Can we PLEASE get an updated Powerpose for Genesis (and 2) now? *NEEDS UPDATING FOR G3F*

SnowSultanSnowSultan Posts: 1,205
edited June 24 in The Commons

UPDATE: Unofficial PowerPose fix is in final testing. Download it here (includes readme):

http://www.snowsultan.com/free/powerpose_update.zip


Please read the readme and back up your PowerPose plugin folder before installing (readme tells you how)


--------------------------------------------
original message from 2012
--------------------------------------------
I still don't know why after a few direct requests besides my own, a filed feature request to the bug tracker, and what, a year since it's release, but DAZ Studio still uses the Gen 4 Powerpose template for posing Genesis, and it's not good enough because Genesis has two Abdomen regions. If you would also like to see this tool updated, please post here and maybe eventually someone will pay attention. :)

Thanks,


SnowS

-------------------------------------------------------
SOLVED - Thanks to Adzan and Blackfeather1973, we now have a new Genesis template for Powerpose.

Here is Blackfeather's fix and important information: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/9650/P30/#137553

Post edited by SnowSultan on
«1345678

Comments

  • FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 1,264
    edited December 1969

    What is Powerpose i just did a search and nothing showed up. I don't have any issues posing genesis, but I am always interested in anything that might help my work flow.

  • adzanadzan Posts: 209
    edited October 2012

    There seems to be a Genesis powerpose template loading in the version of studio i'm using version 4.5.1.6
    I even checked the program directory and it's just called 'gen' or is that for generation 3 ? because it only has one abdomen ?


    Does the translation widget ball have the same function as the body buttons in Powerpose, I don't use it for the face or arms but it has similar feedback to powerpose when used on the body

    Post edited by adzan on
  • SnowSultanSnowSultan Posts: 1,205
    edited December 1969

    FSMC: Powerpose is the tab that has an outline of a human figure with little dots on it. You can click on a dot and depending on how you move and with which mouse button you use, you can pose the figure's limbs and body.

    Azdan: Yes, a template does load in Studio 4.5, but it's for the Generation 4 figures (because as you said, it only has one Abdomen section). This may not seem like a big issue at first, but unless you can move the "Abdomen" body part (the Powerpose dot moves "Abdomen2" on Genesis), the figure can't bend over as far as it can if you use the dials.

    The translation widget ball, if I'm understanding you correctly, has the red, green, and blue lines that you can move left and right (if you can click on that tiny little tab)? That's basically a visual version of the dials themselves, and I don't find it all that convenient to use.

  • adzanadzan Posts: 209
    edited October 2012

    Ah ok

    I'm wondering if the template has not been made because Genesis doesn't have any geometry, I think a new template would need to call the object file but genesis doesn't have one.


    There is a way around it, if you are confident to edit a file you can add the extra abdomen2, it won't affect other figures, they'll just ignore it.


    Go to the main Daz Studio folder then open the plugins folder then the PowerPose folder

    then open the file called genBody.dsx in a text editor - save a copy before editing.

    and paste the bone data text listed bellow - put it after the last but before the last line



    100
    106
    Abdomen 2
    --None--
    yrot
    pos
    xrot
    pos
    zrot
    neg


    then find the original Abdomen entry and change the x and y positions as show bellow

    100
    120

    then save the file

    Post edited by adzan on
  • SnowSultanSnowSultan Posts: 1,205
    edited December 1969

    That will actually add a working dot for the Abdomen on the diagram? Wow, thank you very much, I will give it a try tonight.

  • adzanadzan Posts: 209
    edited October 2012

    it adds the 2nd abdomen to the generic template, the image shows the two abdomen manipulation dots.

    If you run into problems just shout and I can upload a text file with the changes already made

    genesis-ab2.jpg
    438 x 504 - 36K
    Post edited by adzan on
  • SnowSultanSnowSultan Posts: 1,205
    edited October 2012

    It would be great if you could upload an edited version if you could for those who are afraid to edit it themselves. I haven't had a chance to do it yet, but will shortly. Much appreciated!

    edit: I can't get it to work, probably because of the word processor(s) that I'm using. If you could upload a fixed one, that would be great. :)

    Post edited by SnowSultan on
  • scorpioscorpio Posts: 3,838
    edited December 1969

    The Powerpose for Genesis is also missing the pelvis and the toes - the toe dot selects the big toe of Genesis instead of the Toes.
    I'd love to see an updaed one.

  • SnowSultanSnowSultan Posts: 1,205
    edited December 1969

    The Powerpose for Genesis is also missing the pelvis and the toes - the toe dot selects the big toe of Genesis instead of the Toes.

    Ah that's right! Adzan, do you think you could fix that too if you have time? Thanks again for your help with this issue so far.

  • anikadanikad Posts: 1,860
    edited December 1969

    Ooh I did not know this existed, how do you load it? Thanks.

  • adzanadzan Posts: 209
    edited October 2012

    I added the pelvis

    but i couldn't find a way of adding the extra toes or the pectorals with out causing instability, so I left them out. sorry

    editited

    genesis-PAB-2.jpg
    424 x 486 - 24K
    Post edited by adzan on
  • Hiro ProtagonistHiro Protagonist Posts: 321
    edited October 2012

    adzan said:
    I added the pelvis

    but i couldn't find a way of adding the extra toes or the pectorals with out causing instability, so I left them out. sorry


    Here's the link to the updated template, if it's still of use

    http://www.zipupload.org/5F2


    please make a copy of your original file genBody.dzx before making any changes

    place the file from the zip into the main daz studio directory under \plugins\PowerPose , it will ask to overwrite the original file - so make sure you have a copy!

    you will also want to keep a copy of the new file >> as it will be overwritten when daz updates studio, unless someone can convince daz to add the extras.. well daz are much cleverer than me so they could add the changes in half the time it took me


    Thanks Adzan, that worked a treat. It will also get me using PowerPose again, as I'd forgotten about it! As for the toes and pecs, it's a shame, but adding Abdomen2 is still worth while.

    (For anyone else who want to do it, the file is in the Program Files folders, by the way, not in My Library/Runtime.)

    Post edited by Hiro Protagonist on
  • adzanadzan Posts: 209
    edited October 2012

    I seem to recall that a daz member used to make PowerPose templates for some of the cartoon creatures and animals,
    but i can't remember the members name, was it daydream, dreamful, something dream.
    I wonder if they're still about because i'm sure they could do a better job than me

    Post edited by adzan on
  • Fixme12Fixme12 Posts: 353
    edited October 2012

    Powerpose is one of the most useful tools inside studio and on of the reasons why i dislike poser so hard!

    FIX please,

    Post edited by Fixme12 on
  • Fixme12Fixme12 Posts: 353
    edited December 1969

    adzan said:
    I seem to recall that a daz member used to make PowerPose templates for some of the cartoon creatures and animals,
    but i can't remember the members name, was it daydream, dreamful, something dream.
    I wonder if they're still about because i'm sure they could do a better job than me

    are you sure you did not mean the pantomime plugin?

  • Fixme12Fixme12 Posts: 353
    edited October 2012

    The Powerpose for Genesis is also missing the pelvis and the toes - the toe dot selects the big toe of Genesis instead of the Toes.

    Ah that's right! Adzan, do you think you could fix that too if you have time? Thanks again for your help with this issue so far.

    created a bug report about this, to be sure it get's fixed.
    you find it here.
    https://bugs.daz3d.com/view.php?id=48149

    Post edited by Fixme12 on
  • PDSmithPDSmith Posts: 523
    edited October 2012

    I'm in firm agreement, as a 3D comic artist, I use the Powerpose all the time and find it frustrating to have one feature so far outdated compared to the rest of the D|S package.

    DAZ...please update this feature.

    This feature in my opinion and those I have taught how to use D|S have found Powerpose to be a goldmine of efficiency.

    Please update!


    I made this entry some time ago with no follow up or entry.
    http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/6816/


    -Paul

    Post edited by PDSmith on
  • SnowSultanSnowSultan Posts: 1,205
    edited October 2012

    Thank you Adzan for the updated file and good work. :) I filed a bug report a long time ago too and nothing ever came of it. Glad to see that others want this fixed too.


    Oh, I will also be happy to host this file if you don't want to use that filesharing service. I think the file is deleted after 30 days, so just let me know. Hopefully DAZ will have fixed it by then anyway. ;)


    Annikad: I have completely customized my menus and workspace so I don't know if this is still the way, but I choose Tabs -> Powerpose and it should appear. Load Genesis (or the Gen 4 figures), click on a dot and drag to move a body part.

    Post edited by SnowSultan on
  • shadowhawk1shadowhawk1 Posts: 906
    edited December 1969

    I figured that I would pop in and drop my nickel's worth of thought on this. As a dedicated Poser user and having only used DS to work on content creation, Paul has been trying to teach me how to actually use DS as a means of creating images instead of just using it as part of my workflow when making content. I found Powerpose to be extremely user friendly and easier to use than what I am used to doing in Poser. I did however see some interesting issues with it, such as there being a way to control the large toe but not the rest of the toes of the foot. I also feel that there should be some additional pins in the midsection to make the bending there seem more natural. Please don't take this a me saying one program is better than the other, I like both for different reasons and having started out in Poser it is just easier for me to work with. I wish Poser had something like this that made posing a character as painless as Powerpose dose in DS! I would love to see an update to this plugin, it would go a long way to helping people build native poses instead of having to either rely on a modified canned pose or dealing with the added frustration of fighting with dials and sliders to make their own.

  • adzanadzan Posts: 209
    edited December 1969

    hi SnowSultan you're welcome to host the file.

    i hope daz does at least provide a Genesis Powerpose update for you all.

  • adzanadzan Posts: 209
    edited December 1969

    fixme12 said:
    adzan said:
    I seem to recall that a daz member used to make PowerPose templates for some of the cartoon creatures and animals,
    but i can't remember the members name, was it daydream, dreamful, something dream.
    I wonder if they're still about because i'm sure they could do a better job than me

    are you sure you did not mean the pantomime plugin?


    umm, dunno. lol

    I think it was Powerpose? I'm sure I remember seeing template add-ons for the 3d Universe mouse and some other figures because they where well done and cute. but it would have been a few years ago around 2007/8 ish.
    but i don't use Studio hardly at all so i could be wrong lol

  • Fixme12Fixme12 Posts: 353
    edited December 1969

    adzan said:
    fixme12 said:
    adzan said:
    I seem to recall that a daz member used to make PowerPose templates for some of the cartoon creatures and animals,
    but i can't remember the members name, was it daydream, dreamful, something dream.
    I wonder if they're still about because i'm sure they could do a better job than me

    are you sure you did not mean the pantomime plugin?


    umm, dunno. lol

    I think it was Powerpose? I'm sure I remember seeing template add-ons for the 3d Universe mouse and some other figures because they where well done and cute. but it would have been a few years ago around 2007/8 ish.
    but i don't use Studio hardly at all so i could be wrong lol

    yeah it's a while ago, 'm also not sure anymore. :lol:
    i was only sure, i loved the pantomime plugin in ds1.8

  • SnowSultanSnowSultan Posts: 1,205
    edited December 1969

    Fixme, yes I'm pretty sure Pantomime was similar to Powerpose and I also seem to remember there being templates for other figures. It's obviously possible to make your own, that's probably what the "template" code in the Powerpose directory is for (knowing HOW to do it properly is the hard part). ;)


    Adzan, do you know if we could add the EyesUp-Down and EyesLeft-Right morphforms to the Head and have a dot to control those dials too? I think the Generation 4 template has those dials. Again, my thanks for your improvements to the Genesis one so far, I just tried using it and it was so much easier to pose the figure than before.


    Here's a little unexpected 'feature' I just noticed: if you use Powerpose to pose the eyes, the lids do not move with them. Great for making toon figures look down without having their eyelids partially close like they do for realistic figures.

  • RomancefantasyRomancefantasy Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    I remember dreamful's addons but haven't seen any posts from him in a long time. Here is a link to his site, you may be able to contact him.
    http://www.dreamful.it/3d_forum/index.asp

  • adzanadzan Posts: 209
    edited December 1969

    I remember dreamful's addons but haven't seen any posts from him in a long time. Here is a link to his site, you may be able to contact him.
    http://www.dreamful.it/3d_forum/index.asp

    Yep that's the member, his templates that I remember, looks like he stopped making them last year, pity

    And dreamful reported the issue with a figure with a big toe not working correctly with the templates back in 2008,
    heck i don't feel so silly about not being able to make it work lol, wonder if it's still the same problem

  • adzanadzan Posts: 209
    edited October 2012

    Fixme, yes I'm pretty sure Pantomime was similar to Powerpose and I also seem to remember there being templates for other figures. It's obviously possible to make your own, that's probably what the "template" code in the Powerpose directory is for (knowing HOW to do it properly is the hard part). ;)


    Adzan, do you know if we could add the EyesUp-Down and EyesLeft-Right morphforms to the Head and have a dot to control those dials too? I think the Generation 4 template has those dials. Again, my thanks for your improvements to the Genesis one so far, I just tried using it and it was so much easier to pose the figure than before.


    Here's a little unexpected 'feature' I just noticed: if you use Powerpose to pose the eyes, the lids do not move with them. Great for making toon figures look down without having their eyelids partially close like they do for realistic figures.


    Hi SnowSultan, the eye up and down dot positions are still included with the templates, I loaded M4 and V4 but didn't have the extra eyes dots show up. Perhaps the DS 4.5 update has broken something

    Post edited by adzan on
  • Fixme12Fixme12 Posts: 353
    edited October 2012

    Powerpose can be a lot more as it is now.

    with some expansion to this, we can use this to visual build expressions without use the sliders from the parameters tab
    (where we only can read, openmouth, close eye,...)

    a visual way to build expressions sounds better and faster to do this.

    a request about such expansions for face control i made here
    https://bugs.daz3d.com/view.php?id=44475


    (example from iclone)

    facial_detail_interaction.jpg
    290 x 289 - 57K
    Post edited by Fixme12 on
  • BlackFeather1973BlackFeather1973 Posts: 739
    edited December 1969

    adzan said:
    I added the pelvis

    but i couldn't find a way of adding the extra toes or the pectorals with out causing instability, so I left them out. sorry


    Here's the link to the updated template, if it's still of use

    http://www.zipupload.org/5F2


    please make a copy of your original file genBody.dzx before making any changes

    place the file from the zip into the main daz studio directory under \plugins\PowerPose , it will ask to overwrite the original file - so make sure you have a copy!

    you will also want to keep a copy of the new file >> as it will be overwritten when daz updates studio, unless someone can convince daz to add the extras.. well daz are much cleverer than me so they could add the changes in half the time it took me

    Thanks, adzan ! Tried to figure it out on my own, that only resulted in Studio crashing.
    Your's works like a charm.

  • SnowSultanSnowSultan Posts: 1,205
    edited December 1969

    That's a very good idea Fixme, and very possible seeing how Morphforms like the eye movement morphs used to work in earlier versions of Studio. Having morphs like MouthOpen, EyesSquint, and others right on the head guide would be very handy.

  • BlackFeather1973BlackFeather1973 Posts: 739
    edited December 1969

    Got totally inspired by this thread, took a good look at the files in the PowerPose directory and decided to make a personal project of it.
    Not sure when it will be ready but i'll happily share the files here when i'm done.

    Here's what i've got so far :

    PimpedPowerPose.png
    618 x 540 - 144K
Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel