In the dark about scene composition

murph101murph101 Posts: 68
edited December 1969 in The Commons

Does anyone have recommendations for tutorials, blogs, books, youtube vids, etc. on design concepts?

Here's my situation. I've been tinkering with Carrara for several years now, have done many pics illustrating a novel I'm working on. I thought I was doing pretty good at assembling various models into a several scenes.

One day recently, my son, who is 24, takes a look at some stuff I've been working on and starts commenting about flow and direction of the scene. He sounds pretty authoritative and claims that his Visual Communications class in high school is where he gets all this info. He also works in video game development, but from a producer's standpoint, as opposed to being an artist.

This piques my curiosity and makes me realize that I'm missing a whole lot of knowledge on scene composition, etc. But, I don't know where to start looking. Typing in keywords into google and I get overload on things that are not specifically related. I'm afraid to search in Amazon for fear of being similarly overwhelmed.

I'd really like to have some insight into what I should be trying to do when composing a scene. I know how to plunk things into a scene, change camera angles, throw some lights, etc., and have done some posters and book covers. But how do I learn how to make a good scene great?

I figure this community would likely have encountered such learning resources and, given we're working in the same medium, what does anyone here recommend.

Comments

• SlimerJSpudSlimerJSpud Posts: 1,453
    edited December 1969