Weird Carrara rendering bug

Jay VersluisJay Versluis Posts: 245
edited August 2016 in Carrara Discussion

Dear friends,

I've come across a weird rendering bug that I've never encountered before. In fact, I've not come across many bugs with Carrara in all the years I've been using it (since 2006 if memory serves me right). So here's what happens:

I'm rendering a scene at 1920x1080 pixels, and Carrara chugs away at it for 24 hours. On the last few tiles, it says it's 99.5% done, and it feels like there's about 30 minutes to go. Sometime later, Carrara says it's 100% done - but the render tiles tell a different story as they still look like they're rendering. However, it does let me save the picture (with File - Save As), including the render tiles. Here's the result:

When I try to go back to the Assemble Room, the familiar dialogie pops up: "Are you sure you want to cancel rendering?". Now I have two choices: say NO, which usually brings us straight back to the rendering scene, where Carrara would keep rendering until it's done. However, when I do that, the Render Room is completely empty and my picture is gone.

Trying to go back to the Assemble Room now brings up the "cancel rendering" dialogue again, and if I say YES, Carrara seemingly crashes and lurks in limbo. Both the icons for Assemble and Render Room are highlit, I'm presented with an emoty room, but I can't click any other options. I can (and have to) force-quit the application, but the task manager does not report a non-responding application.

I'm not sure what's causing this issue, and I've never had this problem before. Perhaps there's something odd going on with my scene or my render settings. I'm on a Mac, OS X 10.11.6, using Carrara 8.5.1 (Build 19).

I haven't yet tried to render the image via render queue, but I'll try that next - I'll report back how successful this is.

Has anyone come across this problem? Is there anything I can do to file this as a bug report?

Post edited by Chohole on