mcjShrinkWrapA for DS 4.5+ shrink wrap figures and objects - SAFE 2019 Update

Comments

• patience55patience55 Posts: 7,006
    edited December 1969

Casual said:
    Once I figured out how to read instructions ... works GREAT!

And preliminary tests appear to indicate that this would rank as "legal shrink-wrap"*** as it appears to be doing the same as the "smoothing" did with our clothing mesh. See images posted showing that it is NOT changing the mesh to become that of the target's.

*** I'm not a lawyer, I'll check with DAZ3D for their opinion as that's what counts before redistributing.

edit to add: I have sent in request. Will post back of the answer when it arrives [be patient, it's Friday ;-) ]

edit to add some more: Have shared link in my clothing thread too.
    This is such a wonderful help. Thank you so much.

i think most wrappers must work the same way. I hope they'll clearly officially state what is allowed instead of blanket prohibitions. for example state their goal, which must be to prevent duplication/cloning and distribution of assets ... something. There must be things they tolerate, like the production of original content "fitted" using wrappers. And things they wont tolerate, the duplication of figures

Oh they stated quite plainly last time I asked - was about using the smoothing in D/S to facilitate the clothing process and yes that is allowed.
    Different programs use the word 'shrink wrap' to mean slightly different things. Some are actually changing the mesh to agree with the mesh of the target ... and that would be duplication of the mesh, not permissible for redistribution [generally speaking]. So I'm optimistic about this script ... indeed I've made a skirt with it and it's over in my clothing thread!

I noticed you have an 'A' at the beginning, curious as to what's next?!

• mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,604
    edited December 1969

eventually i'd like to add "convex hulls" which is similar to spandex