Texturing and uv mapping question

edited December 1969 in New Users

Hi, first off I am new to 3d modelling and this is my first complete project.

The custom chopper was modeled using blender, but I do wish to take this model into both daz and poser.

However I wish to ensure my work meets the high standards of the market place.

Question: am I required to uv unwrapp the entire model?

I only use eight texture images for the entire model.

The remaining elements are just colours assigned to the relevent areas of the model with no texture maps applied.

Comments most welcome on the first image which is a blender default render image.

Coffey_Cruiser.png
960 x 540 - 186K

Comments

• MedzinMedzin Posts: 337
    edited December 1969

It would be best to UV map the entire model. Although you are not using texture maps on all surfaces, someone might want to apply one in the future for bump or reflection. I do not believe that chrome does a good reflection using only texture coordinates as opposed to UV.

I do not know what kind of grouping Blender uses, but DS and Poser can use the same type of grouping for rigging. I assume you will want to rig the model so the wheels will rotate and the fork steerable. Also, I assume the model is still incomplete because I see no connection between hub and rim on wheels.

• mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001
    edited October 2012

Areas that could require bump/displacement or other kinds of maps absolutely must be UV mapped. Areas like chrome don't have to be, but since most metal materials in the DS/Poser world use reflection maps, they should be, too. In short, unless you are providing your own shaders (not presets) then yeah, map it all.

Medzin said:
    It would be best to UV map the entire model. Although you are not using texture maps on all surfaces, someone might want to apply one in the future for bump or reflection. I do not believe that chrome does a good reflection using only texture coordinates as opposed to UV.