IRAY iMac,

rumpotrumpot Posts: 70
edited May 2015 in Daz Studio Discussion

Testing with SickleYield Iray Starter Scene: from here

Error:
Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Initializing local rendering.
WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): device kernel image is invalid (Failed to get function attributes)
WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while allocating host mapped memory buffer)
WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): device cannot be used as it does not support mapped memory (canMapHostMemory)
WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray WARNING - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend warn : All available GPUs failed.
Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Falling back to CPU rendering.
WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): Device initialization failed, will not be used
Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Rendering with 0 device(s):
Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Rendering...
WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend error: No worker to render with: aborting render


I have a 780M:
VRAM (Total): 4096 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Revision ID: 0x00a2
ROM Revision: 3755


OS X 10.9.5 (13F1077)

I have verified with

this

DeviceQuery:
/deviceQuery ; exit;
/Developer/NVIDIA/CUDA-7.0/samples/bin/x86_64/darwin/release/deviceQuery Starting...

CUDA Device Query (Runtime API) version (CUDART static linking)

Detected 1 CUDA Capable device(s)

Device 0: "GeForce GTX 780M"
CUDA Driver Version / Runtime Version 7.0 / 7.0
CUDA Capability Major/Minor version number: 3.0
Total amount of global memory: 4096 MBytes (4294508544 bytes)
( 8) Multiprocessors, (192) CUDA Cores/MP: 1536 CUDA Cores
GPU Max Clock rate: 784 MHz (0.78 GHz)
Memory Clock rate: 2500 Mhz
Memory Bus Width: 256-bit
L2 Cache Size: 524288 bytes
Maximum Texture Dimension Size (x,y,z) 1D=(65536), 2D=(65536, 65536), 3D=(4096, 4096, 4096)
Maximum Layered 1D Texture Size, (num) layers 1D=(16384), 2048 layers
Maximum Layered 2D Texture Size, (num) layers 2D=(16384, 16384), 2048 layers
Total amount of constant memory: 65536 bytes
Total amount of shared memory per block: 49152 bytes
Total number of registers available per block: 65536
Warp size: 32
Maximum number of threads per multiprocessor: 2048
Maximum number of threads per block: 1024
Max dimension size of a thread block (x,y,z): (1024, 1024, 64)
Max dimension size of a grid size (x,y,z): (2147483647, 65535, 65535)
Maximum memory pitch: 2147483647 bytes
Texture alignment: 512 bytes
Concurrent copy and kernel execution: Yes with 2 copy engine(s)
Run time limit on kernels: Yes
Integrated GPU sharing Host Memory: No
Support host page-locked memory mapping: Yes
Alignment requirement for Surfaces: Yes
Device has ECC support: Disabled
Device supports Unified Addressing (UVA): Yes
Device PCI Domain ID / Bus ID / location ID: 0 / 1 / 0
Compute Mode:
< Default (multiple host threads can use ::cudaSetDevice() with device simultaneously) >

deviceQuery, CUDA Driver = CUDART, CUDA Driver Version = 7.0, CUDA Runtime Version = 7.0, NumDevs = 1, Device0 = GeForce GTX 780M
Result = PASS
logout

[Process completed]

bandwidthTest:
[CUDA Bandwidth Test] - Starting...
Running on...

Device 0: GeForce GTX 780M
Quick Mode

Host to Device Bandwidth, 1 Device(s)
PINNED Memory Transfers
Transfer Size (Bytes) Bandwidth(MB/s)
33554432 3175.9

Device to Host Bandwidth, 1 Device(s)
PINNED Memory Transfers
Transfer Size (Bytes) Bandwidth(MB/s)
33554432 6125.9

Device to Device Bandwidth, 1 Device(s)
PINNED Memory Transfers
Transfer Size (Bytes) Bandwidth(MB/s)
33554432 33569.2

Result = PASS

NOTE: The CUDA Samples are not meant for performance measurements. Results may vary when GPU Boost is enabled.
logout

[Process completed]

Daz 4_8_0_51
I have selected GPU only, but it only uses CPU

Screen_Shot_2015-05-08_at_9.54_.42_PM_.png
1310 x 311 - 202K
Screen_Shot_2015-05-08_at_9.49_.28_PM_.png
917 x 406 - 40K
Post edited by rumpot on

Comments

  • Design Anvil - Razor42Design Anvil - Razor42 Posts: 1,124
    edited December 1969
  • rumpotrumpot Posts: 70
    edited December 1969

    Thanks, I saw that before I posted, seems to be a different issue, as everything is installed and tested in my case. Does anyone know why DAZ cannot initialize my card?
    (GeForce GTX 780M): device kernel image is invalid (Failed to get function attributes)

  • rumpotrumpot Posts: 70
    edited December 1969

    FYI:
    I updated to OS X 10.10.3 (14D136)
    and it is still CPU only with above test scene. Any suggestions?

  • nemesis10nemesis10 Posts: 1,427
    edited December 1969

    I have a somewhat similar setup as yours (iMac with the same graphics card) and am not seeing this problem. In general, I am finding i can render faster in iRay than I can in the standard renderer. Is it possible that you have a defective card? This is a recent render I did.

    flame.jpg
    1638 x 1109 - 356K
  • BeeMKayBeeMKay Posts: 6,654
    edited May 2015

    rumpot said:
    FYI:
    I updated to OS X 10.10.3 (14D136)
    and it is still CPU only with above test scene. Any suggestions?

    Have you updated the graphic card'd driver to the neweset version?
    I got a similar error with a 660er card, and it turned out that my graphic card's driver was out of date. After updating, it ran smoothly.

    EDIT: Just realized you already did that...

    In the NVidea driver settings, have you enabled CUDA for DS in 3D settings?
    It sometimes doesn't work with the default settings, so you might need to change it to "Use all GPU".

    Post edited by BeeMKay on
  • rumpotrumpot Posts: 70
    edited May 2015

    Thanks of the help. Where is this?
    "In the NVidea driver settings, have you enabled CUDA for DS in 3D settings?
    It sometimes doesn’t work with the default settings, so you might need to change it to “Use all GPU”.

    I have toggled this:
    But I still get a lot of this
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Using batch scheduling, architectural sampler disabled, caustic sampler disabled
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Initializing local rendering.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Rendering with 1 device(s):
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M)
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Rendering...
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): Scene processed in 14.905s
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): Allocated 5 MB for frame buffer
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.3 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while launching CUDA renderer)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.3 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): Failed to launch renderer
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): Device failed while rendering
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while initializing memory buffer)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: All workers failed: aborting render
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while de-allocating memory)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while de-allocating memory)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while de-allocating memory)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while de-allocating memory)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while de-allocating memory)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while de-allocating memory)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while de-allocating memory)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while de-allocating memory)
    WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.2 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce .

    All works fine with the examples I compiled with the SDK

    Screen_Shot_2015-05-11_at_6.08_.27_PM_.png
    350 x 541 - 38K
    Post edited by rumpot on
  • mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001
    edited May 2015

    A quick search comes up with one or two possibilities...driver problems or bad card.

    And since this is a laptop (yeah, it's a Mac laptop, but still a mobile chipset)...what's your warranty/service contract like?

    Post edited by mjc1016 on
  • rumpotrumpot Posts: 70
    edited December 1969

    Thanks, but I do not think it can be either card or drivers as I have verified the drivers/card by compiling and running deviceQuery and bandwidth monitor.

    Is there something else I need to set in DAZ?

  • SadKitty_CarraraSadKitty_Carrara Posts: 21,462
    edited December 1969

    What shows in help about your graphics card in DAZ?
    I am on Windows but also in your graphics settings you can set how different programs use the card, I presume Mac it is the same.
    DAZ is obviously seeing your card as it is named.
    The test as to the state of the card is to see if other programs work with it, try a free game off steam maybe or a nVidia demo scene like Dawn.

  • StratDragonStratDragon Posts: 2,831
    edited May 2015

    the latest cuda drivers for mac (v7.0.36 Apr 09 2015) are here, you appear to be running v7.0 - while that should be fine there may be a corruption in the drivers it would not hurt to reinstall them.
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-cuda-7.0.36-driver.html
    these are the only drivers you should be using in 10.10


    the latest operating drivers for your card have not changed since 10.10.1, so the 10.10.3 update does not change them, and they can not be downloaded from Nvidia's site as mac does all the testing in house.
    however there was a report that a securities patch in 10.10.2 broke the nvida driver for cards not manufactured by nvida (e.g. using nvidia chipsets on say an ASUS card) on your rig that's not the case.


    see this article about running the mac diagnostics
    https://support.apple.com/kb/PH18765?locale=en_US
    if this process tells you it's the card at fault you will need to contact apple to see if your computer is under warranty.


    if the problem continues there may be a corruption in your account, the simple way to test is
    create a new administrative account
    log into that account
    repair permissions on the drive
    launch studio and render.
    your content may be dependent on if you changed the default install location from the shared folder within your users.

    if the problem continues from this point I would read this brief and proceed as you feel comfortable.
    http://www.etresoft.com/etrecheck

    Post edited by StratDragon on
  • rumpotrumpot Posts: 70
    edited December 1969

    It seems those demos are windows only.

    I have tried a different user, same results.

    I have followed this and it says all is good.
    http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-getting-started-guide-for-mac-os-x/#axzz3ZyqP7BcA

    Anything else to try?

  • nickalamannickalaman Posts: 186
    edited December 1969

    Have you tried the Octane benchmark?

    If that works at least you'll know your cuda setup and card are working to some degree.

    https://render.otoy.com/octanebench/

  • rumpotrumpot Posts: 70
    edited December 1969

    Thanks, all's good with that
    Octane version:
    2.17
    Operating system:
    Mac OS X 10.10.3 64-bit
    Devices:
    GeForce GTX 780M


    Scene, Kernel, Ms/s, GTX980 Ms/s, Ratio, Weight, Score
    Idea (by Julio Cayetaño), info channels, 32.584369, 81.25, 0.401, 10, 1.336795
    Idea (by Julio Cayetaño), direct lighting, 6.960487, 18.64, 0.373, 35, 4.356528
    Idea (by Julio Cayetaño), path tracing, 6.141920, 15.99, 0.384, 35, 4.481284
    Idea (by Julio Cayetaño), PMC, 0.939559, 2.88, 0.326, 20, 2.174906
    ATV (by Jürgen Aleksejev), info channels, 12.664907, 32.48, 0.390, 10, 1.299765
    ATV (by Jürgen Aleksejev), direct lighting, 4.399173, 12.40, 0.355, 35, 4.139007
    ATV (by Jürgen Aleksejev), path tracing, 3.624839, 10.02, 0.362, 35, 4.220538
    ATV (by Jürgen Aleksejev), PMC, 1.267515, 3.77, 0.336, 20, 2.241405
    Box (by Enrico Cerica), info channels, 23.513366, 59.18, 0.397, 10, 1.324398
    Box (by Enrico Cerica), direct lighting, 4.405677, 11.76, 0.375, 35, 4.370711
    Box (by Enrico Cerica), path tracing, 4.435844, 11.74, 0.378, 35, 4.408135
    Box (by Enrico Cerica), PMC, 1.241557, 3.83, 0.324, 20, 2.161109


    Total score
    36.514581

    Tried again in DAZ and still get WARNING: /src/pluginsource/DzIrayRender/dzneuraymgr.cpp(261): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.3 IRAY rend error: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 780M): unspecified launch failure (while launching CUDA renderer)

  • recharredrecharred Posts: 16

    Did you ever resolve this? If not, did you try the nvidia web drivers?

    http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/103826/en-us

    I'm curious whether iray acceleration works with the native mac drivers at all. Can anyone confirm? If so, can someone test the case described here:

    http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/97496/mac-gpu-acceleration-crashes-and-workaround#latest

    Thanks!

     

Sign In or Register to comment.