Digital Art Zone

 
   
49 of 72
49
Genesis Meets Poser - Introducing DSON Importer for Poser
Posted: 13 October 2012 10:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 721 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  822
Joined  2008-09-17
Bejaymac - 13 October 2012 05:03 PM
Male-M3dia - 13 October 2012 01:30 PM
Bejaymac - 13 October 2012 01:24 PM
sedor - 13 October 2012 12:07 PM
Bejaymac - 13 October 2012 12:02 PM

Just out of curiosity, but can Poser users now save in the DSON file format with this or is it just an importer ?

This tool allows you to use Genesis (and Genesis-Content) inside Poser, you can’t save with it in the DSON file format.

In that case this is yet another no brainer by DAZ, I’ve just seen a post over at Rendo where someone done with Genesis what they normally do with other figures, ie load the figure, dial up a morph, apply a texture, load clothing and hair, and save it back to the figure library, 400 MB of their disk space vanished doing that, it wont take long to fill a 1TB drive doing that.

I don’t think it’s quite that severe. I just saved a pz2 scene with 2 M5s (subdivided) a back drop and two underwear and that file is 52mb. The render I rendered in Poser with one M5 and bluebird3d’s “A bright loft” only took 33. Poser doesn’t support DSON natively so it can’t save the scene in that format, so you can’t drop that in DAZ’s lap. wink

Hmm wonder why the second half of my post didn’t make it.

Repost raspberry
Then there’s the problem of content, it’s odds on that people are going to start making content in P9/Pro12 for Genesis, and because they can’t save in DSON means it wont be compatible with DS4, so our own figure will have content that we can’t use on it.


*Bold text in quote* that one I can raspberry

DS4 still reads Poser format files such as cr2’s etc. so content created in Poser for Genesis shouldn’t be an issue.

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 11:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 722 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1650
Joined  2008-11-10
Bejaymac - 13 October 2012 05:03 PM

Hmm wonder why the second half of my post didn’t make it.

Repost raspberry
Then there’s the problem of content, it’s odds on that people are going to start making content in P9/Pro12 for Genesis, and because they can’t save in DSON means it wont be compatible with DS4, so our own figure will have content that we can’t use on it.


*Bold text in quote* that one I can raspberry

But this is an importer since Genesis is not native to Poser, so you won’t be saving any of Genesis’ formats from Poser. Until then, content creation should be done in DS4 with the default genesis shape. I can already see people exporting the V4 shape from poser attempting to rig clothing to it and finding out that’s not how you create genesis clothing especially when the clothing starts floating in the wrong places on different shapes.

BWSman - 13 October 2012 10:51 PM

DS4 still reads Poser format files such as cr2’s etc. so content created in Poser for Genesis shouldn’t be an issue.

That won’t work. Morphs and clothing need to be in the DSON format for Genesis.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 11:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 723 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  217
Joined  2005-04-05

But you could make poser dynamics for genesis to wear. Unfortunately they won’t work in DS.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 01:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 724 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2006-02-25
Nightsong - 13 October 2012 12:45 PM
Richard Haseltine - 13 October 2012 12:34 PM
Yannich - 13 October 2012 10:52 AM

I’m on a MAC . I own Poser 9 SR 3.1 . I created a folder inside my Poser Runtime and named it Genesis . In this folder , I have downloaded
GenesisStarterEssentials_1.6_trx and GenesisStarterEssentialsPoserCF_1.1_dpc . I have downloaded DSON_Importer_for_Poser_1.0.0.9_Mac32 too . Everything seems to be perfect but when I try to load Genesis or M5 , nothing appears in my work space . I waited about 5 minutes : nothing . I moved the folder to another place : Documents : same problem . What did I do wrong ? Thank you to help me, I tried to resolve the problem since yesterday ...

Putting a content folder, with its own Runtime folder, inside another content folder is likely to cause trouble. Since you are on a Mac you can, if you like, install content to the application folder (though it’s still not advised as far as I know), or to a totally separate folder that you have told Poser to use as a library. That may not be the cause of your problem but it does sound as if the needed files aren’t being found.

What Richard said.  Check out the installation guide:
http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dson_importer/poser/userguide/dson_installation_requirements/tutorials/dson_installation/start

In my installation I ended up installing to three different areas:
- Genesis Stater Essentials TRX to a DS Content folder.
- Genesis Starter Essentials Poser to an all-new Runtime folder not located in my regular Poser directory.
- DSON Importer pointed at my main Poser Installation.

And then make sure to point the Poser library at the first two folders, adding them as extra Runtimes.  Poser’s got to know where to look to find the files.

How can I thank you ! It’s like a miracle ! Thank you very much .
Now, can I bother you ? I bought Textures,characters for M5 can I use them ? Do I have to update all my stuff ?
Thanks again .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 01:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 725 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2006-02-25
fixmypcmike - 13 October 2012 12:10 PM
Yannich - 13 October 2012 10:52 AM

I’m on a MAC . I own Poser 9 SR 3.1 . I created a folder inside my Poser Runtime and named it Genesis . In this folder , I have downloaded
GenesisStarterEssentials_1.6_trx and GenesisStarterEssentialsPoserCF_1.1_dpc . I have downloaded DSON_Importer_for_Poser_1.0.0.9_Mac32 too . Everything seems to be perfect but when I try to load Genesis or M5 , nothing appears in my work space . I waited about 5 minutes : nothing . I moved the folder to another place : Documents : same problem . What did I do wrong ? Thank you to help me, I tried to resolve the problem since yesterday ...

Did you install the DSON Importer where you have your other python scripts (main program folder usually, I think?)

Thank you, It works !

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 01:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 726 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  241
Joined  2008-12-31
fixmypcmike - 13 October 2012 07:09 PM
Isikol - 13 October 2012 06:48 PM

im pretty sure there is something wrong with the 64bit installer in some cases..

in a 64bit machine with 64bit windows and a 64bit sr3.1 poser with the right c++ updates and a new clean install outside the program files i still have the below message…

i have try every scenario you can imagine….

as Neo once said….

help!

Do your other Python scripts work, and is the DSON script in the same location?

yes the other scripts work…and the dson is in the same location…

 Signature 

ISIKOL AT DEVIANTART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 01:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 727 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  241
Joined  2008-12-31
dtamm - 13 October 2012 07:28 PM
Isikol - 13 October 2012 06:48 PM

im pretty sure there is something wrong with the 64bit installer in some cases..

in a 64bit machine with 64bit windows and a 64bit sr3.1 poser with the right c++ updates and a new clean install outside the program files i still have the below message…

i have try every scenario you can imagine….

as Neo once said….

help!

Find PoserPro.exe, from there navigate to Runtime\Python\addons\dson, right click on dzdsonimporter.pyd and choose properties.  What is the size?

it says 1,46 MB (1.533.440 bytes)

 Signature 

ISIKOL AT DEVIANTART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 01:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 728 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2003-10-09

Hmmm… I need more coffee before trying to help. wink Still too early in the morning for me. :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 01:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 729 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2003-10-09

Double post.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 01:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 730 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  2003-10-09

I was so looking forward to using DSON for poser and was even about to spend $162 on both V5 & M5 pro mobel suite bundles but it’s just not meant to happen. No matter what I do I can’t get it to work.

When I try and open the gensis figure here’s what I get:

“Traceback (most recent call last):
  File “K:\POSER GENESIS\Runtime\libraries\Character\DAZ People\Genesis.py”, line 1, in <module>
  import dson.dzdsonimporter
ImportError: No module named dson.dzdsonimporter

I’ve got Poser pro 2012 64bit SR3, I’ve installed all correct 3 files that were required including the DSON importer 64 bit version. re-installed my poser to a location outside of program files, installed the genesis starter essentials in its own directory on a seperate drive and in the poser directory itself, Ive tried opening from both places but they just dont work.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!

Image Attachments
gengrab.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 02:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 731 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  36
Joined  2005-07-25

So here is my test:
Genesis with a V4 Texture from Sabby; KerkyraHair for V4; Paladin and Paragon for M4

Is there any way to import the morphs (example the hair)?

Edit:
Second test with Kid

Image Attachments
gentest.jpggentest2.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 02:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 732 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6112
Joined  2006-02-20

Stupid question of the day ...

When I am resetting my products, I am getting three files (most of the time). As I am using DS and Poser, I don’t know which files I need to install now and what is what:
13429_GenesisBikini_1.4_trx
13429_GenesisBikiniLegacy_1.4_trx
13429_GenesisBikiniPoserCF_1.4_dpc

What is the Legacy file for? For DS4? For ... I don’t know ...
will the 1.4_trx install the same files as before or more?

Puzzled ...

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 03:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 733 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16346
Joined  2003-10-09

The legacy files are for those running DS4 or earlier.  If you are using DS 4.5 and/or Porser then you won’t need it.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 03:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 734 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2003-10-09

If I convert a dress I have made for Genesis to the new DUF format and then make the Poser Companion Files. Can I distribute them and what exactly would I have to include in the package to make sure it works in both Poser and DS? Are there any instructions anywhere on how to package these files up so they can be distributed legally?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 04:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 735 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2346
Joined  2007-12-13
oirusskenobi - 14 October 2012 01:56 AM

I was so looking forward to using DSON for poser and was even about to spend $162 on both V5 & M5 pro mobel suite bundles but it’s just not meant to happen. No matter what I do I can’t get it to work.

When I try and open the gensis figure here’s what I get:

“Traceback (most recent call last):
  File “K:\POSER GENESIS\Runtime\libraries\Character\DAZ People\Genesis.py”, line 1, in <module>
  import dson.dzdsonimporter
ImportError: No module named dson.dzdsonimporter

I’ve got Poser pro 2012 64bit SR3, I’ve installed all correct 3 files that were required including the DSON importer 64 bit version. re-installed my poser to a location outside of program files, installed the genesis starter essentials in its own directory on a seperate drive and in the poser directory itself, Ive tried opening from both places but they just dont work.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!

Ok,

First off, installing the SR3.1 for PP2012 is recommended. You don’t need to move Poser anywhere, that stays in Program Files.

Having installed DSON, I double clicked the Computer icon on my desktop, clicked Documents under Libraries and added a new folder in that Documents library called DAZ (the new folder effectively becomes a library) and installed all the Genesis stuff into that new library.  (You specify the new library as a custom path when asked where to install the content.) In Poser, I added the new DAZ library to the main one i.e. the one that comes up when Poser launches. Doing this seems to add that new DAZ library to all the libraries and the relevant Genesis stuff can be found in those new DAZ libraries. It all worked like a charm after that.

If everyone else does likewise, then I hope it’ll work for you and them too….

Below is a render, just to prove it did work.

CHEERS!

PS (Richard, I hope I got that right!)

Image Attachments
Genesis-Male-01.jpg
Profile
 
 
   
49 of 72
49