Digital Art Zone

 
   
26 of 77
26
Garibaldi Express: Hair and Fur Plugin Beta [Commercial] 
Posted: 13 November 2012 12:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 376 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  533
Joined  0
I think I may have narrowed down some of the paint problem.

If you use a textured character where the texture has more than one UV map applied, then the paint does not work. For example, I used the Dryden textures and paint did not work. Dryden uses the M4 UV map. Other M4 textures did work however. When I checked all the surfaces in the Dryden set, it turns out that Dryden uses the V4 map for the tear material zone. I changed this to M4 and paint worked just fine. I tested this idea with a number of texture sets and, in every case, if I changed even one material zone to a different map then paint would not work but did work if all the material zones used the same UV map.

On the other hand, if I change the character pose and update it in Garibaldi using the "update surfacees" button, then any existing nodes will no longer paint properly but new nodes will.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 04:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 377 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  287
Joined  2005-08-25
what about dynamic hair with gravity and collisions?
that's what we need...
but, it's a start.
it actually almost look the same as the other LAHM plugin.
the first one that can give me real good dynamics is sold.
[ Edited: 13 November 2012 04:52 AM by fixme12 ]
 Signature 

DAZSTUDIO FUTURE REQUESTS - CLICK ME TO JOIN
Feel free to join, sign and vote for dazstudio future improvements.
(620 users and still counting up to 1000) would like to see improvements, and you?

What features would you like to see appear in dazstudio 5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 04:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 378 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  287
Joined  2005-08-25
how do you access the Garibaldi menu?

all i get is Create > New Garibaldi hair.

and then a new prop appear in the scene.

Image Attachments
test.jpg
 Signature 

DAZSTUDIO FUTURE REQUESTS - CLICK ME TO JOIN
Feel free to join, sign and vote for dazstudio future improvements.
(620 users and still counting up to 1000) would like to see improvements, and you?

What features would you like to see appear in dazstudio 5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 04:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 379 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2005-07-13
fixme12 - 13 November 2012 04:50 AM
how do you access the Garibaldi menu?



Then go to Edit > Edit Garibaldi
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 07:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 380 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
fixme12 - 13 November 2012 04:27 AM
what about dynamic hair with gravity and collisions?
that's what we need...
but, it's a start.
it actually almost look the same as the other LAHM plugin.
the first one that can give me real good dynamics is sold.


With curve based hair, dynamics/gravity aren't as difficult to get as with object based hair...but you still need a worklng physics engine to do it, so I say that's what's needed, first.
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 10:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 381 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2010-01-29
You have to set the brush to zero and paint those parts (yes, ears are difficult!) black.
Sometimes it's useful to do a headover and go at them from the inside of the head.



Right, I have done the erasing with the brush at zero. I've also tried to paint inside the head, that didn't seem to work.

I'll try it again to see if I was just too impatient. Thanks Kerya. grin



Edit:

Hmmm I must be doing something wrong, I can't erase the paint from inside the head. confused
[ Edited: 13 November 2012 10:29 AM by gensi ]
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 10:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 382 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
gensi - 12 November 2012 06:52 PM

When you work on it, is there a way to be able to access the paint that gets into the "creases" like inside the ears,
That's where a lot of my wild hairs are coming from. I can see the paint, but no matter how close I get to it, I can't
erase it. Maybe, I'm not getting a setting right?

Try turning off the following switches:
Backface Culling (Do not paint on reverse side of the surface).
Occlusion Culling (Do not paint on surface overlaped by other surface).
Hope that helps...
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 11:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 383 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Gone - 13 November 2012 12:46 AM
I think I may have narrowed down some of the paint problem.

If you use a textured character where the texture has more than one UV map applied, then the paint does not work. For example, I used the Dryden textures and paint did not work. Dryden uses the M4 UV map. Other M4 textures did work however. When I checked all the surfaces in the Dryden set, it turns out that Dryden uses the V4 map for the tear material zone. I changed this to M4 and paint worked just fine. I tested this idea with a number of texture sets and, in every case, if I changed even one material zone to a different map then paint would not work but did work if all the material zones used the same UV map.

On the other hand, if I change the character pose and update it in Garibaldi using the "update surfacees" button, then any existing nodes will no longer paint properly but new nodes will.

Hmm... I think I know whats going on here... I'll look into fixing it to support using multiple UV sets on the same figure.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 11:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 384 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
fixme12 - 13 November 2012 04:27 AM
what about dynamic hair with gravity and collisions?

To do hair dynamics 'well' it's a big project... arguably more complex than cloth simulation.

Garibaldi Express version 1 is all about concentrating about building a foundation of all the tools you need style and render realistic hair in daz studio.

If you wish to animate your character then currently the hair will 'stick' to your characters surface.
The output will render stable and flicker free.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 11:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 385 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
fixme12 - 13 November 2012 04:50 AM
how do you access the Garibaldi menu?

Make sure you check out the introduction tutorial. It goes through all the basics of creating a hair render from scratch. Or use one of the provided examples as a base to work on, if you get suck on how to do things.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 11:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 386 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
gensi - 13 November 2012 10:14 AM
I've also tried to paint inside the head, that didn't seem to work.

Turning off the backface culling switch should let you paint on the inside of the head.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 11:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 387 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
futurebiscuit - 13 November 2012 11:10 AM
fixme12 - 13 November 2012 04:27 AM
what about dynamic hair with gravity and collisions?

To do hair dynamics 'well' it's a big project... arguably more complex than cloth simulation.

Garibaldi Express version 1 is all about concentrating about building a foundation of all the tools you need to style and render realistic hair in daz studio.

If you wish to animate your character then currently the hair will 'stick' to your characters surface.
The output will render stable and flicker free.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 01:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 388 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1242
Joined  2004-08-24
I have tried a BUNCH of times to render the second image, and there are ALWAYS the same 2-4 squares (depending on the method - sprial, circular, horizontal, etc) that just will NOT render. It gets to 99% and won't finish, so I can't save as a png or anything else. Haven't a clue why this is happening or if it has ANYTHING to do with the plugin or if it's my computer. It's weird that it is the same squares every time. Tried cutting out some of the hairs in that section but it doesn't matter. I can't get these squares to render ARRRGH!!

So I did some touchup in Photoshop with the clone tool, to try to hide them

Anyway, here are my 2 attempts at the hair. Really loving it!!
[ Edited: 13 November 2012 01:42 PM by Alisa Uh-Lisa ]
Image Attachments
garabaldi_test_1.jpggaribaldi_e.jpg
 Signature 

Cheers,
Alisa

**********************************************************************
Post Count - just add 6775 to what it says here smile
**********************************************************************
Coordinator & updater for KCTC Freebies *Remembering France*

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 03:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 389 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03
Alisa Uh-Lisa - 13 November 2012 01:35 PM
....It gets to 99% and won't finish...

Renders look great...
Can you email me the scene and I'll have a look.
Thanks
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 06:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 390 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4894
Joined  2009-02-26
Gone - 13 November 2012 12:46 AM
I think I may have narrowed down some of the paint problem.

If you use a textured character where the texture has more than one UV map applied, then the paint does not work. For example, I used the Dryden textures and paint did not work. Dryden uses the M4 UV map. Other M4 textures did work however. When I checked all the surfaces in the Dryden set, it turns out that Dryden uses the V4 map for the tear material zone. I changed this to M4 and paint worked just fine. I tested this idea with a number of texture sets and, in every case, if I changed even one material zone to a different map then paint would not work but did work if all the material zones used the same UV map.

On the other hand, if I change the character pose and update it in Garibaldi using the "update surfacees" button, then any existing nodes will no longer paint properly but new nodes will.


That may have been my problem. Most of my characters are all using M4 and V4 UV's except for the eyes. All of them use M5 eyes. It sucks about the UV issue. :( All my custom textures have been made for those UV's lol I never thought that the eyes would cause this problem
 Signature 

- SpyroRue’s Deviant Art -

Profile
 
 
   
26 of 77
26