Octane Render Effects

namtar3dnamtar3d Posts: 238
edited November 2016 in Carrara Discussion

I recently bought Octane for Carrara and although at first I had my doubts about the price, after a couple of hours using it, I was amazed.

However I am a beginner, I am still learning to use the plugin.

I would like to know how the following effects can be achieved in Carrara by default:

Lightcone 
Distance Fog
Aura for glowing efects. 
Godrays. 

I will apreciate any help. 

Post edited by namtar3d on

Comments

• Namtar,

I'm preparing a detailed answer for you now. Just give me 15 minutes.

• Namtar,

Welcome to Octane and unbiased GPU rendering. You will never look back.

A few things I suggest for any and all new Octane for Carrara users.

1. Spend some time (several hours or even days) in the Standalone version of Octane. To master the concept of Octane one needs to know how the stand alone works and then they are better able to appreciate how these tools have been presented in the Carrara plug-in.

2. Have fun with testing, don't set out early on with too many finished artwork goals in mind. Octane is just too powerful, so much fun can be had simply exploring without the pressure to publish.

3. Models that are not properly modeled will not render properly in Octane, due to the physical simulation. So a pane of glass must have some degree of depth if it is to render properly.

4. You are going to have to pay a lot of attention to all light sources. It is best to always model your light sources in physically accurate ways, avoid using point lights. Anything can be a light source, so long as you enable it as an Emitter. The lights provided by Carrara have Octane related options in the Effects tabs. But I find that I'm usually better off taking a sphere and morphing it into a light bulb shape and adding a blackbody Emitter and going on from there.