DIM: really need to uninstall?

edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

I have read several times the need to uninstall everything. I am patiently doing that.
No matter how many items I uninstall, DIM still says I have 1978 ready to download.
I have tried refreshing that number, and/or restarting DIM. Also, looking at the list of
downloadable products, I see many that I know have not been uninstalled.

Thanks,
Stan

Comments

• hermana5hermana5 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Hi Stan, as a newbie myself the way i believe it works is that DIM holds files that are ready to install now because these have all been updated from your account (though i believe not all our purchases are ready yet???)....this number only increases when Daz has done the updates of other files..............so when you are uninstalling the figure won´t change (at least mine didn´t) hopefully one of the experienced ones will respond soon.

• RenpatsuRenpatsu Posts: 828
    edited December 1969

If you are uninstalling using the original uninstallers, then the DIM won't be able to recognise what is happening. What the DIM is able to process and track is the content it downloaded and installed by itself. This may make things quite tedious in the transition phase, depending on how large your already installed content is and how you'd like to use the DIM.

Personally I am going for a different route, but it is a bit more complicated with using a "dummy" installation folder for DIM and eventually merging the dummy and my original content folder selectively. I am doing that as I modified some DAZ content which I don't want to have overwritten by DIM.

• frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,385
    edited December 1969

If you do that then DIM won't be able to notify you of updates.

edited December 1969

Frank0314 said:
    If you do that then DIM won't be able to notify you of updates.

Not sure if that was a response to my procedure, so bear with me if that was aimed at someone else.