The Browse to File Location problem in Daz Studio 3

fred mertzfred mertz Posts: 25
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

I have had this problem before and managed to fix it, but I can't remember how.

My computer immediately crashes when I click on "Browse to file location."

I am running Daz Studio 3 not 4. The 64 bit version.

Does anyone remember how to fix this?

Comments

  • fred mertzfred mertz Posts: 25
    edited December 1969

    Now my darn Daz Studio 4 is doing the same thing. Surely someone knows what is happening here.

  • JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited December 1969

    What Operating System are you using, and where is your content stored?

  • StratDragonStratDragon Posts: 2,778
    edited December 1969

    two things off the top of my head

    If your on Windows
    Right click My Computer
    go to Properties
    go to Device Manager
    Scroll down to Other Devices
    See if your SMBus drivers are working or if they have a "?" or "!" somewhere in the icon
    If you see a problem you need to install the drivers for that device on the mfg's website or possibly a disk that came with your computer.


    if your on Mac
    Make sure your account has Administrative privileges.
    Quit all open apps.
    go to {your hard drive name]:Applications:Utilities:Disk Utility
    Repair permissions
    reboot.

  • fred mertzfred mertz Posts: 25
    edited August 2012

    Thanks for taking time to get involved. I am using Windows 7, obviously on a PC. I have the 64 bit version of both Daz Studio 3 and 4. I still use Daz Studio 3 Advanced as I cannot make heads or tails of Daz Studio 4, but I notice Studio 4 is now doing the same thing. As soon as I click on "Browse to file location" on the right context menu, Daz Studio instantly dies and dumps, returning me to my homepage.

    My content is stored on my C: drive, in C:/users/myname/documents/daz3d/studio3/content for Daz3 and studio/library for Daz 4.

    Post edited by fred mertz on
  • ReDaveReDave Posts: 815
    edited December 1969

    Well, I would imagine it's calling explorer.exe so try to check its file size on another Win 7 computer to see if it's corrupted. The file is in the Windows folder. However the problem may be in some support file like a dll or elsewhere, or be a DS bug.

Sign In or Register to comment.