Digital Art Zone

 
   
38 of 77
38
Garibaldi Express: Hair and Fur Plugin Beta [Commercial] 
Posted: 04 December 2012 09:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 556 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
futurebiscuit - 04 December 2012 09:09 PM
uughh great. Not sure what I can do, I'll send out a new email email with direct links. Hopefully it'll make a different but who knows...

"Very few people in the global community of avast! users have ever encountered this file, which makes it potentially suspicious."

Well thanks to the people at avast for that brilliant piece of logic to base their product on...


Don't blame them (too much...) they are just following the 'industry leader', Symantec...on second thought go ahead an blame them for following a mind-blowingly bone-headed, moronic decision in the first place. At this point I see very little difference between the malware and the 'protection' products...

It's crap like this that makes wonder why I get out of bed, in the morning.
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 12:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 557 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-08
Thank you garibaldi.
i've got new beta 9..
but i can't play this plugin.

message following is "need to be registered"
need serial?

win7 64bit
sick
[ Edited: 05 December 2012 12:33 AM by jerrycrow ]
Image Attachments
2012-12-05_152355.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 558 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4769
Joined  2004-07-01
jerrycrow - 05 December 2012 12:29 AM
Thank you garibaldi.
i've got new beta 9..
but i can't play this plugin.

message following is "need to be registered"
need serial?

win7 64bit
sick


works fine for me .
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 01:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 559 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5890
Joined  2006-02-20
Thanks for the update - and I hope you get better soon!
 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 06:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 560 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1673
Joined  2012-09-16
I am seriously questioning my sanity...I am a beta tester myself!
Can't imagine why I would forget that!

Anyway, I am, of course, modelling a cat right now and it seems to crash every now and then when I switch panels.
Do you want me to send you the crash reports?

EDIT
Okay, I read through this thread and will email the report to you smile
[ Edited: 05 December 2012 07:52 AM by Estroyer ]
 Signature 

You’re welcome to visit my GALLERY
Need a review or looking for tips? Pay a visit HERE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 08:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 561 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2005-07-13
I added hair to the forearms and some details on the legs hairs.

@futurebiscuit : You really need to re-enable the views box, sometimes is a real pain to rotate, move and zoom the view. A top, bottom, etc... views would be very very very helpful. (time saving !)
..

.


[ Edited: 05 December 2012 08:10 AM by ekoham ]
Image Attachments
qq3.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 08:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 562 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1673
Joined  2012-09-16
ecocam - 05 December 2012 08:08 AM


@futurebiscuit : You really need to re-enable the views box, sometimes is a real pain to rotate, move and zoom the view. A top, bottom, etc... views would be very very very helpful. (time saving !)



I agree, it would also be nice if the Garabaldi window could be resized.
It's a bit too small, especially when you want to do bigger surfaces ^^
A big thumbs up for the intuitive setting tabs!

I am having difficulties importing texture maps for the cat.
I converted the .jpg to .png but it still doesn't show up when I try to import it in the paint tab...
What am I missing here?

STrange thing is that the crashes have seem to deminish!
It's like my DAZ was like:"ok, what kind of new strange bird is this here?!".
Now it seems to have accept it and haven't seen any more crashes today...(let's hope that'll stay that way smile

EDIT
Crashes are back.
I think it may have to do with my graphics card, but not sure.
Sending you the report!
[ Edited: 05 December 2012 08:45 AM by Estroyer ]
 Signature 

You’re welcome to visit my GALLERY
Need a review or looking for tips? Pay a visit HERE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 10:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 563 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
jerrycrow - 05 December 2012 12:29 AM

message following is "need to be registered"
need serial?

The garibaldi Plugin is date restricted. Do you have the date and time settings of your system set correctly?
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 10:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 564 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Estroyer - 05 December 2012 08:23 AM

I am having difficulties importing texture maps for the cat.
I converted the .jpg to .png but it still doesn't show up when I try to import it in the paint tab...
What am I missing here?

I find if I'm having trouble with the texture import I export a existing texture control map from Garibaldi and then use that as a template to create a new one to import. That way the format/size and naming can be guaranteed to be correct.
If your still having issues then send me a screen capture of the Garibaldi texture import Report message and what image editor your using.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 11:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 565 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
ecocam - 05 December 2012 08:08 AM
You really need to re-enable the views box, sometimes is a real pain to rotate, move and zoom the view. A top, bottom, etc... views would be very very very helpful. (time saving !)

Orthographic view were something that I was hoping to get into version one. Garibaldi uses a few view camera dependent caching systems to make things more efficient in various ways. So implementing the extra views is not as straight forward as it seems so might not make the cut.

I always find using the home button above the navigation buttons to reset the view useful if the camera setup is dramatically changed.

Estroyer - 05 December 2012 08:23 AM

I agree, it would also be nice if the Garabaldi window could be resized.
It's a bit too small, especially when you want to do bigger surfaces ^^

I'm not sure what you mean, the window can be resized by dragging the corners/edges like and standard Win/Mac window?
[ Edited: 05 December 2012 04:43 PM by futurebiscuit ]
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 12:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 566 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1673
Joined  2012-09-16
Erm, this is awkward...
I tried that this afternoon and no resizing arrows would show up so I presumes it was a window with set measurements.
Maybe it has to do with the crashes that it wouldn't work this afternoon.
I tried again and, tadaa: arrows are showing and I can resize!

I'll look further into the texture thingy and come back to you later!

*A FEW MOMENTS LATER*
Ok I tried your suggestion to no avail.
Whenever I try to import a.png, it just doesn't recognize any at all.


*AND SOME LATER...*
Ok, I spotted an oddity.
It only looks for maps, not actual files.
Also when I export it makes a map even though it says it has exported is as a .png
Within the map I see that apart from the folder, there was afterall a file made named "fur", although the software states I exported it under my own given name.
I think it gets lost on paths or switching folders with the files, somehow.

The paths you see in the safe file are actually the names I've tried given the file before.
So: SKIN/BLACKSKIN/ are filenames I've given to the exported .PNG's but the software makes folders out of it instead and tosses in a file with a name "FUR" that can't be imported.

EDITED a few times to add pictures and info~
[ Edited: 05 December 2012 01:13 PM by Estroyer ]
Image Attachments
Gari.jpgGari2.jpgGari3.jpg
 Signature 

You’re welcome to visit my GALLERY
Need a review or looking for tips? Pay a visit HERE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 12:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 567 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2005-07-13
futurebiscuit - 05 December 2012 11:07 AM

Orographic view were something that I was hoping to get into version one. Garibaldi uses a few view camera dependant caching systems to make things more eficant in various ways. So impelementing the extra views is not as sreight forward as it seems so might not make the cut.


I understand the point, and I'm also sure that if it´s possible to reset the view, it´s also possible to write a routine that resets and then rotate the view by a fixed value, like 90 or 180º. It may not be ortographic, but...
As the provided controls are very limited by now, we need to use the brush tool a lot and, as you know, the view that we are using while brushing is very important. To give the option of some fixed view presets would help a lot and save time.


[ Edited: 05 December 2012 12:57 PM by ekoham ]
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 02:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 568 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2865
Joined  2004-04-14
I dont have a pic to show but I was able to make some time to play with this on the new Santa Baby outfit in place of the modeled fur and it looks really good. Though I am sure it would look better if I spent more time on it.
 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 05:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 569 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Estroyer - 05 December 2012 12:53 PM

Ok, I spotted an oddity.
It only looks for maps, not actual files.
Also when I export it makes a map even though it says it has exported is as a .png
Within the map I see that apart from the folder, there was afterall a file made named "fur", although the software states I exported it under my own given name.
I think it gets lost on paths or switching folders with the files, somehow.

The paths you see in the safe file are actually the names I've tried given the file before.
So: SKIN/BLACKSKIN/ are filenames I've given to the exported .PNG's but the software makes folders out of it instead and tosses in a file with a name "FUR" that can't be imported.


This is the expected behavior.
When you export a texture control map in Garibaldi it will create a new directory of the name specified in the location specified. Inside this directory a colour 1024 pixel square png image for each surface which has be specified as active in 'Setup' workspace will created.
In your case you have only set active one surface in the setup which has been named 'fur' in daz studio.
The default behavior in Windows Explorer is to hide file extensions of know formats.
When you select the import button a dialogue box asking you select a directory containing surface maps is displayed. Once you have selected a directory you are then asked what you want to call the new control map (defaults to the name of the of the directory being imported) and if the new map is color or greyscale.

I guess this is a bit confusing and even more so when your just dealing with a single surface. Documentation is currently being worked on along side fixes and enhancements.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 06:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 570 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Basically, I've figured out all my crashes...32 bit. The differences between actual Win32 and Wine are just enough..

64 bit on the other hand does work...mostly, but DS itself is not quite as stable, which is odd.
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
38 of 77
38