Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 4
2
pwCatch tutorial?
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1503
Joined  2010-03-15
Kerya - 05 November 2012 01:27 AM

Sorry - I am a bit dense this morning ... could you show a screenshot of what you are doing?


Being a commissioned work for a book, I can’t show the images publicly, yet. If email is ok with you, I can show you via email, maybe? If you are not comfortable with that, that’s ok, too. :D

If it is ok, my email is .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6572
Joined  2006-02-20

OK, I will try to find the solution without pictures ...

Deleting the plane should work to get rid of it ... you really selected the plane in the scene tab and hit delete?
Just load another plane when you feel you want it back and apply pwCatch again.

You said you loaded another plane as ground plane, that one will be grey too.
There is a load of ground textures by Bo Hammarberg:
http://www.sharecg.com/v/65606/browse/11/Poser/5-Poser-Real-Ground-materials-20
(commercial renders ok)

 

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 02:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1503
Joined  2010-03-15
Kerya - 05 November 2012 01:49 AM

OK, I will try to find the solution without pictures ...

Deleting the plane should work to get rid of it ... you really selected the plane in the scene tab and hit delete?
Just load another plane when you feel you want it back and apply pwCatch again.

You said you loaded another plane as ground plane, that one will be grey too.
There is a load of ground textures by Bo Hammarberg:
http://www.sharecg.com/v/65606/browse/11/Poser/5-Poser-Real-Ground-materials-20
(commercial renders ok)

 


I’m probably trying to use it wrong. I have a background image that is a view of the shore at one’s feet. A close-up. I then have a figure loaded, do it up in character and clothes, switch to top view then tried to use catch on a blank plain to grab the shadows.

When I couldn’t get it not to render yellow, I thought ‘duh’, I’ll just load the background image onto the plane itself, size accordingly, then render straight on the image from the top view. Skip catch all together. But it coming in grey instead of the photo of the background.

At first I thought it was because the catch settings did not reverse when the catch plane was deleted, so I started completely fresh, new scene entirely.

Same result. Can I not render from the top view?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 03:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6572
Joined  2006-02-20

I never tried to render through the other cameras.
Try this: use Top view, Create new camera and select more options, select “copy current settings”, change to the new camera and render through that one.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 05:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  207
Joined  2006-09-14
AidanaWillowRaven - 14 October 2012 02:36 PM

I bought pwCatch some time ago, but never had need of it until now. Is these a tutorial out these somewhere that explains how to use it. I’m not sure what each of the options actually do ... lol

Using DS3 :D

Thanks

Does it still work?

 Signature 

My life and times: http://bryonlape.com/
My Deviant: http://brainmuffin.deviantart.com/gallery/
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/21458942@N08/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpSQTqyGGpYN1gsqxxQ2kcQ

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6572
Joined  2006-02-20
ropeman - 05 November 2012 05:04 AM
AidanaWillowRaven - 14 October 2012 02:36 PM

I bought pwCatch some time ago, but never had need of it until now. Is these a tutorial out these somewhere that explains how to use it. I’m not sure what each of the options actually do ... lol

Using DS3 :D

Thanks

Does it still work?

It works in DS2, 3, 4 and 4.5 ...
If you bought it, you should reset your downloads.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 09:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1503
Joined  2010-03-15
Kerya - 05 November 2012 03:12 AM

I never tried to render through the other cameras.
Try this: use Top view, Create new camera and select more options, select “copy current settings”, change to the new camera and render through that one.

I am getting frustrated ... I am not even using the catch now, and it is still giving me a grey ground in render, but in my scene, it’s the sand ..

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 04:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1503
Joined  2010-03-15

OK ... I reset pwCatch ... hoping that was the issue. I still can’t get it to do what I need it to do.

If I select the first catch option, it turns the plane white, then when I select the last option under resources, it turns it yellow, which I am told it’s supposed to do. When I render, though, it captures the shadows on a yellow plane, not a clear one, meaning I can’t see my background. What am I doing wrong? It seems like a no-brainer, like any other shader, but I can’t make it work.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 07:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  179
Joined  2006-09-05

I also have pw/catch, I have never been able to use it. I follow the tutorial step by step, but the planes which turn red and yellow, render in those colours.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 07:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1503
Joined  2010-03-15
frodi - 06 November 2012 07:17 PM

I also have pw/catch, I have never been able to use it. I follow the tutorial step by step, but the planes which turn red and yellow, render in those colours.

That’s what’s happening to me ... yet I’ve had people say it looks colored in daz then renders clear ... but I can’t figure what I may be doing wrong.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 09:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  179
Joined  2006-09-05

It is so disappointing, when I bought it I thought that it would be a very useful item, but it has never worked for me. The tutorial is very precise and easy to follow, there is only one thing wrong with it, it doesn’t work!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 01:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1503
Joined  2010-03-15

Please, please, please, someone help me figure the catch out. I don’t want to pay the client back her money ... lol. I need it for my oral surgery ... lol.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 02:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3421
Joined  2007-06-22

I’ve had PWCatch for ages and never been able to figure it out, never tried too hard either, I followed Jakiblue’s (thankyou) instructions on the previous page and it works for me, I tried a render with a plane curved using a Dformer from above and it works, the plane is rendering invisible for me.
My method.
Create>New Primitive>plane
Select plane in both surfaces and scene tab.
Apply first solo icon in PWCatch
Apply last icon in PWCatch presets.

DS 4.5.0.137

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 02:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1503
Joined  2010-03-15

I am installing it for a fourth time, because I know I am following Jakiblue’s instructions.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 04:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1503
Joined  2010-03-15

I have reset it, re-installed it three times, and I still can’t get the plane to render clear. It either renders white or yellow ... but the shadows are there ... lol

Help :(

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 4
2