File structure diagram

mikeklmikekl Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

I have wrestled with the correct file structure for DAZ for a long, long time now and I can't seem to get it right. Can someone just give me a diagram of what the file structure should look like?

I think the biggest confusion comes from this basic problem:

I have this branch:

Documents>DAZ 3D>content.....

And then I have this branch which starts the same but then goes off in a sub-direction:

Documents>Daz 3D>Studio>My Library.....

And also this branch, (another sub-branch within the same DAZ 3d folder:

Documents>Daz 3D>Studio3>content....

Help!

Comments

  • FixmypcmikeFixmypcmike Posts: 12,358
    edited December 1969

    Documents>Daz 3D>Studio>My Library…..
    is the default location for DS4

    Documents>Daz 3D>Studio3>content….
    is the default location for DS3

    Documents>Daz 3D>content….
    suggests that you installed something to "Daz 3D" instead of to one of the other two.

    Can you go to Edit > Preferences > Content Library > Content Directory Manager, expand the "DS Formats" and "Poser Formats", nd post a screenshot?

  • mikeklmikekl Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Here you go.

    Screen_Shot_2012-10-12_at_9.28_.52_AM_.png
    496 x 133 - 30K
  • mikeklmikekl Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    And here is what it looks like on my Mac. Should I just move/combine all of the CONTENT folders to:

    DAZ 3D>Studio>My Library>Content....

    And then get rid of the others?

    Screen_Shot_2012-10-12_at_9.35_.37_AM_.png
    294 x 478 - 45K
  • FixmypcmikeFixmypcmike Posts: 12,358
    edited December 1969

    The DAZ 3D\Content one needs to be merged with one of the others. For the other two it's up to you whether you want to keep them separate.

    Depending on what version of OSX you're using, you may have to merge each subfolder separately.

  • FixmypcmikeFixmypcmike Posts: 12,358
    edited December 1969

    The DAZ 3D\Content one needs to be merged with one of the others. For the other two it's up to you whether you want to keep them separate.

    Depending on what version of OSX you're using, you may have to merge each subfolder separately.

    ETA: is there a Studio3\content branch listed under Poser formats as well?

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel