versions. I can't remember where i put it. what is the name of the file and I'll do a search.
    Thanks,
    Love esther

  • cntl-shiftcntl-shift Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Thanks for being helpful! I can't wait to give it a try.

  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    I found your tutorial Cliff. Just looking at it now.

  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    Hi Cliff,
    I can't find the "UV set option"

    Screen_Shot_2014-07-27_at_11.35_.06_pm_.png
    1082 x 887 - 246K
  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    do't worry I just found it.

  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    okay imported into poser. I guess this figure is already poserized. Ie doesn't use DSON and would probably import into vue from poser fine I expect.

  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    I can poser skin it and change it's subdivision. Looks quite good subdivided in poser. I remember now that originally it was it's low poly look that stopped me trying to use it in poser when your tutorial first came out. things are different now and it looks quite good in poser.

  • estheresther Posts: 582
    edited December 1969

    the figure behind is just a dson imported genesis. And the figure in front was imported into poser using the method in the tutorial by Cliff.
    ie directly exported from DS.

    Screen_Shot_2014-07-28_at_12.24_.36_am_.png
    1026 x 1044 - 681K
  • Cliff BowmanCliff Bowman Posts: 1,677
    edited December 1969

    You're quick! Sorry, I only just got around to catching up with the thread :(


    Cheers,

    Cliff

Sign In or Register to comment.