3delight setup/usage?

stem_athomestem_athome Posts: 514
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

Hi,

I have been having a few issues and hoping someone may help or point me in the right direction?

I am new to attempting to set up a full scene in DS, and certainly I have not started with the simplest. I am attempting to render the inside of a vault (no windows/openings), so have been trying to setup indirect light.

I wanted to use my own mesh as light source. Looking through the online help, I found I should use an "area light" brick as surface on my mesh , so added that and made test render. There where no shadows. So checked the surface setting and changed the "Shadow" color to black. On making render, there was no light. It appears that changing the shadow color changes the light intensity. So black shadow color, no light. I did find a "Shadow" brick, and attaching that to the shadow input of the "Area light" brick, which did then enable shadows.

But that confuses me, as should the "Area light" shadow setting not change the shadow color(not the light intensity) without the need for a further input?

I then wanted indirect light. The info I found in the online help led me to believe I should add an "Indirect light[camera]". After adding the camera, the render was washed out due to the default camera headlamp. I could find no information concerning how to remove/disable that light. I did find that I had 2 choices, I could add a default light, and hide it/turn it off, or add one of the area lights from content, remove that light and use the "Headlamp blocker" that loaded with it.
So I then made test render, but found that even thought the light on the camera was now set as blocked by the "Headlight blocker", the light from the headlight was reflecting in a wall opposite the camera. I did at first think it was a reflection from an object in scene, but after many various checks, it was certainly the light from the camera headlight being reflected.