Digital Art Zone

 
   
48 of 100
48
Show Us Your Bryce Renders! Part 2
Posted: 29 November 2012 02:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 706 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  880
Joined  2008-11-26

@ David-thanks for the link

@ Dave – excellent work, do you do all your modeling in Bryce?

Thanks to everyone for sharing their experiences with other 3D programs. I found Wings 3D easy to use although the only attempts were following David’s excellent tutorials. I haven’t used any other programs and I haven’t done any modeling in Bryce except the wagon I started – Robin Wood’s tutorials, and did not complete it yet. I would like to get into modeling at later stage and its cool reading about the pros and cons on the different 3D programs available.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 02:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 707 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1779
Joined  2007-12-10
mermaid010 - 29 November 2012 02:14 AM

@ Dave – excellent work, do you do all your modeling in Bryce?

If I need to make something from scratch yes, I always use Bryce… Though I don’t tend to need anything too complex for my paid work.
Sometimes I will alter ready made models and in those cases, I also use SketchUp and Poser8, simply because of the amount of free stuff available to use as a basis for what I need.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 04:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 708 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2012-10-14
electro-elvis - 29 November 2012 02:08 AM
eireann.sg - 28 November 2012 06:09 PM


@eireann.sg: Hold the Shift-key, before you select the 3D-object, e.g. sphere and it should be placed at the position 0,0,0.

Firstly thanks for the tip.
I wonder why they havent chosen to let people hold the Ctrl-Shift-Alt-Hex keys and then click both mouse keys at the same time.

I think objects should be by default created at 0.0.0. size 1,1,1.
Anything else should require additional keys.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 04:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 709 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2012-10-14
mermaid010 - 29 November 2012 02:14 AM

@ Dave – excellent work, do you do all your modeling in Bryce?

Bryce doesnt allow you to do any modelling unless you talk about trees and terrains.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 05:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 710 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  212
Joined  2009-05-04
eireann.sg - 29 November 2012 04:47 AM
electro-elvis - 29 November 2012 02:08 AM
eireann.sg - 28 November 2012 06:09 PM


@eireann.sg: Hold the Shift-key, before you select the 3D-object, e.g. sphere and it should be placed at the position 0,0,0.

Firstly thanks for the tip.
I wonder why they havent chosen to let people hold the Ctrl-Shift-Alt-Hex keys and then click both mouse keys at the same time.

I think objects should be by default created at 0.0.0. size 1,1,1.
Anything else should require additional keys.

You are right, til now I cannot see any advantage of the hexagon not to do this. BTW Another possibility is… After you have positioned your object and hit “validate” / or “apply” or the enter-key oder anyhow wink then you will see the coordinates in the window, where the validate and apply button is. There you can change now the position with entering your desired position 0,0,0

Hm, suddenly it seems I quote myself 8-)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 05:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 711 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  931
Joined  2003-10-09
eireann.sg - 29 November 2012 04:49 AM
mermaid010 - 29 November 2012 02:14 AM

@ Dave – excellent work, do you do all your modeling in Bryce?

Bryce doesnt allow you to do any modelling unless you talk about trees and terrains.

What about boolean modeling? Haven’t you ever seen the Bryce Master series The Great Hall where the entire scene is built out of booleans made with primitives? Have you not seen the work of Bryce artists that create complex machinary the same way? Modeling in Bryce goes far beyond trees and terrains although it’s not easy and I would say one needs to be very skilled at visualizing 3D objects in their mind.

I’m pretty sure David knows the artist who does the complex machinary that I’m talking about and will post examples of his work but then there is also someone else who has posted in this very thread or at least the part 1 version of this thread that recreated car parts and other things in great detail. Unfortunately I forget his name but perhaps he’ll chime in as well with examples of impressive modeling in Bryce.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 05:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 712 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17119
Joined  2003-10-09

I agree with Mark I have posted this before, but I built all the buildings in this image in Bryce, and also the hand cart.  Not the jaunting cart or Stagecoach though.

Image Attachments
lusk_snow_pic.jpg
 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 05:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 713 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2012-10-14
electro-elvis - 29 November 2012 05:03 AM

Hm, suddenly it seems I quote myself 8-)

I have got the same impression LOL
Its just too complicated and ineffective.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 05:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 714 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2012-10-14
LordHardDriven - 29 November 2012 05:05 AM
eireann.sg - 29 November 2012 04:49 AM
mermaid010 - 29 November 2012 02:14 AM

@ Dave – excellent work, do you do all your modeling in Bryce?

Bryce doesnt allow you to do any modelling unless you talk about trees and terrains.

What about boolean modeling? Haven’t you ever seen the Bryce Master series The Great Hall where the entire scene is built out of booleans made with primitives?

 

Do you really consider that modelling?
In the end you can make a shape that hast the volume of all shapes involved and its even possible that you cant put the final shape properly on the ground because when pushing the “Land objects” button it follows the bounding box and not the object. The final object can be smaller than the bounding box.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 05:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 715 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3837
Joined  2004-10-01
eireann.sg - 29 November 2012 04:49 AM

Bryce doesnt allow you to do any modelling unless you talk about trees and terrains

This is absolutely untrue. Look at the models by Alan Armstrong, a very gifted Bryce modeler. Or PiXi, here’s an example: http://www.bryce5.com/details.php?image_id=4347 Bryce is an excellent modeler if you’ve got the hang of booleans.

 

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 05:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 716 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3837
Joined  2004-10-01
chohole - 29 November 2012 05:18 AM

I agree with Mark I have posted this before, but I built all the buildings in this image in Bryce, and also the hand cart.  Not the jaunting cart or Stagecoach though.

At first, I thought I’ve seen this one already, but that’s not the case. It’s your style that made me think so. Very nice render, indeed.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 06:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 717 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17119
Joined  2003-10-09
Horo - 29 November 2012 05:48 AM
chohole - 29 November 2012 05:18 AM

I agree with Mark I have posted this before, but I built all the buildings in this image in Bryce, and also the hand cart.  Not the jaunting cart or Stagecoach though.

At first, I thought I’ve seen this one already, but that’s not the case. It’s your style that made me think so. Very nice render, indeed.


Actually I have posted an image with the village before.  I have used the village a couple of times for different renders.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 06:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 718 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2012-10-14
Horo - 29 November 2012 05:46 AM
eireann.sg - 29 November 2012 04:49 AM

Bryce doesnt allow you to do any modelling unless you talk about trees and terrains

This is absolutely untrue. Look at the models by Alan Armstrong, a very gifted Bryce modeler. Or PiXi, here’s an example: http://www.bryce5.com/details.php?image_id=4347 Bryce is an excellent modeler if you’ve got the hang of booleans.

 

I see what you mean,
but you still end up with enormous shapes that cant be put on the ground because the function follows the bounding box and because the resulting mesh can be complicate the renders can take very long.
Here a shape I made of 7 spheres, and put it on the ground.

Image Attachments
bloop_004.jpgbloop_005.jpgbloop_006.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 07:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 719 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17119
Joined  2003-10-09

You would probably hate to see the wire frame of my village, but you can see that I have everything on the ground, not floating.

It may not be quite as intuitive as modelling programs are to some people, but I personally love modelling with booleans within Bryce,

I have been known to say that it is not true modelling per se, more like using building blocks, with the advantage of having subtractive building blocks as well as additive ones.

But it is fun, some of us love using booleam operations, and some (ie like the Person Horo linked to) have created some masterpieces.

Horses for courses.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 07:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 720 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1334
Joined  2006-08-19
chohole - 29 November 2012 07:18 AM

You would probably hate to see the wire frame of my village, but you can see that I have everything on the ground, not floating.

It may not be quite as intuitive as modelling programs are to some people, but I personally love modelling with booleans within Bryce,

I have been known to say that it is not true modelling per se, more like using building blocks, with the advantage of having subtractive building blocks as well as additive ones.

But it is fun, some of us love using booleam operations, and some (ie like the Person Horo linked to) have created some masterpieces.

Horses for courses.

Booleans the Lego Bricks of the 3D modeling world,

on a side note, Metaballs still take forever to render when you have a few of them in a scene

 Signature 

http://rarethdigitalmusings.blogspot.com/

http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/35801

Profile
 
 
   
48 of 100
48