Digital Art Zone

 
   
41 of 77
41
Garibaldi Express: Hair and Fur Plugin Beta [Commercial] 
Posted: 14 December 2012 06:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 601 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  174
Joined  2004-06-23
Have you any idea when you think the item will be ready for general release smile I think it is a really exciting concept
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 07:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 602 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
mjc1016 - 08 December 2012 12:19 PM
It's running rock stable now...I did have one or two crashes due to user error...like don't dry a density of several hundred on the old Poser bull (don't ask...it was late, 'nuff said).

Garibaldi Express does have various memory limit checking functionality, unfortunately I've just realised it's been broken on Windows in the last few beta builds.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 07:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 603 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Bea - 14 December 2012 06:56 PM
Have you any idea when you think the item will be ready for general release smile I think it is a really exciting concept

I can't give any particulars away or want to promise anything infeasible but...
The current schedule is 2-4 more beta/RC versions. Depending on how things go.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 07:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 604 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
andyc747 - 11 December 2012 02:03 AM
Maybe i'm a simpleton, but i cant seem to get the genesis figure into the grabaldi system so that i can use it to create the hair. Am i doing something wrong?
Hopefully the images are attached. Is there anywhere i can look for debug info to debug this?

Did you get this to work? Make sure that your figure is selected in the 'Parent Geometry' property parameter of the Garibaldi node in Daz Studio.
What graphics card/chipset are you using?
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 07:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 605 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Edit: Duplicated post
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 07:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 606 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4772
Joined  2004-07-01
futurebiscuit - 14 December 2012 07:05 PM
Bea - 14 December 2012 06:56 PM
Have you any idea when you think the item will be ready for general release smile I think it is a really exciting concept

I can't give any particulars away or want to promise anything infeasible but...
The current schedule is 2-4 more beta/RC versions. Depending on how things go.


sounds good - I just wanted to be sure you knew we are still here !
All the best to you and yours.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 07:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 607 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Mec4D - 11 December 2012 04:12 PM
btw how you made the hair pick up the texture color ? in the last build I see no option to load textures
or maybe I am missing something

The easiest way I would recommend for anyone interested is:

1) Create a blank or rough texture in garibaldi. If you want to use it as a colour control texture make sure you select 'colour' as the type in the New dialog box.
2) Make sure new texture is selected and press the export button, this will ask for a name and directory to export to.
3) You should now have a directory where you specified containing a png image for each surface of your character with active hair.
4) Load and edit the image textures in your favourite image editing program (I just used the free 'paint.net' for the lion and 'PixelMator' with the included genesis examples).
5) Make sure you save as the same file type/size/name to guarantee compatibility. Note currently the UV layout is vertically flipped compared to the daz textures (will be fixed).
6) In the Garibalidi paint workspace select import and select the directory with your image textures in. If you want to use it as a colour control texture make sure you select 'colour' as the type in the dialog box.
7) Select the control texture you wish to use in one of the many texture control menus throughout the garibaldi editor. The clump and tweak workspaces have tooltips with a web link to rendered examples of what effects can be created.

Remember that if you wish to distribute content based on existing texture assets then you need to respect there copyright.
Using the diffuse texture from the skin on an animal characters is quick but not generally the best solution as the textures normally have drawn in textured lighting.
For best detail have different base and tip colour textures. Using the built in paint tool in Garibaldi with low opacity is a quick way to add area variation. Remember the colour textures of the hair should just set the hair pigment and don't need to be as detailed as when trying to fake the effect of fur/hair with a surface texture.
[ Edited: 14 December 2012 07:48 PM by futurebiscuit ]
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 07:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 608 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Gone - 12 December 2012 03:17 PM
Interestingly, when I reinstalled Garaibaldi, the scene I opened earlier with Garibaldi uninstalled crashed DS with a access violation in GaribaldiPlugin.dll. All other Garibaldi scenes opened without problems.

Did you save over the scene when no GaribaldiPlugin was installed?
I imagine something happens to the data that I haven't tested for yet.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 07:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 609 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Mec4D - 12 December 2012 01:17 PM
I have another question for the followers of this thread. Does anyone know when the plug-in goes dead?

Each beta version generally is set to last two weeks from the day it was released. So nothing special, there will be a functioning beta available up until the product is available to purchase.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 10:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 610 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  0
futurebiscuit - 14 December 2012 07:51 PM

Did you save over the scene when no GaribaldiPlugin was installed?
I imagine something happens to the data that I haven't tested for yet.


No.

Once I confirmed there was no hair I closed DS without saving anything. After reinstalling Garibaldi, I reopened the scene and crashed. No other scene has been affected.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 10:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 611 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2009-10-22
This is an excellent plugin for Daz users....i have been waiting ages to get realistic looking hairs on my render....smile...i got the download link to my mail...installed..and when i opened and check my installed plugins i saw the error on the pic below...btw.. i am using Daz Studio 4.5.0.90 Pro Edition (64-bit)
Image Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 11:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 612 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  913
Joined  2008-11-27
Zen Paragon - 15 December 2012 10:49 AM
This is an excellent plugin for Daz users....i have been waiting ages to get realistic looking hairs on my render....smile...i got the download link to my mail...installed..and when i opened and check my installed plugins i saw the error on the pic below...btw.. i am using Daz Studio 4.5.0.90 Pro Edition (64-bit)


4.5.0.90 is an old version of DAZ Studio, you should update it - we are currently at 4.5.1.49 (see: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/13162/ ) and with this build this plugin also should run smile
 Signature 

Markus

My store at DAZ: http://www.daz3d.com/sedor

Member of the Bald Wizards Club (BWC).

My facebook artist page: https://www.facebook.com/WatmaScunn

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 02:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 613 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2009-10-22
sedor - 15 December 2012 11:07 AM
Zen Paragon - 15 December 2012 10:49 AM
This is an excellent plugin for Daz users....i have been waiting ages to get realistic looking hairs on my render....smile...i got the download link to my mail...installed..and when i opened and check my installed plugins i saw the error on the pic below...btw.. i am using Daz Studio 4.5.0.90 Pro Edition (64-bit)


4.5.0.90 is an old version of DAZ Studio, you should update it - we are currently at 4.5.1.49 (see: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/13162/ ) and with this build this plugin also should run smile


Thanks man...but do i have to re-download the new version or is there any way to update my current version..???
Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2012 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 614 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2009-10-22
Nevermind...i figured it out..thanks again...!!
Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2012 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 615 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-10
I seem to be having Problems with alot of mesh's not being able to grow hair...

In the 2 pics you will see that I have painted the mesh and the final grow...

I will send a Report to you and give you everything you need to fix this...
Image Attachments
Thorin1.jpgThorin2.jpgDazGoz1.jpg
 Signature 

As Always B3D
..........................
My radio Station…
http://www.pandora.com/?sc=qm81447313#/
.........................
http://www.foleypromagic.com
http://www.michaelhershman.com
http://www.artwanted.com/foleypro
http://foleypro.deviantart.com/
http://home.comcast.net/~foleypro

Profile
 
 
   
41 of 77
41