Feeling a little guilty using prebuilt poses

vaaernvaaern Posts: 64

So, I'm not really "new" to Daz. But I still feel like an absolute beginner. I've only used it for a year. I always try to make somewhat realistic scenes, and while I like to feel my work is improving somewhat, I mostly use prebuilt poses, which I then adjust. But I feel a little guilty for doing so. Maybe this sounds stupid? I do try to make my own poses (and that does sometimes work out), but it's very hard. Any tips for feeling less guilty, and maybe a good way of learning to pose? I try using reference material, but it proves too hard sometimes.

Cheers,

A pretty insecure 3D artist

Comments

• KitsumoKitsumo Posts: 1,210
    edited April 2019

As long as you're not selling the poses or giving them away, you don't need to feel guilty. Aside from that it's up to you how much of your own work you want to put into your art. Some painters crush minerals & charcoal, etc to mix their own paints. Others just buy paint at the store. I don't think it makes them any more/less of an artist. My 2¢.

Post edited by Kitsumo on
  • RandomRandom Posts: 173

Actually, it's a real timesaver to find an aproximate pose in your pose library and then adjust it. Why not?? Best to get a pose library with various individual sections for arms, legs, uppers and lowers, etc.

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,566

Why would you feel guilty?  When you click everything and do nothing yourself in the scene, then you can feel guilty, LOL

Nothing wrong with using premade poses, that is why they are there. The fact you then tweak them further is a good sign and eventually you'll be making your own poses because of it.

• McGyverMcGyver Posts: 7,005