Digital Art Zone

2 of 10
Carrara 9…DAZ, I’m begging you.
Posted: 17 October 2012 03:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  636
Joined  2009-12-08

Hi,

I’m not sure what I’m missing here but C8.5 pro works most of the time for me. The occasional bug re: object editing means I have to save regularly or risk wasted time.

I spend most of my time trying to simplify (to speed up rendering and load/save times) due to the large file sizes I tend to work with (many many replicated objects). So perhaps I don’t go into the dark corners of the clever stuff as much as some on this message board.

One positive note for C7 users holding on to that old version - C8 renders much quicker on anything complex. I would upgrade. As the blurb says in some cases twice as fast - I can testify to that.

I am an animator and I’m grateful for this speed increase. With any luck some more speed tweaks in C9 would make life easier still.

Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Posted: 18 October 2012 06:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2008-11-03
Muphasa - 13 October 2012 04:17 PM

So I downloaded some demos of of 3d packages and Cinema 4d has impressed me a lot for its easy of use. It reminds me of Carrara in many ways. Yes it is $3600.00
[..]
For me thought I probably will not wait for 8.5 to make up my mind, I really like C4D and it is a lot like Carrara in many respects and it is rock solid. When I get on to my computer to make whatever I have decided to learn that day I dont want to sit and fight the software. I just want it to work without the hassle. The biggest drawback is content. It would be nice to be able to use all the content I have inside C4D. I have heard of Interposer, I will see how that goes.

Hi Muphasa smile
FWIW, Cinema 4D costs about $5100 here in Norway, if that is any comfort to you..