Digital Art Zone

 
   
47 of 77
47
Garibaldi Express: Hair and Fur Plugin Beta [Commercial] 
Posted: 24 December 2012 07:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 691 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4935
Joined  2009-02-26
Practice makes perfect smile I've spent alot of years digital painting and studied photo shop among other things in Digital Media. I'll probably make a bunch of them and release them on ShareCG, sometime after Xmas.

Merry Christmas man! And everyone! (Its past 12 in Australia, Now I must go to bed tongue laugh )
 Signature 

- SpyroRue’s Deviant Art -

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 04:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 692 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4935
Joined  2009-02-26
So I would like to learn how to save the GH as presets for future use with genesis. How do you go about saving GH presets? Do I save it as a Support Asset>Figure/Prop Asset? (The same as props?)

Also, how do presets go with UV's on a character that has different UV's?) The kid and guy I just made hair for is M4 UV's with M5 eyes. Other characters alternate between M4 and M5, V4 and V5

I assume a future beta version doesn't delete or corrupt our existing hairstyles we've made?

Cheers smile
 Signature 

- SpyroRue’s Deviant Art -

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 08:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 693 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26
There are probably a few ways to go about saving a reusable or distributable preset, however I have been saving the GH hair node as a scene subset and I end up with a DUF file that I can merge with any scene I am working on.... this has worked well for me. I haven't played with too many different UV setups yet so I am not sure how it goes when they are changed.

Here is a render I have been working on the last couple of days... in and around my Christmas celebrations.

A little bit of magic for the holidays... GH used on the mane and tail and the red hair.
Image Attachments
Unicorn08.jpg
 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 06:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 694 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-10
One thing I would really love to see is a rotation modifier in Styling...I want to be able to select one node or all the nodes and apply a twist modifier to simulate Braids whether in the beard or in the hair...I now can move the nodes but I cant twist them...

Also seems that the texture map for the latest releae for the hair color is broken at least on my machine I cant select a Texture map...
[ Edited: 27 December 2012 06:18 PM by foleypro ]
 Signature 

As Always B3D
..........................
My radio Station…
http://www.pandora.com/?sc=qm81447313#/
.........................
http://www.foleypromagic.com
http://www.michaelhershman.com
http://www.artwanted.com/foleypro
http://foleypro.deviantart.com/
http://home.comcast.net/~foleypro

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 06:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 695 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-10
MangeyDesigner - 27 December 2012 08:56 AM
There are probably a few ways to go about saving a reusable or distributable preset, however I have been saving the GH hair node as a scene subset and I end up with a DUF file that I can merge with any scene I am working on.... this has worked well for me. I haven't played with too many different UV setups yet so I am not sure how it goes when they are changed.

Here is a render I have been working on the last couple of days... in and around my Christmas celebrations.

A little bit of magic for the holidays... GH used on the mane and tail and the red hair.


Maybe a little more light on the scene so my old eyes could see...
 Signature 

As Always B3D
..........................
My radio Station…
http://www.pandora.com/?sc=qm81447313#/
.........................
http://www.foleypromagic.com
http://www.michaelhershman.com
http://www.artwanted.com/foleypro
http://foleypro.deviantart.com/
http://home.comcast.net/~foleypro

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 06:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 696 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26
foleypro - 27 December 2012 06:16 PM
MangeyDesigner - 27 December 2012 08:56 AM
There are probably a few ways to go about saving a reusable or distributable preset, however I have been saving the GH hair node as a scene subset and I end up with a DUF file that I can merge with any scene I am working on.... this has worked well for me. I haven't played with too many different UV setups yet so I am not sure how it goes when they are changed.

Here is a render I have been working on the last couple of days... in and around my Christmas celebrations.

A little bit of magic for the holidays... GH used on the mane and tail and the red hair.


Maybe a little more light on the scene so my old eyes could see...



Ahhh it is meant to be moonlit but I guess it is a bit dark sorry.... make sure you click to see it bigger as that is a much clearer image than the embedded version
 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 06:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 697 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26
foleypro - 27 December 2012 06:13 PM
One thing I would really love to see is a rotation modifier in Styling...I want to be able to select one node or all the nodes and apply a twist modifier to simulate Braids whether in the beard or in the hair...I now can move the nodes but I cant twist them...

Also seems that the texture map for the latest releae for the hair color is broken at least on my machine I cant select a Texture map...


I agree that a twist option for braids and even just a single knot effect would be great.

In regards to texture maps I just tested it and I can load texture maps fine in Beta 10.

I really hope GH is ready soon... I know FB said that it would only be a few more Betas and I hope we are still on track for that :D
 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 06:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 698 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-10
Tell you the truth..I would rather GH take its time like a fine wine Then rush out the door to compete with the other hair plugin...

We have the chance to do this right...

Like i stated earlier..We need to setup a Beta forum so we dont let the compitition know what we are working on..This is a give me..It needs to be done now with this thread for Pics...
[ Edited: 27 December 2012 07:02 PM by foleypro ]
 Signature 

As Always B3D
..........................
My radio Station…
http://www.pandora.com/?sc=qm81447313#/
.........................
http://www.foleypromagic.com
http://www.michaelhershman.com
http://www.artwanted.com/foleypro
http://foleypro.deviantart.com/
http://home.comcast.net/~foleypro

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 07:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 699 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26
foleypro - 27 December 2012 06:58 PM
Tell you the truth..I would rather GH take its time like a fine wine.......... *snip*

We have the chance to do this right...

Like i stated earlier..We need to setup a Beta forum... *snip*


I could see this go either way... rush to market as it is and improve over time... or setup a more formal Beta program and percolate until it is well brewed.

The only issue is that it has been such a long standing public Beta now and the cat is out of the bag regarding most of its functionality and its interface and the quality of its results... and there is some merit in continuing to have the ease of use and superior quality of results being made so public.

I am just keen to get my hands on a copy that doesn't need to be reinstalled every couple of weeks and for me it has been pretty stable and I like the current functionality.... albeit as long as there will be improvements and updates made over time.... and some as free or (very cheap) updates. :D

Anyway I hear what you are saying and hopefully a decision is made with which way to go..... If we go to a locked down Beta thread and more arduous testing with a longer development cycle I would hope that myself and others who have put the time in already and shown their efforts in this thread can continue to play with it.
 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 07:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 700 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-10
Well he could put out the plugin now and try to salvage some sales...MHO...

Or we can lock this thread and shut it down...Let the other plugin run its course...Most folks buy on the whim...
we can take this plugin so much further by doing tutorials and making improvements.


.IN A BETA FORUM...

The other plugin got our first...Ok thats fine and they are a great plugin...But we now have the chance to make this one BETTER...
 Signature 

As Always B3D
..........................
My radio Station…
http://www.pandora.com/?sc=qm81447313#/
.........................
http://www.foleypromagic.com
http://www.michaelhershman.com
http://www.artwanted.com/foleypro
http://foleypro.deviantart.com/
http://home.comcast.net/~foleypro

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 08:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 701 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4935
Joined  2009-02-26
Speaking of re-installing new versions of betas every couple of weeks, does this corrupt/make un-usable our existing saved hairstyles?

Foley - You mentioned a while back you were saving preset GH how are you doing it? - I've been just saving them in scenes like MangeyD, and not sure how to make the same hair fit another character that it wasn't painted on.
 Signature 

- SpyroRue’s Deviant Art -

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 08:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 702 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-10
futurebiscuit - 21 December 2012 03:41 PM
foleypro - 21 December 2012 02:57 PM
Ok once again...

1. It would be nice to be able to save Preset Hairs in DS Library for future use or distrubution..
2.One thing that would be nice is the ability to say Highlight/Make green Hair in styling and then go into clump or Tweak labs/tabs and just work on that portion of the high lited hair,As it is now what ever changes you make affects the whole Hair...Now I know we can push hair with density maps,I was kinds hopeing that it would be automated from styling to tweak to clump...
3.The ability to open the Plugin Full screen instead of a window...

1) So you can already...
I'm not a expert on making Daz Assets but this works for me:
Save your Garibaldi Hair node as a "Figure/Prop asset".
Import the new asset and set the "Parent Geometry" parameter property on the imported Garibaldi node to your figure.
Parent the Garibaldi Node in your figure.
Select the figure and the Garibaldi Node and save as a "Wearable(s) Preset".
You now have a wearable asset you can import that will fit on any compatible figure asset in any pose animation.
All data associated with Garibaldi Node is save in the standard Daz file format including and texture control maps that are lossessly compressed.
There will be a documentation page on this in more detail eventually.

2) I think I can see where you're coming from. Control maps are used as they offer a good balance of ease of use and precision. They can be applied to most options, click on the more info of the options tool tip for rendered examples what they do. At the moment I don't think it's a good time to complicate the interface/development with different ways to do similar things, but I do have a vague idea of a feature that does something similar thing that might get in in future versions.

3) Do you mean full screening just the editing viewport?


Here ya go better then I could have said it...Mine was trial and error....


Ohhhhhhh...AND YES...Can I say the ability to go full screen Should be an option....!!!
[ Edited: 27 December 2012 08:32 PM by foleypro ]
 Signature 

As Always B3D
..........................
My radio Station…
http://www.pandora.com/?sc=qm81447313#/
.........................
http://www.foleypromagic.com
http://www.michaelhershman.com
http://www.artwanted.com/foleypro
http://foleypro.deviantart.com/
http://home.comcast.net/~foleypro

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 08:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 703 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-10
Spyro - 27 December 2012 08:14 PM
Speaking of re-installing new versions of betas every couple of weeks, does this corrupt/make un-usable our existing saved hairstyles?

Foley - You mentioned a while back you were saving preset GH how are you doing it? - I've been just saving them in scenes like MangeyD, and not sure how to make the same hair fit another character that it wasn't painted on.


Ok...

If you work on Genesis any character that you create the hair/fur wll follow the mesh..
I always save my morphed characters...
 Signature 

As Always B3D
..........................
My radio Station…
http://www.pandora.com/?sc=qm81447313#/
.........................
http://www.foleypromagic.com
http://www.michaelhershman.com
http://www.artwanted.com/foleypro
http://foleypro.deviantart.com/
http://home.comcast.net/~foleypro

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 09:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 704 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4935
Joined  2009-02-26
Thankyou so much Foley! I read through about 30 pages on this thread looking for the method and I obviously missed it lol Thanks! - It wasnt until recently that I actually created hair in which I would like to keep. As well as the fact that GH was unstable on my PC until the last few betas.

So our existing hairstyles we've made are fine when we've installed a newer beta, thats good. My recent GH I've spent a lot of work on and would hate to think it wont work when the next beta version arrives.

Cheers Foley smile
 Signature 

- SpyroRue’s Deviant Art -

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 09:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 705 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-10
Spyro - 27 December 2012 09:31 PM
Thankyou so much Foley! I read through about 30 pages on this thread looking for the method and I obviously missed it lol Thanks! - It wasnt until recently that I actually created hair in which I would like to keep. As well as the fact that GH was unstable on my PC until the last few betas.

So our existing hairstyles we've made are fine when we've installed a newer beta, thats good. My recent GH I've spent a lot of work on and would hate to think it wont work when the next beta version arrives.

Cheers Foley smile


Well lets just say we hope that what we create in beta will work in the final RC...

When in Beta learn from beta..And you wont ever go wrong....

Always write down your final settings..why so when if you dont get the final Plugin(I always get the full Program or plugin for testing,No ifs a butts about it)but you have to BUY the plugin/Program you have your settings and Sometimes saving scene's dont work....
[ Edited: 27 December 2012 09:43 PM by foleypro ]
 Signature 

As Always B3D
..........................
My radio Station…
http://www.pandora.com/?sc=qm81447313#/
.........................
http://www.foleypromagic.com
http://www.michaelhershman.com
http://www.artwanted.com/foleypro
http://foleypro.deviantart.com/
http://home.comcast.net/~foleypro

Profile
 
 
   
47 of 77
47