Digital Art Zone

 
   
13 of 77
13
Garibaldi Express: Hair and Fur Plugin Beta [Commercial] 
Posted: 03 November 2012 11:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 181 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2245
Joined  2005-09-05
Shaaelia - 03 November 2012 11:27 PM
My first render. MilCat with hair. Still needs some adjustments and some lights that won't crash my poor old PC.
So good! I haven't got past playing with the presets yet!
 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 11:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 182 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  627
Joined  2007-12-04
thanks grin not quite how I wanted it to look, but I thought the ol' 32bit Vista PC would be a good testing ground for the Beta. Going to give it a go on the 64bit laptop and see the difference.
 Signature 

Follow me on facebook, check out my website or find my freebies here.
Don’t forget to have a look at The Wizard’s Library, my multi-figure Daz scene.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 12:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 183 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  0
gilikshe - 03 November 2012 09:30 PM
Gone - 03 November 2012 05:56 PM
Is it still possible to sign up for the beta?

I've tried signing up 3 times in the past couple of weeks - waiting for the windows version - but I never get the email that says is being sent.

I would really love to try this out now that the windows version is available.


See your spam folder. I obtain beta 2 and 3, but 4 nothing. This was in spam.


I always check all my folders - too many things have a habit of showing up as junk when it isn't.

All I've gotten is echoing silence.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 12:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 184 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  201
Joined  2006-03-02
Had my first try with the windows 64-bit plug-in. So far it seems easy to get the basics down, but all the options may take a while to figure out. It will take me some time to learn how to style it -- poor hiro isn't happy with his new haircut. LOL
Image Attachments
hiro_hair.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 01:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 185 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  627
Joined  2007-12-04
Looks pretty good to me grin
 Signature 

Follow me on facebook, check out my website or find my freebies here.
Don’t forget to have a look at The Wizard’s Library, my multi-figure Daz scene.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 02:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 186 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2003-10-09
Thank you for the Windows beta.


Gave it a quick go following along with the video intro tutorial in DSPro 4.5.0.114 on Win7 64 (bottom of barrel AMD quad core/6 G RAM).


I only tested on a default sphere (1 meter), and only encountered one issue. Not sure if it is a Windows version bug, or not.

When I got to the CLUMP tab, and tried experimenting there, nothing happened. I tried all the sliders (following along with tut), and my hair model exhibited no changes at all.

Then I wanted to put all the sliders back to their default, so instead of using the sliders I typed in the numbers in the selection boxes. Once I had them set back to default (or how I saw them in the tut), I decided to try the first slider again just for the hell of it.

Low and behold, the clumping system started working. Although, I was not getting the fantastic instant update seen in the video (probably do to low end PC, and/or because I was using a 1 meter sphere) the lag wasn't that bad, and the clumping tools all seemed to work correctly.

I'll test again to see if it was a slider issue that needed to be coaxed by the selection boxes, or if I was using way to big of a mesh to begin with.


I did find one thing interesting though. I scaled down the sphere, and hid it to use the hair on Genesis. When I scaled down the sphere to about the size of Genesis' head the more I scaled it down the more the hair scaled up. This was also true for individual X/Y/Z scaling giving interesting, and wild results. I know that is not intended use, but it might come in handy some day.
 Signature 

Take care all..        “It’s easy to clean up when you got money.”        *Old Post Count:  Don’t know, don’t care…  *New Site Status:  Doesn’t matter one iota.
Ken

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 02:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 187 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  627
Joined  2007-12-04
I've just set up two different tests, and the hair doesn't show up in the spot render or if I do a normal render. I thought I'd made a mistake on the first one, so deleted it, and tried again with the same results.

Tried re-installing the plugin, and the hair still isn't showing in either render mode. Trying to spot render causes Daz to crash, but you can still see that the hair isn't there before it crashes.

Re-opened the cat file, and I can still render that. Maybe there's something wrong with the new one. I'll try a different one and see what happens grin
[ Edited: 04 November 2012 02:51 AM by Shaaelia ]
 Signature 

Follow me on facebook, check out my website or find my freebies here.
Don’t forget to have a look at The Wizard’s Library, my multi-figure Daz scene.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 04:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 188 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  627
Joined  2007-12-04
Well, I started a new scene, created a new hair and was able to render it no hassles. Went to create another new scene, created the hair again and again, it doesn't render. The blue strands show up in the normal view port, but no hair in the render.
 Signature 

Follow me on facebook, check out my website or find my freebies here.
Don’t forget to have a look at The Wizard’s Library, my multi-figure Daz scene.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 04:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 189 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  619
Joined  2012-02-06
Mec4D - 02 November 2012 08:00 PM
Hi Guys, I am just back from 5 days of cold and darkness thanks to Hurricane Sandy , the hell is over
I hope I never make it again ... I take break until Monday as a lot of stuff have to be done before I can run everything again .. just in case you wondered why I was quiet ...


Sending positive and healing energy and prayers from half-way around the world. I can't even begin to imagine =(( I survived Ketsana and that was just one day of cold, darkness with water entering the house :( Glad you're okay and welcome back!
 Signature 

LuxCompagno at deviantart

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 06:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 190 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5921
Joined  2006-02-20
Windows7 64bit, DazStudio 4.5.1.6
Intel Core i7-2700K , NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448, 32 GB DDR3-1333 RAM

The tightWavesExample01.duf is looking for textures that aren't there - the Journeyer scout textures I have are without an addition _DC at the end of the name ... but the hair looks great!

OK, I had fun (I did read the readme to the last line wink )
When playing too long, DS crashed ...
The first time I created a primitive sphere and played with all the tabs until I came to the Tweak tab. That was reacting very slowly, and then ... crash.
Restarting DS and redoing that and the crashes came early, even when just painting the Density map.
Now it crashes each time I am trying to select a second part of the hairs to style.
Sometimes I get:
DAZStudio.exe caused ACCESS_VIOLATION at 0033:000000000981F786
Sometimes the whole thing grays out and after some time

Sometimes I can't paint the density map ... closing Garibaldi and Edit / Edit Garibaldi hair again worked.

Is it possible to select all the guiding hairs?
Like "adding to selection"?
Answering myself: listen to the video: shift + click+ drag
[ Edited: 04 November 2012 08:09 AM by Kerya ]
 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 06:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 191 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2003-10-09
Here is my 2nd try with the plugin. The first was more a birds nest than hair. I have been getting some crashes when trying to do long hair.

Image Attachments
001.jpg002.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 06:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 192 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  114
Joined  2005-11-18
Any chance to still get in on the beta? Windows 7 64 bit with 4.5.1.6 pro daz studio here. I used to do some beta testing for daz a few years back and I wouldn't mind the chance to give this a test run at all. Feel free to pm or email me.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 07:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 193 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5921
Joined  2006-02-20
samc: that is a lovely girl! May I ask what morphs/textures you used?
 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 07:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 194 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2003-10-09
She's abit of this and that. I'm just doing some work at the moment. Can I get back to you later with the settings?. I'll PM you.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 08:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 195 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5921
Joined  2006-02-20
Thank you!

One thing I found out: the cursor for Dazstudio changes to a fist and stays a fist, even in DS ... LOL
 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
   
13 of 77
13