Digital Art Zone

 
     
where to find more free 3d models
Posted: 10 October 2012 08:19 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-10-09

I am new to Daz 3d and would like to know where I can find more free 3d models. I downloaded some but they don’t go inside teh program and I don’t know how to bring them in. Can someone please help?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 08:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

What you can bring in is subject to capability of program.
Maybe you can start off with example of naming object you have problem with

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 08:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-10-09

I downloaded some models and they don’t install into the same directory as the other plugins I downloaded and I was wondering if any one knew of a place where I can get some free character models from

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 09:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

try sharecg, they have enough freebies to keep you busy for quite a while

http://www.sharecg.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 10:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-10-09

thank you that was what I was looking for. If I download a model with the file ext dz2 will daz recognize it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 10:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

there is file that is pz2, if that is what you mean.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 11:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-10-09

yes where do I put them

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 02:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

since I don’t know what you have, I can’t give instruction

Generally speaking, these will be in a ZIP file with a top level folder called “Runtime”.
You should unzip to the folder above “runtime” in your DAZ Studio installation.
The installed files should be in content folder under “poser format”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 04:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-10-09

they are in a zip file that I got from Sgacity and they have a folder called content/Sgacity/a3_erin.daz and I don’t know where to put the files. And some have runtime so I should put the runtime files from the zip into the runtime files in daz studio?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4746
Joined  2012-04-07

The “Content” folder has been renamed “My Library” ... so yes files for Daz Studio for the “content” folder simply now go into “My Library”.

And yes the ones inside a “Runtime” can go into the existing Runtime folder.

Keep in mind that some items written for the programs of 5 years ago may not work in today’s programs.
Also a lot of freeware was packaged under a different set of guidelines and may need a little tlc to get working correctly.

http://www.sharecg.com/v/18885/view/21/DAZ-Studio/Erin-for-A3

It’s okay to post the links to the products wink

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 06:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-10-09

TY so I just put the files into the runtime folder and that is all? I didn’t rember the link but thank you. You guys have been a big help this is my first time using this kind of program and I hope I am not asking dumb questions.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 12:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

In practice, you can put a .daz file anywhere because it is a scene file.  I personally keep all my saved scenes outside of DS.

On the file you mentioned, a3_erin, it will not work unless you all have Aiko 3 installed for starters.

Profile