Digital Art Zone

 
     
Maintenance before 4.5.1.6 ?
Posted: 12 October 2012 03:26 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2011-04-13

Hi folks, I have had some trouble with Daz for a while now.
I believe some of my files are mixed up and corupted.
Should I go for 4.5.1.6, ( I am currently using 4.5., I started with 4 pro, when it first came out.)
Should I do a maintenance as described in the forum, before the new version?
Or just install.
Also, I have noticed that my 32 bit XP gets fragmented very quickly,
Perhaps I should change my Render library to an external hard drive.(I make many renders at 9 mb a piece.)
Once I am over 7% fragged Daz gets very wierd, It will not render in 3Delight, it just crashes.
Defragging does help.
If a scene is corrupted will it disapear after maintenace?
I am in the middle of illustrating some stories, so I am touchy about losing characters.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 05:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06

Do you mean scenes are corrupted, or your CMS database?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 04:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15600
Joined  2003-10-09

It does sound as though you have too mauch data on your HD, if you are having trouble with fragmented files.

Defrag does not work well in XP if you haven’t enough clear space for XP to move files around to.

What percentage of your HD is free

Image Attachments
free_space.jpg
 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2012 03:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2011-04-13

Hi folks, sorry about the slow reply.
I do have lots of HD space.
The situation seems to come with large scenes, The Forest or Licorne in particular.
I really like the products yet they will only render in 1.
When i apply the fiery Genesis lights to them and adjust the scenes for render in 4, the message comes up———-PLEASE WAIT———
Dazexe has encountered a fatal error must shut down, or an insta crash, or an immediate render (Black) which seizes up the render engine.
I have tried reinstalling the ship and woods and have had no luck.
I am going install 4.5. o1 beta.
I am getting some of my best Daz renders of all time - with some of my scenes, yet It’s got me shy about putting anymore new content into the program.
.

Profile