Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 4
3
pwCatch tutorial?
Posted: 07 November 2012 04:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  201
Joined  2006-03-02

Someone did a tutorial on how to do a shadow catch shader using shader mixer.  I used that tutorial and made my own shadow-catcher shader that I apply to a plane primitive when I want ground shadows. It works for me—simple to apply to any surface, and you can adjust shadow intensity.

Here it is, from carnite on youtube.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 05:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1321
Joined  2010-03-15

Thanks. I’ll check it out.

I just have issues with the products I’m buying not working. Call me a rebel ...

Although, I have a really dumb question ... why can’t I just avoid the catch altogether and render right on the plane?

It’s a top view image, looking straight down at the sand, over the figures shoulder, as if we, the viewer were standing above her.

I tried, but the shadows cast on a white plane, rather than the image on the plane. Why?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 05:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1321
Joined  2010-03-15

Wait, is it because I am using several lights vs one light? Or because I am using raytraced lights?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 08:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1321
Joined  2010-03-15
fivecat - 07 November 2012 04:33 PM

Someone did a tutorial on how to do a shadow catch shader using shader mixer.  I used that tutorial and made my own shadow-catcher shader that I apply to a plane primitive when I want ground shadows. It works for me—simple to apply to any surface, and you can adjust shadow intensity.

Here it is, from carnite on youtube.


I love Carnite’s videos, but in this instance, I am following her step-by-step, and I am not getting her result. My plane is rendering white. The shadows are there, but so is my white plane, which should be transparent. The same problem I am having with pwCatch.

Do ya’ll think I need to re-install daz?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 09:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Carnite’s instructions are for Poser, not DAZ

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 09:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1321
Joined  2010-03-15
frodi - 07 November 2012 09:22 PM

Carnite’s instructions are for Poser, not DAZ


No, it’s Daz. http://youtu.be/qo2OVy9tf8E


DS3Advanced, same as mine.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 09:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Oh, that’s a different one. lol.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 09:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1321
Joined  2010-03-15
frodi - 07 November 2012 09:31 PM

Oh, that’s a different one. lol.

That’s why I’m so perplexed. I can’t get pwCatch to work nor the shader mixer route Carnite explains. I don’t know what to do. I have to get this commission in and nothing is working.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 09:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

That is so frustrating, I am afraid that if I cannot get the shadows right, I use either photoshop or corel paint. Not very satisfactory though. I am not good with shadows, that is why I bought pwCatch, and even that won’t work. It should, we paid for it!!!!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 09:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1321
Joined  2010-03-15
frodi - 07 November 2012 09:46 PM

That is so frustrating, I am afraid that if I cannot get the shadows right, I use either photoshop or corel paint. Not very satisfactory though. I am not good with shadows, that is why I bought pwCatch, and even that won’t work. It should, we paid for it!!!!!


Exactly. I bought it during a sale some time ago. I just never needed it until now. Now I need it, it won’t work, and it’s too late for a refund, witch I don’t want anyway, because I want it to work.


But that still doesn’t help me figure out why it doesn’t work through the shader mixer, either.

Nor does it explain why, when I simply put the background image under my character and render from above, why it’s coming out white. Is it me or daz?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 11:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Usually backgrounds don’t show shadows. If you use a prop it should, but image backgrounds don’t.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 12:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1321
Joined  2010-03-15
frodi - 07 November 2012 11:58 PM

Usually backgrounds don’t show shadows. If you use a prop it should, but image backgrounds don’t.


Lol ... I know that. I am saying, I first tried casting the shadow on a plane with my background photo on it. It’s an areal view, so it should have worked. But instead, it renders white with the shadows in place.

So I put the background image in the actual background, and used a plane just as a surface for the catch. That renders yellow with shadows.

And most recently, I used Carnite’s tut, but that renders white with shadows, too.

I am pulling my hair out.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 02:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

How come that we buy a product that is supposed to make life easier, causes so much grief??!!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 03:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5713
Joined  2006-02-20

Because it works without problems for many people?
You never know where things are hiccupping ...

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 06:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3166
Joined  2007-06-22

AidanaWillowRaven have you tried starting with a new scene and just using a simple prop and ground plane a couple of lights not too bright and seeing if you get shadows then.
Make sure you are applying the correct version for the version of DS you are using.

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 4
3