Digital Art Zone

 
     
Metadata question
Posted: 16 October 2012 12:48 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  246
Joined  2006-04-05

I’m sure this has been answered somewhere before but after quite a long time searching I have yet find it.

Simple question, if I move some files in Daz Studio My Library after install the Metadata links are obviously severed and the yellow triangle appears on the icons in Smart Content. Is there a quick, in software way to tell Studio where I moved them and reestablish the Smart Content link?

As I say, trial and error plus searching here have yet to shine any light on it. I am currently editing it all by hand which is laborious to say the least. Having said that I did learn a lot about Metadata in order to hand edit and I learned how to create new Metadata for products that don’t have it, so my time was not all wasted smile

Any help gratefully received.

 Signature 

My DevArt Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 04:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07

I haven’t used this function yet, but if you right-click there is an option Database/Edit Base Paths. From what I can make out you can use that to edit the path to content items. I suggest you try that.

If that doesn’t work then I’m not sure how to do this. Its not so much metadata related as it is related to how DAZ Studio finds assets, because metadata is built around the relative paths to assets.

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 05:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8687
Joined  2007-11-06

This thread by Adamr001 may help:  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5639/

If you move items inside the Content Library tab in DS rather than outside of DS, then the CMS will correct the metadata paths.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2012 07:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  246
Joined  2006-04-05

Thanks for the replies.

I haven’t used this function yet, but if you right-click there is an option Database/Edit Base Paths. From what I can make out you can use that to edit the path to content items. I suggest you try that.


I thought this was only for ‘My Library’ level if you are using moving drives or base folders. adamr001 covers this neatly in his tutorials but this is not my case.

If you move items inside the Content Library tab in DS rather than outside of DS, then the CMS will correct the metadata paths.


I am moving within the Content Library. Basically I move all content out of Vendor folders into folders for each costume/character etc. Then put all relevant Materials in that folder too. Until I setup Metadata for all my content that doesn’t have it the Smart Content tab is limited in value. So I use the Content Library a lot.
I have never had CMS do this yet, maybe it is a feature of 4.5 which I have just changed to. Is it meant to happen automatically?

 Signature 

My DevArt Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2012 02:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8687
Joined  2007-11-06
Haruchai - 17 October 2012 07:50 AM

Thanks for the replies.

I haven’t used this function yet, but if you right-click there is an option Database/Edit Base Paths. From what I can make out you can use that to edit the path to content items. I suggest you try that.


I thought this was only for ‘My Library’ level if you are using moving drives or base folders. adamr001 covers this neatly in his tutorials but this is not my case.

If you move items inside the Content Library tab in DS rather than outside of DS, then the CMS will correct the metadata paths.


I am moving within the Content Library. Basically I move all content out of Vendor folders into folders for each costume/character etc. Then put all relevant Materials in that folder too. Until I setup Metadata for all my content that doesn’t have it the Smart Content tab is limited in value. So I use the Content Library a lot.
I have never had CMS do this yet, maybe it is a feature of 4.5 which I have just changed to. Is it meant to happen automatically?

I thought it was automatic in 4.0, but I’ve never done it myself, as I use categories rather than moving files.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2012 03:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  246
Joined  2006-04-05

Ok thanks. Maybe I’ll install something new, move folder and restart Studio a couple of times to see if anything happens.

 Signature 

My DevArt Gallery

Profile