Digital Art Zone

 
   
12 of 15
12
DSON Importer for Poser 1.0.0.13 is now available!
Posted: 05 November 2012 12:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 166 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2098
Joined  2003-10-09

how do i change UV maps in Poser? It used to work just fine in the first version of DSON, since the update was released this is what i get. Every time I apply a mat to Genesis I get a Python script error and the results I showed above. It used to work just fine before the DSON update

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 167 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2098
Joined  2003-10-09

Here is a render with the Genesis Troll mat applied

Image Attachments
Genesis-Troll.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 12:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 168 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2003-10-09
LycanthropeX - 05 November 2012 12:43 PM

how do i change UV maps in Poser? It used to work just fine in the first version of DSON, since the update was released this is what i get. Every time I apply a mat to Genesis I get a Python script error and the results I showed above. It used to work just fine before the DSON update

Mec3D has a tool to do that. Or you could apply first a Basic (fe)male mat to genesis to make it gen4 or a v5//m5 mat to make it V5/M5
It is in her store for free

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 169 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2098
Joined  2003-10-09

the thing is, with the first version of DSON you used the Sample Jeremy, Sample Lana and Sample Child Mats to automatically swap to the Gen 4 UVs, Since they updated DSON that no longer works, you get a python script error and the bad texture fits like i have shown.

Also applying certain MATs causes Poser 9 to crash all together. So far the only fix I have found is to go back to the original DSON instead of the updated version

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 170 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2003-10-09
LycanthropeX - 05 November 2012 01:06 PM

the thing is, with the first version of DSON you used the Sample Jeremy, Sample Lana and Sample Child Mats to automatically swap to the Gen 4 UVs, Since they updated DSON that no longer works, you get a python script error and the bad texture fits like i have shown.

Also applying certain MATs causes Poser 9 to crash all together. So far the only fix I have found is to go back to the original DSON instead of the updated version

I am not sure what is going on with your version. I have the latest DSON importer installed and the Troll loads fine. Also loading default genesis, apply MC4 files for the troll and then dialing the troll in works fine as well
But I have PP2012 SR3.1, maybe that makes the difference

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 171 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14749
Joined  2003-10-09

It’s apparently trying to set the gamma value, but Poser 9 doesn’t support that and as a result the script is terminating - apparently without getting to the UVs. DAZ is aware of the issue.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 172 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2098
Joined  2003-10-09

yeah Poser Pro 2012 does not have many of the issues that Poser 9 does.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 173 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2003-10-09

According to the buglisting it has been fixed. So hopefully the next update will be better in this respect
I hope they fix the other content crashing poser bug as well

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 174 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2098
Joined  2003-10-09

I just reset my downloads for DSON and reinstalled, still the same results

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 175 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2003-10-09
LycanthropeX - 05 November 2012 01:51 PM

I just reset my downloads for DSON and reinstalled, still the same results

The bug listing did not specify a build number, so it is possible that it is not fixed in 1.0.13 but later

But here is the troll as I get it

 

Image Attachments
troll.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 07:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 176 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2004-08-04

Question: where do you install the DSON product files for Poser?
I’m talking about if I buy a RAW product, where do the files get installed. The user guide isn’t specific enough.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 09:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 177 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14749
Joined  2003-10-09

Both the Core and the Companion files need to be installed to a Poser content library (that is, a folder you have selected in Poser, that contains a Runtime folder).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 178 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2004-08-04
Richard Haseltine - 07 November 2012 09:36 AM

Both the Core and the Companion files need to be installed to a Poser content library (that is, a folder you have selected in Poser, that contains a Runtime folder).

Ok. I didn’t know if they were supposed to go in the DAZ Studio folders or not. I guess I’ll set up a Genesis Runtime folder and try it that way then. Thank you!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 179 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1001
Joined  2005-11-27
darkforceprime - 07 November 2012 10:05 AM
Richard Haseltine - 07 November 2012 09:36 AM

Both the Core and the Companion files need to be installed to a Poser content library (that is, a folder you have selected in Poser, that contains a Runtime folder).

Ok. I didn’t know if they were supposed to go in the DAZ Studio folders or not. I guess I’ll set up a Genesis Runtime folder and try it that way then. Thank you!

I installed the Core fils in a DS directory, and since I already divide my Poser content into different runtimes based on category, I made a Genesis runtime specifically for the Poser Companion Files. Both DS directory and Poser runtime are added to Poser’s library. This et seems to work perfectly so far.

 Signature 

The Revolution is coming…

==========================================================

“The universe is big. It’s vast and complicated and… ridiculous and sometimes, very rarely, impossible things just happen and we call them miracles…”

- The 10th Doctor, Doctor Who: The Pandorica Opens (Series 5, Episode 12)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 01:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 180 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  217
Joined  2005-04-05

I’m waiting for when Stephanie 5 is DSON compatable.

Profile
 
 
   
12 of 15
12