Digital Art Zone

 
     
Creating props in DAZ Studio 4.5?
Posted: 18 October 2012 02:00 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1198
Joined  2007-11-30

A quick question - how do you make a prop (say; PP2) in DAZ Studio 4.5 from an imported OBJ? Is it possible with the stand-alone program, or do I need a plugin for that?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 October 2012 03:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14771
Joined  2003-10-09

There’s a free script that will do that - it’s linked from the index of scripts on the old forums, not the new list.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 October 2012 03:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1159
Joined  2005-07-29

Don’t suppose you could provide a link directly to it, could you?

smile

 Signature 

<End of transmission from Oz>
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis/G2F/G2M Full Body Morph for DAZ Studio Pro 4.6 by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis Partial Body Morph in DAZ Studio Pro 4 Using the DForm Tool by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Applying Shaders by RKane_1 (as stolen blatantly from Jaderail)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 October 2012 04:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14771
Joined  2003-10-09

Index thread: http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=42376
OBJ to PP2: http://forum.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=127437

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 October 2012 05:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1159
Joined  2005-07-29

YAY! Thanks!

 Signature 

<End of transmission from Oz>
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis/G2F/G2M Full Body Morph for DAZ Studio Pro 4.6 by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis Partial Body Morph in DAZ Studio Pro 4 Using the DForm Tool by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Applying Shaders by RKane_1 (as stolen blatantly from Jaderail)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 02:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  688
Joined  2006-05-18

The OBJ to PP2 link does not work, would there by any chance be another link somewhere?  I and several others would like to how to change and obj to pp2 and I am interested in how to change a pp2 to an obj.

 Signature 

I Am Not An Expert Because I Never Stop Being A Student And Continue To Learn.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 03:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
CalieVee - 01 January 2013 02:30 PM

I am interested in how to change a pp2 to an obj.

That’s easy…load the pp2, then make sure it’s the only visible item in the scene.  File > export > choose obj as the type and then in the next pop up, set the options and scale (DAZ and default are usually fine).

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 03:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  932
Joined  2007-01-04

The version in Richards links was buggy and a major PITFA to work with, there is however a bright side to it, as M F M posted a large chunk of code HERE that works very well, just copy & paste the code to a text document and then change the file extension from .txt to .dsa, or if you have DS4 then copy and paste it into the Script IDE tab and use it to save the .dsa for you.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 08:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  25
Joined  2011-05-02

Index thread: http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=42376
OBJ to PP2: http://forum.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=127437

Hello. Links are dead?
Where to find plenty to do Prop export?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 12:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14771
Joined  2003-10-09

Sorry, you will have to change the links from forum.daz3d.com to forumarchive.daz3d.com and they should then work. I can’t edit the thread to do that.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 12:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  25
Joined  2011-05-02

OK. Thank you smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 04:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14771
Joined  2003-10-09

I’ve done a crude search and replace on the the old thread here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20206/ - the links to forum threads should now work, at least.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile