Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Bryce 7 Pro
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2011-05-03

I’ve downloaded the free Bryce 7 Pro product and it will not work, despite having tried many different ways to get it to work. I’m using a late 2009 Mac Mini, OSX Lion, and can use Daz 4.5 Pro and Hexagon 2.5 without a problem. I know some time ago Bryce was having a problem with OSX but you are clearly indicating that there isn’t a problem with your download for Mac and using image material that shows Bryce working on an iMac.

Is there still a problem? Is there a solution to the problem? Many thanks, Tony.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2007-12-10

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news; Bryce 7 is not compatible with OSX Lion or above.

It does say so on the Daz site but it’s not obvious.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15278
Joined  2003-10-09

Agreed.  From the Tech Specs page

  Intel or Power PC Processor®
  700 MHz (1 GHz or faster recommended)
  OS X 10.4 or above (Not currently compatible with OS X 10.7 Lion)

And from the shop page

There are known issues running under Mac OSX Lion. We do not recommend using this platform for Bryce 7.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 08:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2011-05-03

Can you please explain why the issues you mentioned haven’t been resolved, OSX Lion is over a year old and all other Daz products don’t seem to have a problem with Lion. Thanks in advance.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 08:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2007-12-10

Yes, Daz don’t have any Bryce developers at the moment and the software isn’t in a development cycle.

There is at the moment no news as to when it will come back around, but we are assured that when it does, it is a priority.

Sorry can’t help any more than that.. I’m a Mac man too and am clinging onto the older computer and OS so I don’t have to give Bryce up.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 09:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15278
Joined  2003-10-09

The development cycle which included Bryce 7 pro came to an end before Mac introduced OSX Lion.  The Mac developer who had been working on Bryce 7 was on contract, and his contract ended a short time after the dev cycle ended.

Since then the dev cycle has been for Daz Studio and Carrara, so now they have to find another Mac develpoer who has knowledge of Bryce before anything further can be done.  We were told that if and when they find one that the Mac OSX problem will be right on hte forefront of any fixes looked into.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 10:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2011-05-03

Thanks Chohole. What I do find confusing is that, with the amount of experience Daz has in product development, in line with all software developers, is that the development cycle is an ongoing process, and that it’s likely in the case of software that each product cycle overlaps in that development. We all understand that software is a progressive endeavour, rather than having a specific timeline, unless there are specific reasons for doing so. If a product has come to its natural end, as in the case of Final Cut 7, then the software developer will abandon that product, as in the case of Apple when they brought to market, Final Cut Pro X.

Bryce is an excellent product, and has many users and supporters and a growing number of third party developers, something Daz would both continue to encourage and support, and use as a firm foundation for maximising its profitability. I understand that Bryce needs to have specialised skills and knowledge, yet wouldn’t a solution be to either reemploy the individual under a new contract, or use someone from within the Daz developer ecosystem, train them in the skills necessaery, and move on in getting Bryce back to where it should be, working wonderfully on the Apple OSX system. Apple have made it clear that they intent releasing a new OSX on an annual basis, which means that Bryce 7 is already 1.25 times behind the OSX platform.

I love working with Daz products for all the reasons that Daz can proudly claim. But what we have at the moment is a very large hole, which makes it impossible to bridge between Daz 4.5 and Bryce 7; this in turn cuts out a large part of the creative process and makes it virtually impossible to blend together the two, something which Daz says is possible.

I’m sorry for the length, but I, along with a multitude of others, are so frustrated that we can’t use a wonderful program because of a lack of the relevant source code.

Thanks for your patience. All the best, Tony.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15278
Joined  2003-10-09

What a lot of people don’t really realise is that DAZ 3D is really not a large company. It doesn’t have a large permanent dev team, as larger companies would have, hence why they sometimes need to employ extra specialist staff on fixed term contracts.

You can be assured that everyone posting in this forum totally agrees with you about needing to take Bryce forward.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3371
Joined  2004-10-01
chohole - 12 October 2012 11:28 AM

You can be assured that everyone posting in this forum totally agrees with you about needing to take Bryce forward.

Confirmed!

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 04:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  134
Joined  2003-10-09

It’s unfortunate that the “Pro” marketing moniker was applied to Bryce, without the appropriate professional support and development being available (including operation under current mainstream operating systems). “Bryce7 Adv” (as in advanced) or some such would have been a more appropriate title.

Bryce under cyclical DAZ stewardship is in a difficult place, but it’s probably a safe bet that it would be in a dead place otherwise. Putting my dusty optimist hat on, it’s worth noting that on previous occasions DAZ has been grumpily formal in announcing that things will happen miserably slowly in a predesignated order - and then there’s a sudden flurry of unexpected activity producing something special. So you never know.

One thing’s for sure, there’s a better chance of seeing Bryce7 working under OSX>10.6,  than seeing OSX>10.5 working on PowerPC based Macs. Just to put commercially ruthless development into perspective…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2007-04-23
chohole - 12 October 2012 09:38 AM

The development cycle which included Bryce 7 pro came to an end before Mac introduced OSX Lion.  The Mac developer who had been working on Bryce 7 was on contract, and his contract ended a short time after the dev cycle ended.

Since then the dev cycle has been for Daz Studio and Carrara, so now they have to find another Mac develpoer who has knowledge of Bryce before anything further can be done.  We were told that if and when they find one that the Mac OSX problem will be right on hte forefront of any fixes looked into.

That doesn’t make it any more frustrating that in the time since Lion came out, Daz hasn’t been able to find such a developer.

Most of Bryce, incidentally, *does* run under Lion. I’ve run it on a machine that had a working Bryce 7 installation under Snow Leopard, and it would open and render and do a lot of cool stuff - and then it would hit a dialogue and crash, so you can’t register it if you’re on a Lion-only Mac, and you can’t save anything.

My feeling - based on playing with Bryce under Lion -  is that we’re looking at a fairly limited bug. I’m finding it hard to believe that it would need a significant rewrite of the Bryce codebase to get it to work - and I would rather have a Bryce version with, say, the Materials lab disabled than no Bryce at all.

I miss Bryce :-(

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 02:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2003-10-09

Duplicate. Apologies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 02:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2003-10-09

I’ve worked with Bryce as tester and user for many years and have invested literally thousands of dollars into Bryce related products.  After updating to Lion ... On a new 64 bit MAC,  I can no longer work with Bryce.  I haven’t seen any warnings not to purchase either Bryce or Lion and find any mention of a ‘MAC’ version of the program disingenuous on DAZ’s part. Please don’t tell me there’s a hidden warning on the Bryce product page. The fact that it’s hidden or not obvious is actually outrageous.

I’m posting this morning because I was checking in yet again and thought after going to the product page that my old friend had been finally updated. Took a look in here to check it out and found this thread

Bryce was my mainstay.  I have resisted saying this but I feel hurt and consequently angry at DAZ’s blanket dismissal of customers like myself. And I can’t express how sad my loss of Bryce as my mainstay tool has been to me.

Thx for listening,
Barb

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 03:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2007-04-23

I feel for you. I, too, have a very extensive library of products and spent a considerable amount of $$$ at Daz.

I still pick up freebies, but I will not buy any more products until I can use them in Bryce. I had to replace my old computer because it was unreliable - now I have a new, fast, equipped-with-good-graphics-card computer, and I would adore to do 3D again. but nothing beats the ease of Bryce.

By now I have - which my bank balance likes - gotten out of the habit of buying from DAZ. Once Bryce is back - if it comes back - I will reaquaint myself with my library, and try out all the freebies I got in the meantime, and… yes, I guess that eventually I’ll buy models again, but dropping five dollars a week on this and that because of instant gratification is probably a thing of the past.

I wonder how many people are in a similar situation…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2007-12-10

Although I realise it sucks that Bryce doesn’t work on the new Macs and new OS, I have to say that I find it difficult to believe that people aren’t aware or don’t check compatibility before upgrading anything. I’ve been due a new Mac for a couple of years now but to me, Bryce is more important than Lion hence both my present Macs will remain in use running OS 10.5.8. I may still get a new one eventually too without waiting for Daz to update Bryce, but as Macs rarely ever die (I still have every single Mac I ever bought for the last 20 years and although they don’t get used, they all still work, meaning that if it was necessary, I could even get one out, set it up and run applications that were only ‘classic’ OS compatible), I will keep at least one that does run Bryce.

I know it’s not ideal, but second hand iMacs and eMacs in perfect working condition running compatible OS can be bought on eBay for peanuts (eMac G4’s for £10, iMac G4’s for only £50 and G5’s for £100) and Bryce7 Pro is free, so it’s really not expensive to keep Brycing.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 11:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3371
Joined  2004-10-01

@Barb - at least it’s nice to see you’re still around. Considering that Bryce was initially a Mac program, I think it is inexcusable that no serious effort is made to bring Bryce 7.1 to work on a new Mac.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1