Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 4
4
pwCatch tutorial?
Posted: 08 November 2012 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5480
Joined  2006-02-20

Maybe delete all lights, add a new one and make sure it throws shadows.
If you have too many lights, it is quite possible that the other lights are bleaching the shadow.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 10:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1280
Joined  2010-03-15
Kerya - 08 November 2012 03:22 AM

Because it works without problems for many people?
You never know where things are hiccupping ...


That’s why I am thinking it must be something I am doing wrong. Or maybe something is wrong in Daz.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 10:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1280
Joined  2010-03-15
Kerya - 08 November 2012 06:40 AM

Maybe delete all lights, add a new one and make sure it throws shadows.
If you have too many lights, it is quite possible that the other lights are bleaching the shadow.


I did that, too. The shadows are showing up. It’s the plane or the background that isn’t.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 10:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1280
Joined  2010-03-15
scorpio64dragon - 08 November 2012 06:01 AM

AidanaWillowRaven have you tried starting with a new scene and just using a simple prop and ground plane a couple of lights not too bright and seeing if you get shadows then.
Make sure you are applying the correct version for the version of DS you are using.


I did that, too. This is my third time building this scene.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 04:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1280
Joined  2010-03-15

Finally!

The catch was not the problem at all. It was the pic I was using, although for the life of me, I can’t figure out why because the original photograph does render. It’s just the altered version of the photo that doesn’t. Why, I have no idea. No settings were changed, no colors, nothing but imposing a heart onto the sand was done and re-saved as a jpeg. For some reason, it refuses to render any color but white or grey.

Now that I figured this out, I went back to the original pic for the background and I will add what I want to the sand in post. What really matters is that the shadows of the figure are casting over the sand so it looks real. I don’t know what I’d have done if the shadows had to cast over the imposed heart as well, which is why I altered the image to begin with, just in case it might have to.

Now, can ANYBODY explain to me why one jpeg would render and not another with no settings whatsoever altered? I do not want to repeat this stress again ... lol.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 12:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5480
Joined  2006-02-20

First: hoooray! smile

Second: I am guessing, but you did you save as jpeg? did you try renaming to jpg? Hazy memories ...

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 12:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1280
Joined  2010-03-15
Kerya - 09 November 2012 12:28 AM

First: hoooray! smile

Second: I am guessing, but you did you save as jpeg? did you try renaming to jpg? Hazy memories ...


Thanks :D

Yes. The original photo was a jpeg. All I did was crop to the size I wanted and overlay a heart from another image into the sand. I then merged the two layers and saved as a fresh jpeg, by a new name.


No matter what I do, the new, modified jpeg refuses to render as anything other than a blank white or grey plane.

Yet the two original pics that were used to create the modified pic both render fine.

I know the immediate crisis is over since I can add the heart post render. But it only works in this case because in this particular scene, the shadows do not need to fall over the heart. I just want to figure why I am having this odd problem with a regular ol’ jpeg so I can avoid this stress next time.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 01:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3083
Joined  2007-06-22

Jpeg or jpg?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 04:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1280
Joined  2010-03-15
scorpio64dragon - 09 November 2012 01:02 AM

Jpeg or jpg?


JPEG

It’s the only version my PS CS5 creates. What I don’t get, is I alter jpegs all of the time for daz when I tweak textures. Plus, all of the other jpegs I’ve made and used in the past never have a problem rendering. It’s just this modified pic. I’m stumped.

Also, just as an experiment, it wouldn’t open in filter forge, either. First time for that, too.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 4
4