how do I add a custom brush to Carrara nonphoto renderer? and a brief personal note

DiomedeDiomede Posts: 14,997
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

How do I create and add a custom brush to the brushes in the non-photorealistic tab in the render room? They seem to have a .cbr ending, but when I search for tutorials only comic book stuff pops up. I don't see that file type as a choice for "save as" and I don't see a tab in the browser tray for brushes. And as a test I created a file folder in the preset brushes where I thought custom brushes should go, but nothing appeared when I opened C8.1.

I could have put this in the challenge thread but it seems like a more general question.

Aside - I lose web access for two days and it seems like everything is going to h$!% Please, Dart, Andy, etc. don't leave us. I am a beginner, or at least infrequent user / hobbyist, with no background in computer graphics or art. Your encouragement, patience and willingness to help has been tremendous.

Comments

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,040
    edited December 1969

I don't have any direct knowledge because I haven't used the NPR much. I do have a couple ideas but I want to test them first, so I don't lead you astray. I'm in the middle of a render at the moment, so it may be tomorrow before I can experiment.

BTW, the WIP thread for the challenge is a great spot to ask this question, since it sounds as if this is contest related. Even if it wasn't, there has been a discussion about the NPR, so it's still a valid question as the answer can benefit everybody!

happy rendering!

P.S. Don't worry too much about the drama. Hopefully it will subside now. Dart i sticking around. 3dage has been MIA for awhile now, and has nothing to do with the current broohaha as far as I'm aware. My hope is that he's just on vacation and will be back soon. I wish him all the best.

• AntaraAntara Posts: 444
    edited August 2013