Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 4
1
pwCatch tutorial?
Posted: 14 October 2012 02:36 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15

I bought pwCatch some time ago, but never had need of it until now. Is these a tutorial out these somewhere that explains how to use it. I’m not sure what each of the options actually do ... lol

Using DS3 :D

Thanks

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 03:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2865
Joined  2004-04-14

Here:

http://poseworks.com/shaders/pwcatch/

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
Mattymanx - 14 October 2012 03:05 PM

Here:

http://poseworks.com/shaders/pwcatch/

Thanks, although, I must be doing something wrong ... lol.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 03:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1452
Joined  2006-09-09

i’;ve had it for ages, and used it extensively wiht no problems, then didn’t use it for a while and completely forgot what to do. LOL.

I find the poseworks tutorial a bit confusing tho, have to admit.

I can get it to work in DS 4.0 with no problems, but can’t in 4.5

Did you just want it to catch shadows for you?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 03:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
jakiblue - 15 October 2012 03:53 AM

i’;ve had it for ages, and used it extensively wiht no problems, then didn’t use it for a while and completely forgot what to do. LOL.

I find the poseworks tutorial a bit confusing tho, have to admit.

I can get it to work in DS 4.0 with no problems, but can’t in 4.5

Did you just want it to catch shadows for you?

I’m using DS3. I want to be able to build a scene over a 2D background and have the shadows appear natural. But treating it like any other shader didn’t work. It turned my pops weird colors. And yeah, the tut is confusing… lol.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 04:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1452
Joined  2006-09-09

ah yes, that’s the only reason i use it - to put shadows under a character when I"m using a 2d background so i don’t have to try and do it in photoshop. I have NO idea what the other options do. LOL.

It’s supposed to turn the prop a weird colour - that tells you it’s working.

What I do:

put a plane under the character
select the plane and dbl click the “pwCatch” icon that is in the initial folder, the “pwCatch_DS3” one (if you’re using DS3)
then i go to the “pwCatch resources” folder and dbl click the very last one, the “catch shadows” one (still selecting the plane”)
and so long as your lights do have shadows in them, it should work.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 04:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
jakiblue - 15 October 2012 04:04 AM

ah yes, that’s the only reason i use it - to put shadows under a character when I"m using a 2d background so i don’t have to try and do it in photoshop. I have NO idea what the other options do. LOL.

It’s supposed to turn the prop a weird colour - that tells you it’s working.

What I do:

put a plane under the character
select the plane and dbl click the “pwCatch” icon that is in the initial folder, the “pwCatch_DS3” one (if you’re using DS3)
then i go to the “pwCatch resources” folder and dbl click the very last one, the “catch shadows” one (still selecting the plane”)
and so long as your lights do have shadows in them, it should work.

Ahhh, I was missing the first step, the plane under the loaded elements. So I take it the shadows show up and the rest shows clear in render? So it doesn’t matter what color the plain is. Right? What if the 2D image has varying planes, like a fence line that a shadow has to interact with, or boulders, trees, or moving water?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 04:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1452
Joined  2006-09-09

hmmm ok you’ve got me there. I have no idea. I just need shadows under a character’s feet, to look like they are standing in the background. As in, if the background has rocks on teh ground, need her shadow to fall along the rocks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 05:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
jakiblue - 15 October 2012 04:42 AM

hmmm ok you’ve got me there. I have no idea. I just need shadows under a character’s feet, to look like they are standing in the background. As in, if the background has rocks on teh ground, need her shadow to fall along the rocks.

Well, what if the shadow casts over the 2D ‘ledge’ she is standing on? Do yo alter or shift the cast-over in PS?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 12:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15

OK, I have a plane under my character, I have selected the plane in both the scene as well as the surface tab. I double click the final option under the catch app. The plane proceeds to turn yellow. I try to render, and the shadows do occur, but the yellow plane shows as well. What am I doing wrong?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 03:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1452
Joined  2006-09-09

I lost the thread, sorry!!

Which version of DS are you using? I’m using 4.5.1.6 and the same thing happens to me now. :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 07:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5890
Joined  2006-02-20

It works for me (DS 4.5.1.6). When applied the plane is going yellow - when rendered, it is invisible.

Ledges and so on: use a DForm on the plane.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
jakiblue - 04 November 2012 03:13 AM

I lost the thread, sorry!!

Which version of DS are you using? I’m using 4.5.1.6 and the same thing happens to me now. :(


I’m using DS3. I was told it’s supposed to turn yellow in Daz, but render clear. Right?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 11:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
Kerya - 04 November 2012 07:12 AM

It works for me (DS 4.5.1.6). When applied the plane is going yellow - when rendered, it is invisible.

Ledges and so on: use a DForm on the plane.

I was wondering about ledges or rocks n stuff. Thanks for the tip.

If I want to remove the catch, and try something else, how do I reverse it? I tried just deleting the plane I applied it to, but that doesn’t seem to work. It just renders grey, then and blocks the floor plane I put under the figure since I couldn’t get the catch to work.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 12:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15

I’m still having trouble. Maybe it’s because I am trying to do a top view render? I can see the shadows being cast, but no ‘floor’. I even tried it without the catch, and am getting a similar effect, only greying the image vs yellowing.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 01:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5890
Joined  2006-02-20

Sorry - I am a bit dense this morning ... could you show a screenshot of what you are doing?

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 4
1