Digital Art Zone

 
   
50 of 77
50
Garibaldi Express: Hair and Fur Plugin Beta [Commercial] 
Posted: 29 December 2012 10:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 736 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Duplicated post...
Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 10:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 737 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1311
Joined  2010-03-01
futurebiscuit - 29 December 2012 10:23 AM
Dollygirl - 29 December 2012 10:02 AM
I tried looking for the poof date and could not find it's location. Where do you find the expiration date for the beta's?

If you select the "About Installed Plugins..." item in the Help menu of daz when select the Garibaldi Hair System plugin from the list it should tell you in the Information panel in the window.


Ahh thank you. I have another question. I am not getting the beta updates. Last time I just reregistered and it came right away. This time I registered and I did not get the e-mail. I am wondering if I do not qualify for beta testing anymore.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 10:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 738 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  504
Joined  2003-10-09
Jaderail - 29 December 2012 08:53 AM
mjc1016 - 29 December 2012 08:15 AM
SimonWM - 29 December 2012 07:52 AM
This is a long thread and maybe this has been answered before but I tried to render my Garibaldi hair with Luxrender Reality and it won't show up.


Not going to happen...there is no geometry created by the plugin. So there is nothing for Lux to render.

Both hair plugins are relying on a feature of 3Delight, RiCurves. The curves are used to tell 3Delight about the hair strands, it then 'creates' the needed 'geometry' on the fly, at render time. Lux doesn't understand RiCurves, so it can't render them.
In LAMH you can save out as a OBJ then use it in a LUX render, the Prob is the Size of the saved file.


That's unfortunate as Reality/ Luxrender has better output in many situations than DAZ default renderer.

Will Garibaldi hair be visible with Octane. I plan to use that renderer when it is finally released for Studio and would like to know.
 Signature 

Render with muscle! SimonWM DAZ Store.
For Previews and Insight SimonWM Official Facebook Page.
Artist Page My Gallery at Deviant Art.
For Videos My Youtube Channel.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 11:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 739 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
SimonWM - 29 December 2012 10:40 AM
Jaderail - 29 December 2012 08:53 AM
mjc1016 - 29 December 2012 08:15 AM
SimonWM - 29 December 2012 07:52 AM
This is a long thread and maybe this has been answered before but I tried to render my Garibaldi hair with Luxrender Reality and it won't show up.


Not going to happen...there is no geometry created by the plugin. So there is nothing for Lux to render.

Both hair plugins are relying on a feature of 3Delight, RiCurves. The curves are used to tell 3Delight about the hair strands, it then 'creates' the needed 'geometry' on the fly, at render time. Lux doesn't understand RiCurves, so it can't render them.
In LAMH you can save out as a OBJ then use it in a LUX render, the Prob is the Size of the saved file.


That's unfortunate as Reality/ Luxrender has better output in many situations than DAZ default renderer.

Will Garibaldi hair be visible with Octane. I plan to use that renderer when it is finally released for Studio and would like to know.


I love Lux, really, I do...but if it has 'better output' why is 3Delight one of the main renderers used by studios/fx houses and much of the motion picture industry? A hint, Renderman renderers are the most used, in the film industry. And there are basically two main production ones...3Delight and Prman (yeah, there's a few others, but they don't have anywhere near the user base, combined as either of the main two). Different...yeah. Does some things easier....yeah. Better...no, but then neither is 3Delight. And comparing them is like asking which is better...apples or oranges. (Or maybe, which is better for this job...a hammer or a screwdriver?)

And as to Octane...NOPE.

Other Renderman renderers...like Prman, Aqsis and Pixie would probably be able to use a rib (Pixie will have trouble with shader, as it's several generations behind and Aqsis will need the shader recompiled as it can't recompile on the fly, yet) with Garibaldi or LAMH hair in it...but not much else will. No to Octane, Lux, Povray, Mental Ray, Firefly and so on.

It's not so much that RiCurves are proprietary, but rather all those others can't do mathematical curves (RiCurve is just an implementation of a Bezier curve that Renderman renderers can understand/do something with), as there is no code built into them to translate the curve into 'something'...
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 11:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 740 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Dollygirl - 29 December 2012 10:39 AM
Ahh thank you. I have another question. I am not getting the beta updates. Last time I just reregistered and it came right away. This time I registered and I did not get the e-mail. I am wondering if I do not qualify for beta testing anymore.

I don't currently filter anyone from the beta signup, make sure you check your spam if it's not there then send me an email and I'll send you the details directly.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 11:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 741 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  504
Joined  2003-10-09
mjc1016, I'm aware of all you have explained. One of the reasons Lux doesn't gets used for motion pictures has to be the time it takes to render. And just because something is standard doesn't means its better, standard many times depends on who came first and who made the best connections in the industry. I do like 3Delight, there are types of renders I cannot do with Lux but for stills that will have a lot of realism I find the setup a lot easier with Lux. And my interest with Octane is being able to see instantly how something looks rendered, being able to tweak light, camera etc. with immediate feedback is fantastic. I hope these renderers eventually gain the ability 3Delight has as I have a need of the three of them in my toolset and I'm really looking forward to make Garibaldi a staple in my hair creation in the future, specially if and when it gains dynamics.
 Signature 

Render with muscle! SimonWM DAZ Store.
For Previews and Insight SimonWM Official Facebook Page.
Artist Page My Gallery at Deviant Art.
For Videos My Youtube Channel.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 12:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 742 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
SimonWM - 29 December 2012 11:38 AM
I hope these renderers eventually gain the ability 3Delight has as I have a need of the three of them in my toolset and I'm really looking forward to make Garibaldi a staple in my hair creation in the future, specially if and when it gains dynamics.

I don't want to get into discussion about renderers. But different renderers are good at certain things. Having spend years working with RenderMan REYES style renderers I have a particular affinity with them (I've even dabbled with writing my own).
Many features which have made them so successful with VFX most Daz users probably wouldn't particularly care about. If you use the 'Disk Cache' render method feature in Garibaldi you can leverage some of more advanced features of 3Delight and reduce memory usage during rendering in many cases. With careful use you could render almost as much hair as you could ever want in 2GB.
I've seen some very interesting things done with RenderMan renderers, both in production and just for the fun of it, but it times change.
'Arnold' is currently gathering traction in VFX which is not to far away from lux/octane. Combine that with the rise of 'Katana' and standards are definitely not forever.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 01:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 743 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  524
Joined  0
Taking about lions got me wonding what I could do with it.

Here's a quick pass at a lioness. I've provided furred and unfurred renders for comparison.

Now to install beta 11, put some proper work into the head, and turn this she into a he.

This should be interesting. grin
Image Attachments
Lioness.jpgLionessNGH.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 01:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 744 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3126
Joined  2007-06-22
Gone - 29 December 2012 01:31 PM
Taking about lions got me wonding what I could do with it.

Here's a quick pass at a lioness. I've provided furred and unfurred renders for comparison.

Now to install beta 11, put some proper work into the head, and turn this she into a he.

This should be interesting. grin


Oh WOW.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 11:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 745 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4878
Joined  2009-02-26
Gone - 29 December 2012 01:31 PM
Taking about lions got me wonding what I could do with it.

Here's a quick pass at a lioness. I've provided furred and unfurred renders for comparison.

Now to install beta 11, put some proper work into the head, and turn this she into a he.

This should be interesting. grin


That is so cool Gone! Great job. It's amazing the difference Garibaldi makes to a render smile
 Signature 

- SpyroRue’s Deviant Art -

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 11:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 746 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4878
Joined  2009-02-26
futurebiscuit - 29 December 2012 06:12 AM
Spyro - 24 December 2012 01:57 AM

Is the hair length in distribution supposed to affect the hair when you go into styling tab? I'm finding 'Hair length' has no effect once to progress to stying...

The 'Hair length' setting in the Distribute workspace is just for preview in that workspace.

Some things that might help you with your hair that haven't been mentioned here:
* Add a small amount of transparency to you hair by reducing the opacity in the Material applied to the node in daz. You can also use the 'S Opacity' to control the opacity of the hair shadows in deep shadow maps to make shadows less harsh. Although using opacity with hair will be slower and require more memory during rendering.
* Beta 11 fixes a issue with some interpolation issues of hair strands when using the auto parting feature.
* Reduce the the hair strand segment length in interpolation settings in Style Workspace. This will allow you obtain more detail in the tweak noise based deformers. Although reducing hair strand segment length will increase the vertices used and will be slower and require more memory during rendering.
* In Beta 11 you can reduce the style curve segment length using the 'Resample all style curves' item in the edit menu. This will let you add a lot more detail in the style curves when dealing with very short hair.


Resampling curves, is that a slow down as well? I'm been making lots of short hairstyles lately... thus far I've been rather happy with its speed. These Beta11 changes sound really good, I'll play around with your tips. Thanks man smile
 Signature 

- SpyroRue’s Deviant Art -

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 11:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 747 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  359
Joined  2003-10-09
James,

Thank you for the new beta.

I haven't had as much time as I would like to work with the plugin, but I give it quick tests when I can.

Beta 10 was great. The speed was excellent, and I was experiencing one-to-one changes with parameter dials with no lags. Unlike the earlier versions, now when I work in Garibaldi it is just like in the video. A real pleasure to work with.

I love this plugin, and the ease of use (even without some needed docs/tutorials).

I am definitely purchasing this when released. In fact, it is my Christmas present from the family, and if it takes until April 2013 for release, I have it earmarked (cash in hand) for purchase.

I haven't been experiencing any crashes, nor any real issues, so I haven't had anything to report.

One thing to note though, the individual hair widget was sort of working in beta 10. Before, I couldn't even select an arrow. It just selected empty space, and deselected the hair. It was working painfully slow, and cumbersome though, so I gave up on trying to use it. I'll try again in beta 11.

Keep up the great work. Looking forward to official release.
 Signature 

Take care all..        “It’s easy to clean up when you got money.”        *Old Post Count:  Don’t know, don’t care…  *New Site Status:  Doesn’t matter one iota.
Ken

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 05:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 748 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4878
Joined  2009-02-26
So, I wanted to add Garibaldi hair to a braid on a hair prop... But, it goes all distorted in paint, then when you go to distribute the hair only sprouts in a ball. I see GH is applied to animal figures, and dont understand why I cant apply it to a hair figure. Am I missing a step or something?
 Signature 

- SpyroRue’s Deviant Art -

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 08:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 749 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  225
Joined  2005-01-26
Learning more every time I use this plugin. Beta 10 was very stable. I am still playing with creating body fur and different hairs. Garibaldi creates some really great results.
[ Edited: 30 December 2012 08:47 AM by BrumitD ]
Image Attachments
willowbear2sa.jpgyoungones1a.jpgseasonchange1bsb.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 09:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 750 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  524
Joined  0
So, here's Leo.

For those interested, there are just under 2 million hairs and all are using the skin texture map. I used the Julie AO uberlight and the render took 1 hr 50 min - 1 hr 20 min was spent on the mane! i5 quad core, 6GB RAM.

Spyro -- that sounds like a mapping issue with the braid - but that's just a guess on my part.
Image Attachments
Lion.jpg
Profile
 
 
   
50 of 77
50