Digital Art Zone

 
   
54 of 72
54
Genesis Meets Poser - Introducing DSON Importer for Poser
Posted: 14 October 2012 07:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 796 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  572
Joined  2008-07-18
Sunfire - 14 October 2012 07:04 PM
andolaurina - 14 October 2012 06:47 PM

Is there any way to use Gen 3 maps on Genesis?  I have some fantastic Thorne/Sarsa/Handspan textures I’d love to use on Genesis.

Last I knew, even in DS you had to transfer them to Gen 4 before you could use them on Genesis.

Just the textures not the morphs.  Well, the morphs are fantastic, too, but for that I’ll have to spring for GenX (which would be nice to get on sale…darn that PA sale coming before this announcement!)

 Signature 

My Free Stuff | My Big Store at CP | My Smaller Store at Renderosity | Prayer | Me on Twitter | Me on DA

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 07:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 797 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  85
Joined  2009-02-14

Hey guys, I installed the genesis essentials and the DSON importer into my poser, but this window appeared when I try to load the genesis figure:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File “C:\Program Files (x86)\e frontier\Poser 7\Downloads\Runtime\libraries\character\DAZ People\Genesis.py”, line 1, in ?
  import dson.dzdsonimporter
ImportError: No module named dson.dzdsonimporter

I have to say I’m using Poser 7 and I installed in: C:\Program Files (x86)\e frontier\Poser 7\Downloads\  directory. What did I do wrong?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 08:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 798 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  217
Joined  2005-04-05
taiuri - 14 October 2012 07:49 PM

Hey guys, I installed the genesis essentials and the DSON importer into my poser, but this window appeared when I try to load the genesis figure:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File “C:\Program Files (x86)\e frontier\Poser 7\Downloads\Runtime\libraries\character\DAZ People\Genesis.py”, line 1, in ?
  import dson.dzdsonimporter
ImportError: No module named dson.dzdsonimporter

I have to say I’m using Poser 7 and I installed in: C:\Program Files (x86)\e frontier\Poser 7\Downloads\  directory. What did I do wrong?

The DSON importer only works with Poser 9 and Poser Pro 2012 SR3 or higher. For one reason because it wasn’t until then that the ability to have outside plugins to work with Poser became possible, and because Genesis is weightmapped and it wasn’t until Poser 9 and Poser Pro 2012 that Poser could handle weightmapped figures.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 08:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 799 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  85
Joined  2009-02-14
Sunfire - 14 October 2012 08:02 PM
taiuri - 14 October 2012 07:49 PM

Hey guys, I installed the genesis essentials and the DSON importer into my poser, but this window appeared when I try to load the genesis figure:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File “C:\Program Files (x86)\e frontier\Poser 7\Downloads\Runtime\libraries\character\DAZ People\Genesis.py”, line 1, in ?
  import dson.dzdsonimporter
ImportError: No module named dson.dzdsonimporter

I have to say I’m using Poser 7 and I installed in: C:\Program Files (x86)\e frontier\Poser 7\Downloads\  directory. What did I do wrong?

The DSON importer only works with Poser 9 and Poser Pro 2012 SR3 or higher. For one reason because it wasn’t until then that the ability to have outside plugins to work with Poser became possible, and because Genesis is weightmapped and it wasn’t until Poser 9 and Poser Pro 2012 that Poser could handle weightmapped figures.

Ok, thank you for your reply.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 08:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 800 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1659
Joined  2008-05-31
fixme12 - 14 October 2012 08:57 AM
fixme12 - 12 October 2012 04:16 AM

Is the daz official content downloader ready? how do we now, what files we need to update?

again i try to get information about above questions…

As for DSON updates, the History Manager has been updated so it can check which of the products you own that have been DSON updated, as well as reset them (it can’t check for other types of updates though).

http://taosoft.dk/software/dazhm/

 

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 09:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 801 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  471
Joined  2003-10-09

a mac version of this might be handy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 10:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 802 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  448
Joined  2003-10-09
GRFK DSGN Unlimited - 12 October 2012 01:48 PM

Ok. I get all the files downloaded and installed. Go to Poser 9 and load Genesis. Attempt to dial up some of the morphs and nothing happens. What did I do wrong?

David

I never saw where anyone answered my question. I’ve been away a couple of days and tried to scroll thru the pages to see if there was a response and I found none. Can someone one please help. I have DAZ Studio Pro and Poser 9 SR3.

David

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 11:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 803 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5571
Joined  2006-02-20
chohole - 14 October 2012 03:14 AM

The legacy files are for those running DS4 or earlier.  If you are using DS 4.5 and/or Porser then you won’t need it.

Thank you! smile

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 11:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 804 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2004-03-28

Ok, random question #45219:  How would one go about setting up a hotkey for Save As -> Support Asset -> Figure Prop Asset in DS4.5 ? :D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 12:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 805 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-01-09

Help please !!!, i cant load my V5 , I installed both files :“13439_Victoria5_1.1_trx.exe” and “13439_Victoria5PoserCF_1.1_dpc.exe” ,
they also appear in my content library for daz stuff on poser but when i load her , it loads only a plain genesis figure , any ideas??

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 12:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 806 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  471
Joined  2003-10-09

there’s a V5 dial in the body of your genesis since installing the V5 (which is actually a V5 morph dial)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 807 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5571
Joined  2006-02-20

Ok, next question:
Do I have to install the Poser companion files?
Especially since there is Dimension3d’s free script:
http://d3d.sesseler.de/index.php?software=poserpython&product=dson_loader

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 12:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 808 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  471
Joined  2003-10-09

yes.  Only use the D3D script if you didn’t buy it from the DSON compatible link.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 02:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 809 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2006-05-01
DavidGB - 14 October 2012 08:48 AM
danboi - 14 October 2012 08:10 AM

Hi. I’ve managed to get DSON working for me in poser 9 but not fully as I still have the frozen library. I’ve installed the M5 pro package but I can’t seem to locate the M5 gens in poser 9’s library. Are the M5 Gens compatible yet?

Danny

If the Poser companion files haven’t been made yet for the M5 Gens, you can either make them yourself in DS, or use the DSON Loader script in Poser to load them. http://d3d.sesseler.de/index.php?software=poserpython&product=dson_loader

Just install the script into the runtime inside your Poser 9 or Pro 2012 program folder (NOT your normal rintime for content - the script needs to be in the actual Poser program directory). Then you can launch the script from the Poser script menu and navigate to the normal DS file for loading the Gens - Male Genetalia.duf in People/Genesis/Anatomy. the script will get the importer to import the gensfor you into Poser.

 


Thanks for this - I’d been struggling with the genitalia (!) for some while, and this worked like a dream.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 02:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 810 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  500
Joined  2005-01-18
Mec4D - 14 October 2012 03:50 PM

Hi Guys I made for myself a little helper for Poser to switch the UV’s of genesis without to going into DS or create any extra files
this way you can use your old Poser material presets on Genesis without converting it to duf and other stuff ..

Load genesis to the scene, apply the UV’s you like to have M4, V4, Kids4 , M5, V5, S5 , next add your old poser material preset to the figure and done
this way you can edit your own materials and save it in Poser without to worry the UV’s will not working
it is not big deal but so handy !!  because I am lazy and don;t want to convert my Poser materials to make it work
I saw a lot of people made Poser version of characters, this will be usable as you can use the Poser shaders and not just the standard DS

it is a free
http://www.mec4d.com/store/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=86

Cath

Thank you very much! smile
While I was at your store, I bought the Genesis robe. Looks very nice. I suppose I could convert that in DS4.5.1 for use in Poser also? (once I figured out how to convert….tongue rolleye )

Love, Jeanne

 Signature 

I am what I am, my own special creation

Profile
 
 
   
54 of 72
54