Bryce terrains in Carrara

RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,247
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Hi all :)

In another thread, I undertook to share my experiences of using Bryce terrains in Carrara. Must emphasis that I am no expert in either and these are only my experiences - hopefully others can share their knowledge and we can all be the richer for them.

Why use Bryce terrains in Carrara? For one thing, simple curiosity - Carrara is capable of producing terrains as good as any, but this is a much neglected subject - I have only seen one comprehensive tut on terrains - very good, but really dated. Bryce is known for terrains, so how to use that advantage coupled with the much faster render times of Carrara.

There are two methods - either design in Bryce and export as .obj, or use the height map to get it into Carrara.
What I really like about Bryce's terrains is that I can design a custom terrain to be pretty exactly as I need it to be with its really great height-map function. Carrara doesn't give much scope for this and the height-map editing is pretty basic.

The first pic is of a terrain made and rendered in Bryce. I then exported the .obj, using the settings in the second pic. Note the high settings used for the terrain 256K polys - this I find necessary to get any reasonable definition. I use .tif to try to get the same texture into Carrara.

The third pic is what this looks like in Carrara - there isn't a great deal of definition and the texture is pretty bad, even with a lot of adjustment.

car1.jpg
800 x 600 - 1M
export1.jpg
788 x 597 - 74K
bryrend.jpg
810 x 607 - 58K

Comments

• RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,247
    edited December 1969

The next pic uses a Carrara preset texture. Much better, but still lacking in definition.

Then I tried the height-map - see next pic, exported as .tif, as I find I don't get the stepping when using other formats.

If I bring this directly into Carrara, I get a flat plane, so I tone down the brightness to 50%.