Forwards/Backwards Compatability of Genesis, M4/V4, and M5/V5 Clothing?

GhoulsbyGhoulsby Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hi everyone. I just started playing around with Daz 3D and love it!

I already purchased the V5 starter bundle. I wanted to purchase some other clothing and stuff, but I'm confused what works with what.

For instance, the clothing from my Genesis bundle seems to work with V5, does that mean any clothing in the store labeled for Genesis will also work?

Secondly, will clothing and such for V4 work with V5? If it doesn't will it automatically grant me the V4 model so I can use the clothes I purchased, or will I have to purchase V4 separately?

Thanks for the help! I'm sure if you've been here since 2009 this doesn't seem that confusing, but for a first time user it is!

Comments

• SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited December 1969

Think of Genesis as a base figure....anything made for Genesis should work for Morphs like V5 and M5 etc.

V4 clothes will after a fashion fit Genesis via the AutoFit Tool. But my opinion if you are new to all this then stick with genesis made items. I and others have trouble with Capes, Shoes, long one peice dresses etc when using Autofit. Take this image http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/2765/P120/#153850 Genesis with M4 clothing.

And you wouldl have to Purchase V4

• 3DAGE3DAGE Posts: 3,311
    edited November 2012

HI :)

does that mean any clothing in the store labeled for Genesis will also work?

Yes,. V5 and M5 are both figure shapes for the base Genesis figure,. so, clothing "for genesis" will fit all character variations of the base genesis figure whether that's V5 or the Troll.

Will clothing and such for V4 work with V5?

Yes,. Daz Studio, and Carrara use an auto-fit feature, which can allow clothing built for older figures to work and "Fit to" the different shapes of genesis.