Need to delete and do a complete fresh install of DAZ Studio 4.9 and all content (whoops)
billyben_0077a25354
Posts: 771
Well, in my rush for fame and glory, I fogot one small detail. DO NOT DOWNLOAD A BUNCH OF FREEBIES WILLIE NILLIE AND INSTALL THEM INCORRECTLY! Well now that I have had my DOH moment, I need to do a clean install of DS 4.9 with just the original content and then install some of the content I have purchased recently (V7 and a few G2 & G3 items). Right now I want to stick with just G2 & G3. I have a bunch of 4th Gen content from 2008 &2009 (V4, M4, & A4 pro bundles plus a lot of addtional content) but don't want to install it now. I am finding that I need to do the tutorials as it has been 5 years since I messed with Daz Studio and muddling through, I am changing settings without realizing it and then don't know how to fix it among other things so I want a simple installation while doing the tutorials. Any suggestions or pitfalls I may run into? Should I just select everything in install manager to uninstall then go and delete the DS 4.9 folders or will the uninstaller take care of that? DS was a very different animal when I was running 2.3. OS is Win 10 Pro 64. Also another question when I reinstall. As I decide to install some of my older items (the Firearms Pack for example), or buy new content with both DS & PS content, should I install both the DS and Poser content or just the DS content?
Thanks in Advance
Bill

Comments
The last one...most of the content has been updated enough that if you let DIM install it, it will pick the right items to install. In general though, you'll only need to install the Studio content..unless it is very small file and the Poser file is much larger. In a case like that, the Studio file is the presets for Studio and the Poser file is the bulk of the content. If in doubt about a particular item, ask here in the forums.
I believe I damaged my copy of DS 4.9 by going wild downloading free content from various sites and installing it improperly in some cases. Decided to do a clean isntall to be safe and used install manager to delete the installation. However, it did nto delete the DAZ33D folders in hte x86 prigram files folder, the DAZ3D folder in my user docuements as well as the My Daz Contern and the DAZ3D Insrtall manager folders in public user docuements. Should I run the "Remove-DAZ3DIM1_Win32.exe" file and remove install manager and delete everything else to do a clean install or not? Do I need to back up any serial numbers first? Trying to clean up the mess I made and just need to know how far I need to go.
Thanks in Advance
Bill
At this point...just reinstall the program.
The way Studio is set up, you can remove all the content separately from the program or remove the program and not touch the content.
Most content problems can be resolved without needing to resort to a 'nuke it all and start over' approach.
What are the exact problems you are having?
I want to get rid of all the manually downloaded free content from other sites and want to start over with a completely clean installation of DS 4.9 and slowly add selected free content from there. I figure it will be easier to do the tutorials wiht a clean installation. If I reload now, I will still have the content isues I have now.
Thanks,
Bill
In most of these cases, the file name for the downloaded installer should contain "CF" (for "Companion File") — and it can go either way, Poser CF installers are also materials-only, and include files that let you import the D|S content into Poser. Take the time to look at everything and read everything before hitting the "download" button, and everything will make sense.
What are your content issues...because without clearing those up FIRST, no matter WHEN you reload, you will still have them. Uninstalling Studio does not undo certain settings. You need to make sure that the paths are properly set up for where the content gets installed, for example. Then you can go and remove all the content and re do it. Or put it this way...the program itself is the LAST thing to uninstall...content goes first. Clearing up major content issues does not require a reinstall of the program.
Basically, in order to clean it out completely, you uninstall the program, then go through a process of scrubbing the registry...and several folders that additional non-content data is stored in. Like most other complex software...it's usually easier to reinstall the OS to start completely fresh, than hunt down and pick out the bits and pieces left behind...remember, an uninstaller will only uninstall what the installer installed. Any configuration, additional data generated during/after install and of course any user data will not be uninstalled.
Merged threads.