Newbie questions

Eric LagelEric Lagel Posts: 65
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hi all,

I am new to DAZ3D, and there are a number of questions I haven't seen the answer to yet in the forums, so I hope that some people here can help me.

1. I have purchased Victoria 5 Pro and Michael 5 Pro in the hope that I would be able to create unique faces. I haven't explored all the possibilities yet I assume, but how do you create a unique face in DAZ3D?

2. When purchasing items in the shop, there are always many more individual items than expected. For instance, I already have 365 items in my download list just by purchasing 3 or 4 bundles. As I work on PC, I assume that I don't need to download anything that ends with Mac. But for example, if I consider the item Pure Hair, there are:

- Poser Companion
- Legacy
- DSON Core

Which one do I need? Or do I need all of them, and why are there 3 different ones?

3. Does any of you work in video games? I am looking to create the characters for my game in DAZ3D, and then export them in Unity with their animations. I also would like to use iClone 5 for its motion capture features. Anyone else trying to use this pipeline too?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,219
    edited January 2013

1. The Victoria and Michael sets do not include multiple shaping morphs of the kind you need to make many different characters - the basic shaping morphs for Genesis and the Evolution Head and Body morph sets, which can be used on a base Genesis or on the Michael or Victoria shapes.

2. For DAZ Studio 4.5 you don't need the Poser companion files, or the Legacy files. However, for some older items you may need the Poser and DAZ Studio installers (if, for example, DS users need to load the Poser figures or props and then apply DS-specific materials included in the DS installer). Personally I always download all of the Windows installers, so I can archive them against future need.