Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Another question on DS 4 (move to ground different y position for V4 in ds4 than in ds3? )
Posted: 11 October 2012 03:58 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29

In das studio 3 I can select a character like Dixie (V4) for example and a pose and can say move to floor and she will be moved with her feet to the floor (standing pose)

same character same pose in ds4 but the Y position for the character seems not to be the same because the character is not moving to the ground but is moving up when I say move to ground.

has someone an idea?

 Signature  Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 04:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2866
Joined  2004-04-14

Got a screen shot showing the difference?  I have not personally noticed this issue within DS4

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 04:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Hmmm… Gen 4 character morph? Are you 100% sure your saved figure does not load below the x,y,z origin in DS4.5?
As noted Screen shots would help.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 04:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29
Mattymanx - 11 October 2012 04:26 AM

Got a screen shot showing the difference?  I have not personally noticed this issue within DS4

not necessary. I just have decided after trying some things today with ds4 to kick ds4 it is to slow, sure it has some good management stuff and some good tab organitation but that is not so important for me and because I just do my things with m4 and v4 I donĀ“t need ds 4 and go back to ds 3. My V4 is much versatile in bodyspaping than genesis (even with the add ons), so.

 

 Signature  Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 04:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29
Jaderail - 11 October 2012 04:35 AM

Hmmm… Gen 4 character morph? Are you 100% sure your saved figure does not load below the x,y,z origin in DS4.5?
As noted Screen shots would help.

I don`t work with genesis and I will not work with genesis. Dixie is V4 and will be V4 in the future

 Signature 

Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6663
Joined  2005-08-15
cosmo71 - 11 October 2012 04:59 AM
Jaderail - 11 October 2012 04:35 AM

Hmmm… Gen 4 character morph? Are you 100% sure your saved figure does not load below the x,y,z origin in DS4.5?
As noted Screen shots would help.

I don`t work with genesis and I will not work with genesis. Dixie is V4 and will be V4 in the future

Nobody even mentioned Genesis, so I don’t really see your point?

Dixie is for V4, certainly, but it can also be used on Genesis if required using the Gen X plugin.

My V4 is much versatile in bodyspaping than genesis (even with the add ons), so.

I don’t know why you have taken umbrage at Genesis, but I can assure you that it is much more versatile then any previous Gen 4 figure, not only that, but clothing that fits one morph of Genesis generally fits them all.  It is an astounding figure.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

By the way Cosmo is not a native English speaker. I do not believe he knows that Gen 4 means the Generation 4 figures.

For future Reference Gen 4 means all generation 4 figures that is V4, M4, A4, H4, F4 and S4. Did I miss one?

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6663
Joined  2005-08-15

She Freak 4 for one smile

My appologies Cosmo if I missunderstood you

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
JimmyC_2009 - 11 October 2012 05:53 AM

She Freak 4 for one smile

My appologies Cosmo if I missunderstood you

Opps! and I have her as well, just not much clothing.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 06:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29

I know what Gen X (4) means and have this tool but the result was not quite good, mybe I have done some things wrong but until now I must say not that what I have expected.

second thing, you don`t know my V4 smile but I know Genesis and I have all the add ons or most of them, those you need for natural looking humans. (unfortunatelly have bought all that stuff)

third thing this transformationtool for clothes works fine but not for all clothes I have.

and now here are the screenshots. take your attention on the bounding boxes

the bounding box in ds 4 is much larger than the figure

 

Image Attachments
ds_screenshots_bounding_box.jpg
 Signature 

Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 08:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Jaderail - 11 October 2012 05:49 AM

By the way Cosmo is not a native English speaker. I do not believe he knows that Gen 4 means the Generation 4 figures.

For future Reference Gen 4 means all generation 4 figures that is V4, M4, A4, H4, F4 and S4. Did I miss one?

The rugrat brigade…K4

Cosmo…

Did you scale her height?

It doesn’t look like she fills the bounding box in either one, but in DS3 the extra space looks to be at the top of the bounding box.  In DS4 it looks like she’s now floating in the middle, with space split between the top and bottom.

If that’s the case, try saving her without the height scaling…then after she is in DS4 apply the scaling and save a DS4 version.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29
mjc1016 - 11 October 2012 08:44 AM
Jaderail - 11 October 2012 05:49 AM

By the way Cosmo is not a native English speaker. I do not believe he knows that Gen 4 means the Generation 4 figures.

For future Reference Gen 4 means all generation 4 figures that is V4, M4, A4, H4, F4 and S4. Did I miss one?

The rugrat brigade…K4

Cosmo…

Did you scale her height?

It doesn’t look like she fills the bounding box in either one, but in DS3 the extra space looks to be at the top of the bounding box.  In DS4 it looks like she’s now floating in the middle, with space split between the top and bottom.

If that’s the case, try saving her without the height scaling…then after she is in DS4 apply the scaling and save a DS4 version.

means I should scale her in ds3 back to the original 100% and save it in ds3 then load her in ds4 save her and load her again, scale her back to 97% and save her again in ds4 and then everything should be okay, am I right?

 Signature 

Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 10:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

That’s what I would do…along with make sure her feet are at the bottom of the bounding box, after returning her to default size.  Also, make sure that there is no pose applied to her for import.  You can apply the pose after importing, before saving in DS4.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 10:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29
mjc1016 - 11 October 2012 10:02 PM

That’s what I would do…along with make sure her feet are at the bottom of the bounding box, after returning her to default size.  Also, make sure that there is no pose applied to her for import.  You can apply the pose after importing, before saving in DS4.

have zeroed the scaling parameters, also leg length and pose and… the character is correct in the boundingbox but it
doesn`t work, if move to floor the boundingbox itself is not set to the ground.

 Signature 

Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 11:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29

the thing is that in ds3 the bounding box fits to the scaling of the figure, in ds4.5 this is obviously not the case

 Signature 

Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 12:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2003-10-09

Just for the sake of cosmo is not going crazy…

I experienced the same thing the other day when I wanted to do a proof of concept for Hex morphing, and creating clones with two Genesis characters loaded.

Yes, I was using Genesis opposed to Gen 4/V4, but the experience was the same.

I had one default unaltered Genesis at ground zero, and another Genesis with custom MTs activated which shrunk Genesis down by a couple of feet.  I needed to match the morphed Genesis as much as possible in DS to the default Genesis, and was using T/S/R parameter dials to do so.

Much to my surprise when I needed to drop my second Genesis to floor/ground (she was about a foot below ground), she popped up and hovered a foot above the ground when I applied drop to floor.  The bounding box was correct at base of feet, but somehow DS was not registering the bounding box correctly.  If so, it would have been set correctly on the ground.

I didn’t find a fix, but I just hand corrected the issue myself.  Just another quirk that only a select few will probably encounter during their usage of DS.

 Signature 

Take care all..        “It’s easy to clean up when you got money.”        *Old Post Count:  Don’t know, don’t care…  *New Site Status:  Doesn’t matter one iota.
Ken

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1