How do I interpretate the exported vertex texture values?

King CoffeeKing Coffee Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Hi all,

I exported a 8 vertex cube with a shader texture to a wavefront Obj format.

The OBJ file contained a vt list of 42 uv pair coordinates.

I'm a newbie to opengl and learning texture mapping.

I'm having problems defining the texture array in openlg.

currently, WIKI, opengl expects uv textures to be mapped to a image type array.

So, what is the uv pair in the vt export section parametizing?
Is the uv normalized range over the x, y, z span of the 3 faces vertexes?
The opengl image map is expecting a height, width and a parameter lile color to be specify in the image map.
How do the vt pairs specify the above?

King

Comments

• 3DAGE3DAGE Posts: 3,311
    edited December 1969

HI King Coffee

Welcome :)

I think you're over thinking this.

It sounds like you're opening the OBJ in a text editor,. no need.

First,.. You make a model,. such as a cube,. then you would apply a "preset" UV mapping type to that model, EG: (Box mapping) and select an appropriate "layout" option,...
    Or,.
    You can define a "custom" UV Mapping type, EG:( define seams and pins manually,. and use Unwrapping)
    Once you've applied a "UV Mapping type",. then your 3D program will know "How to" project the 2D texture maps,.. onto the 3D model.

When you make a 3D model,. and you want to apply a texture to that object, then there are two basic ways..

You can create a "Procedural shader",. which uses colours, and math's to apply a texture to the object,. (this doesn't require any UV mapping)

You can also use 2D images (Texture maps) and apply those to the 3D model,. In this case you DO need to specify how the texture map should be applied to the 3D object.,, and that's done using UV mapping.

The vertex editor has a UV mapping area,. where you can specify and change the mapping type.