W.I.P. "Sector 444"

drzapdrzap Posts: 795
edited June 2017 in Art Studio

Now that I found the right place to post,  I am starting my work on a full length movie (eventually) to be broken up into 15 minute episodes.  I am a little new to DAZ but I have a general grasp on its strengths and weaknesses.  At first I thought it would be impossible to keep most of my workflow within DAZ, but thanks to Wolf359's suggestion, I think it may be possible.  We will see.  Lately I have been window shopping for assets.  I have 5 main characters:  2 middle aged men (around 40 years old),  A woman in here thirties, and two younger women.  An elderly man and woman will be minor actors and there will be a lot of extras.  I have been looking for potential actors in the marketplace.  I have found that many figures suffer from "mannequin face".  Maybe it was the artist or the pose or maybe it was a limitation in the figure.  Are there any characters or figures in Daz studio that seem to be more expressive than others?  There are so many, I can't hope to be able to browse the whole catalog.  But I really like Mei Lin.  I definitely plan to use her.

At the same time, it is evident that I will run into render problems.  I did a search on this forum and it seems that there is no render farm or network rendering solution in DAZ.  This is why I chose an outside program for rendering.  Clarisse is lightning fast, but I want to push it along as much as possible so I am buying a faster workstation.  Dell makes an attractive model, the Dell T7910.  It will have plenty of cores (32) and I hope 64GB of ram is enough.  Clarisse is a CPU renderer so I can buy a modest GPU for viewport work.  That will arrive next week.  After that, I'm all in.  No turning backfrown.  Wolf, please don't tell me what I'm getting into here!

Post edited by Chohole on

Comments

• wolf359wolf359 Posts: 3,749
    edited June 2017

Greetings, My main advice would be
    Establish your Pipeline so that it is