Bryce Lightning 7 - "failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect."

RoberthsmithRoberthsmith Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

Hello all,

I'm new to DAZ3D (moving up from trusty Bryce 4), and I'm having some trouble getting Bryce Lightning to start on a machine I bought as a render box (dual xeon dual core, windows XP 32bit). I get the message "The application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix the problem."

Tried reinstalling, but no change.

Bryce Lightning 7 installs and runs fine on my main box (Athlon X3, Vista Ultimate 64bit).

Has anybody experienced this? Or has any suggestions of things I can try?

Many thanks,

Rob.

Comments

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited December 1969

I am going to move this post over to the Bryce forum, as there are peopl there who have used Bryce lightning, and hopefully can help you,

• HoroHoro Posts: 10,056
    edited December 1969

Sounds like a firewall problem. Bryce uses ephemerical ports. TCP ports 3416 and 3417 as well as UDP ports 28257 and 28258 must be open in the firewall. For each additional running Lightning client, the following TCP and UDP port must be open. You may also have to run Lightning as administrator. Ephemeral ports are often blocked by the firewall because they hint of a security issue.

• RoberthsmithRoberthsmith Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Horo, thanks for your reply. However, firewall was fine. Turned out to be a well known Windows Side by Side issue (although the error message doesn't elude to that.

Needed a VC80.CRT file - which is only installed via a Microsoft C++ 2005 redistribution installer. but first I had to remove (via add/remove software) all the current C++ redistribute installs.