Digital Art Zone

 
   
13 of 20
13
DAZ Studio 4.5.1.6 is now available
Posted: 27 November 2012 10:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 181 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  306
Joined  2006-08-24

I have tried twice to down load 14812_ Genesis Starter Essentials1.6. It will not finish the download. Has anyone else had this problem? The version of DS4 I have now has been the most stable since I have been using Daz. Is this a sign that I should wait for the bugs to get worked out of this update?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 10:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 182 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17080
Joined  2003-10-09

Did you clear your browser cache between download attempts.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 10:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 183 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  306
Joined  2006-08-24

No. Do I need to?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 11:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 184 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17080
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, if you have a failed or uncompleted download in your cache, any subsequent download attempts will fail at around the same place.

So close your browser, clear your cache before trying again. If you don’t you will just get failed download after failed download.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 11:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 185 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  306
Joined  2006-08-24

Thanks, that seems to be working.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 11:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 186 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  306
Joined  2006-08-24

Well it started out like it was working then slowed to no speed. It looks like it has expired and I don’t see it in my Itemized Order History. Could there be a connection?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 187 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

Reset the whole DS 4.5 in your order history.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 12:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 188 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12551
Joined  2007-11-06

...so is this still a Beta or a full stable update release?

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 02:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 189 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

4.5.1.6 was the last stable release…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 10:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 190 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  811
Joined  2008-09-17
mjc1016 - 28 November 2012 02:01 AM

4.5.1.6 was the last stable release…

Supposedly “stable”.  DAZ3d has a habit of rushing out it’s flagship software 98% complete/fixed & has be doing that since at least version 2.

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 10:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 191 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13
BWSman - 28 November 2012 10:17 AM
mjc1016 - 28 November 2012 02:01 AM

4.5.1.6 was the last stable release…

Supposedly “stable”.  DAZ3d has a habit of rushing out it’s flagship software 98% complete/fixed & has be doing that since at least version 2.

Name one major software product, in the last ten years, that the ‘gold’/stable/actual release isn’t really a beta in disguise?

I"ve found more ‘usable’/less buggy ‘alpha releases’ in Linux software than some paid for Windows ‘final release version’ software…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 10:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 192 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2043
Joined  2011-07-31

Windows 8 has already had 2 updates.

 Signature 

AtticAnne in Austin TX

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 10:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 193 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12551
Joined  2007-11-06

...think I’ll stick with the current version of 4.5 that i have installed.

Still smarting from all the hits I took with 3Advancved.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 04:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 194 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2011-09-12

Glad I’m still using DS 4.0whatever. Maybe in a year or two, 4.5 will actually be ready for prime time and mostly bug free. rolleyes 

Maybe.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 04:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 195 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

The thing I’m seeing…one of the most common features of those complaining about 4.5 not working…32 bit systems.  4.5 is just at the edge of being able to be run under a 32 bit OS…and in some cases over it. 

Time to face it, folks, 32 bit is DEAD.  Upgrade to 64 bit and save yourself a host of headaches, because I seriously doubt that DS is the only piece of software, if upgraded to the latest version, that is giving you one.  Software has progressed beyond 32 bit, it’s time to make your hardware do so, too.  All major software and many games are 64 bit.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
13 of 20
13