Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
ACKKKKK!! My Catagory dissappeared!! Help…. please ..... 
Posted: 14 October 2012 04:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9327
Joined  2007-11-06
carrie58 - 14 October 2012 09:29 AM

New question when I go to the database folder what should be in it?? I tried following Adam’s thingy and it didn’t do anything ....I think I’m fubar ......
Oh and where will userdata export to ?

There should be 5 files in the database folder, 4 starting with ContentDB and one Master.vdb

Userdata exports to Runtime:Support

After you’ve done whatever you can from Adam’s tutorial, I would suggest uninstalling CMS and then reinstalling DS.  When it asks about customizing the CMS installation say yes, and choose a different folder to install the CMS to.  If you were able to export Userdata, choose a different location for the databases, too; otherwise try keeping the same databases.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 04:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  759
Joined  2008-10-19

Well I did the uninstall of CMS and Studio ,had to do the import to get catagories back but for the moment it seems to be working

Oh and since you are here and answering questions umm I have 3 icons for Genesis ,2 are DSF and 1 is a DUF ,so the question is which one is the one I should have ......and could that be causeing the duplicate IDs??

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 08:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9327
Joined  2007-11-06
carrie58 - 14 October 2012 04:56 PM

Well I did the uninstall of CMS and Studio ,had to do the import to get catagories back but for the moment it seems to be working

Oh and since you are here and answering questions umm I have 3 icons for Genesis ,2 are DSF and 1 is a DUF ,so the question is which one is the one I should have ......and could that be causeing the duplicate IDs??

The .DUF is the newer version—it’s possible one of the other versions is the problem.  Can you go to Edit > Preferences > Content Library > Content Directory Manager, expand the DS and Poser formats, and post a screenshot?  Don’t delete the genesis.dsf files until we’ve made sure you aren’t seeing the Data folder entry, which is supposed to be .dsf.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 09:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  759
Joined  2008-10-19

Here’s the screen shot ........

Image Attachments
content_directory_manager.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 10:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9327
Joined  2007-11-06

That looks fine—not sure where the 2nd Genesis.dsf is located, but the .duf is the only one you need.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14
fixmypcmike - 14 October 2012 10:00 PM

That looks fine—not sure where the 2nd Genesis.dsf is located, but the .duf is the only one you need.

If the old content did not get uninstalled, then the Genesis.dsf is at People>Genesis on wherever your default genesis runtime is.  It’ll be right beside the Genesis.duf.

Image Attachments
201210150740_dup_genesis.png
 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 08:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  759
Joined  2008-10-19

So I can delete the DSF out??

Image Attachments
genesis.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 09:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  759
Joined  2008-10-19

And of course while poking around I found another question for either Mike or Adam ........ummm can either of you make sense of this or make it make sense to me??

Image Attachments
data_file_2.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 09:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  759
Joined  2008-10-19

and this is the other look

Image Attachments
data_file_3.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 07:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9327
Joined  2007-11-06

My guess is that it’s in two places so that people can use the updated Genesis Starter Essentials even if they’re still using DS 4.5.0.114—just a WAG, but they ARE both in the GSE 1.6, so it’s not just a question of not uninstalling the older version.

And yes, you can delete the Genesis.dsf that’s in the same folder as the Genesis.duf

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 08:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  759
Joined  2008-10-19

Thank you Mike ....... I have to say it’s very nice to have people like you and Adam to yell for help to ......thanks bunches

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 03:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  759
Joined  2008-10-19

Well I’m back again with another problem…..... once again I loaded a genesis figure ,put on the clothes ,hair ,morphed her to 50% Sadie,some Jasmin and some basic child .........then trying to adjust the camera,blink ....blink the studio literally blinks and the Universal manipulator is suddenly acting like the Universal pose control .....which is crazy enough but I go to edit and hit undo translate and the figure returns to the T pose ......
at that point I decieded to change her hair out so I go to the catagories   and they are empty again ......so I check in the My Library Folder ......it is also empty,the folders are there just nothing in them   again. Now this ain’t normal.
I have already deleted the CMS,and Studio,closed the computer, restarted the computer ,had to do a migrate catagories ,and everything seemed to be happy ....until I loaded a new Genesis ..........and the same thing happened again ........BUT the only thing that was happening that isn’t now ,so far CMS hasn’t shut down or quit working (yet).
Any thoughts on what I can try next or should I just resign myself to have to either keep remigrating my catagories ,or give up on haveing catagories ......

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2