Digital Art Zone

2 of 3
First render completed, need comments and advice (no brickbats, please, I’m a noob! :D)
Posted: 14 October 2012 03:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18

Hi…

The Portia hair is a “prop” hair, so what you need to do is to “Parent” it to V4’s head.

With V4 in the default pose, Right-Click on the Portia hair in the scene tab and select ‘Change Parent’ in the context menu. Then in the dialog window that opens find and click on the ‘Head’ then press Accept. The hair will now be parented to V4’s head and move with it.

Another way is to drag-and-drop the hair to the head of V4 in the scene tab.

The preset “Portia !V4” that you clicked on is to adjust the shape to fit V4’s head. Select the Portia hair and then double-click the preset to adjust the fit.

Normally when loading hair or clothing in Daz Studio, make sure that you have your figure selected in the scene first. That way clothing and hair will automatically parent or conform to the figure for you.

Hope this helps… smile

Posted: 14 October 2012 05:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  252
Joined  2012-10-05

It certainly did! Took a bit of trial and error, but I followed these steps:

1) Placed the hair on the figure;
2) Went to the Scene menu and did “Change Parent” as you instructed;
3) Ran the Portia V4 preset to fit the hair to the figure.

The attached files are the result. Now to save this (after adjusting the hair color and some details) as the base figure and move on to clothing. smile

Image Attachments
base_figure_with_portia_hair_properly_in_place.jpgbase_figure_with_portia_hair_properly_in_place_side_view.jpgbase_figure_with_portia_hair_properly_in_place_top_view.jpg

Posted: 14 October 2012 06:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
RankRank
Joined  2012-10-05