Digital Art Zone

 
   
44 of 72
44
Genesis Meets Poser - Introducing DSON Importer for Poser
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 646 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2003-10-09

The group numbers can be changed in the material room, on the SSS node smile

FWIW, I hate the smile emoticon. It looks like I’m sneering or rolling my eyes. LOL

Laurie

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 647 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1243
Joined  2004-08-24
Muon Quark - 13 October 2012 11:56 AM

Thanks THD777 and BSwan!!  That is good news!

Ditto - thanks!  That saves some downloading.

 Signature 

Cheers,
Alisa

**********************************************************************
Post Count - just add 6775 to what it says here smile
**********************************************************************
Coordinator & updater for KCTC Freebies *Remembering France*

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 648 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  573
Joined  2008-07-18
andolaurina - 13 October 2012 12:01 PM

That’s good news on the Legacy files. smile

So…once I’ve loaded the content, I noticed that I have a bunch of stuff in a Poser runtime and other DS folders outside of that.  Poser only looks at that Runtime. 

Can I move these Genesis files around in the Poser runtime without breaking anything?  In a nutshell, the folders are poorly organized/named and need to be adjusted.  I do this all the time with Poser content (excluding geometries, pmds, textures, etc.) but I’m not sure if I can rename a folder of Genesis content without breaking everything. 

Help!

Anybody know the answer to this? Perhaps an admin? wink

 Signature 

My Free Stuff | My Big Store at CP | My Smaller Store at Renderosity | Prayer | Me on Twitter | Me on DA

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 649 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14234
Joined  2003-10-09
andolaurina - 13 October 2012 12:24 PM
andolaurina - 13 October 2012 12:01 PM

That’s good news on the Legacy files. smile

So…once I’ve loaded the content, I noticed that I have a bunch of stuff in a Poser runtime and other DS folders outside of that.  Poser only looks at that Runtime. 

Can I move these Genesis files around in the Poser runtime without breaking anything?  In a nutshell, the folders are poorly organized/named and need to be adjusted.  I do this all the time with Poser content (excluding geometries, pmds, textures, etc.) but I’m not sure if I can rename a folder of Genesis content without breaking everything. 

Help!

Anybody know the answer to this? Perhaps an admin? wink

The Data folder must not be moved - it has the geometry and morphs, if it can’t be found the content won’t load. I’m not sure which, if any, of the other non-Runtime folders are needed - you could always try moving them to a safe place, then loading the content.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 650 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2004-09-27
Faerydae - 12 October 2012 03:35 PM
DAZ_BHowell - 10 October 2012 05:33 PM

Q: Are all Genesis based products compatible with Poser?
A: No. Genesis products must be created in or converted to DSON Importer compatible file formats. DAZ 3D has already converted dozens of its most popular products into DSON Importer compatible file formats and many more are coming soon. In addition, DAZ Published Artists are currently creating new products in DSON file formats that will also be available soon.

 

About the “many more are coming soon” ....will all Genesis DO’s be converted at some point? Just asking because I’m wondering if I should be grabbing some of the unconverted ones while they’re on sale, and then just download the updates when they’re converted?

This may have been missed in the sea of questions here, but any of the mods know the answer to this?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 651 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14234
Joined  2003-10-09
Yannich - 13 October 2012 10:52 AM

I’m on a MAC . I own Poser 9 SR 3.1 . I created a folder inside my Poser Runtime and named it Genesis . In this folder , I have downloaded
GenesisStarterEssentials_1.6_trx and GenesisStarterEssentialsPoserCF_1.1_dpc . I have downloaded DSON_Importer_for_Poser_1.0.0.9_Mac32 too . Everything seems to be perfect but when I try to load Genesis or M5 , nothing appears in my work space . I waited about 5 minutes : nothing . I moved the folder to another place : Documents : same problem . What did I do wrong ? Thank you to help me, I tried to resolve the problem since yesterday ...

Putting a content folder, with its own Runtime folder, inside another content folder is likely to cause trouble. Since you are on a Mac you can, if you like, install content to the application folder (though it’s still not advised as far as I know), or to a totally separate folder that you have told Poser to use as a library. That may not be the cause of your problem but it does sound as if the needed files aren’t being found.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 652 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14234
Joined  2003-10-09
WitchStorm - 13 October 2012 08:46 AM
WitchStorm - 13 October 2012 07:08 AM
Richard Haseltine - 13 October 2012 07:00 AM
WitchStorm - 13 October 2012 06:53 AM

OK. I have two folders on my external hard drive. One is Poser 9 (where I put everything to work), and the other one is, Poser 9 Content. I use to keep it inside of the Poser 9 folder, but with setting up Genesis in Poser 9, I had to move it on the outside of Poser 9 folder. Now Genesis works for me. My question is:  Where do I load my items to? The Poser 9 folder, or the Poser 9 Content folder?  Help!!!
I’m so confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

The content, both the Core and the Companion files, gets installed to the folder you have listed in your Poser Library panel - I would think that would be Poser 9 Content[/quote

OK. I will try that with one item and see if it works for me. Thanks for the help.

It worked. Now if the http://www.daz3d.com/shop/ethnicity-for-genesis-bundle actua,lly work in Poser. I re-set my downloads, and it still won’t work in Poser 9. The DSON is not in there. Can it be fixed? It says it can be used in Poser. A lot of things say they can be used in Poser for Genesis, so I re-set my downloads, and they don’t have the DSON in them yet.

The ethnicity morphs should be added to the list of available morphs the next time you load Genesis from the library - since they are shaping morphs they will appear on the root (the Body of Genesis), under Actor>Head>Female>Real World and Actor>Head>Male>Real World.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 653 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2009-08-14
greyson5 - 13 October 2012 10:52 AM
Satira Capriccio - 13 October 2012 10:08 AM

If you cannot change library categories (from Figures to Pose, Expressions, Hair, Props, Light, Camera, etc.), some of us are able to get around the problem by launching the Library outside the Poser application.

Edit / General Preferences / select the Library tab and change Launch Behavior from Embedded to External. 

Then restart Poser.

DAZ is working on a fix.

.

danboi - 13 October 2012 09:59 AM

I’ve gone bog-eyed reading through all these posts for the answer I’m looking for smile I’d be interested to know if there any Poser 9 users here that are able to use the DSON importer without the library totally freezing after the Genesis figure imports with DSON?
Windows 7 using the 32 bit version!

Danny

The work around dosn’t work on poser 9 , so unless myself & other sidegrade at a cost of about $250 to poser pro were stuck until they get a fix

My first theory on this Greyson was that the problem is some kind of conflict between the DSON importer and Adobe Flash. I had Flash problems with the library when I first installed Poser 9. That’s why I asked if any Poser 9 users had successfully installed DSON as it would be interesting check like for like with them system differences such as Flash versions etc.

Danny

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 654 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14234
Joined  2003-10-09
Faerydae - 13 October 2012 12:31 PM
Faerydae - 12 October 2012 03:35 PM
DAZ_BHowell - 10 October 2012 05:33 PM

Q: Are all Genesis based products compatible with Poser?
A: No. Genesis products must be created in or converted to DSON Importer compatible file formats. DAZ 3D has already converted dozens of its most popular products into DSON Importer compatible file formats and many more are coming soon. In addition, DAZ Published Artists are currently creating new products in DSON file formats that will also be available soon.

 

About the “many more are coming soon” ....will all Genesis DO’s be converted at some point? Just asking because I’m wondering if I should be grabbing some of the unconverted ones while they’re on sale, and then just download the updates when they’re converted?

This may have been missed in the sea of questions here, but any of the mods know the answer to this?

As far as I know DAZ plans to update all DAZ Original items. I’m not sure how the work on PA items will be divided. However, some products (those with a lot of material options, for example) will take longer than others, and items that are reliant on the smoothing modifier may need some reworking or may not be amenable to conversion at all.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 655 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2004-03-28
Richard Haseltine - 13 October 2012 12:34 PM
Yannich - 13 October 2012 10:52 AM

I’m on a MAC . I own Poser 9 SR 3.1 . I created a folder inside my Poser Runtime and named it Genesis . In this folder , I have downloaded
GenesisStarterEssentials_1.6_trx and GenesisStarterEssentialsPoserCF_1.1_dpc . I have downloaded DSON_Importer_for_Poser_1.0.0.9_Mac32 too . Everything seems to be perfect but when I try to load Genesis or M5 , nothing appears in my work space . I waited about 5 minutes : nothing . I moved the folder to another place : Documents : same problem . What did I do wrong ? Thank you to help me, I tried to resolve the problem since yesterday ...

Putting a content folder, with its own Runtime folder, inside another content folder is likely to cause trouble. Since you are on a Mac you can, if you like, install content to the application folder (though it’s still not advised as far as I know), or to a totally separate folder that you have told Poser to use as a library. That may not be the cause of your problem but it does sound as if the needed files aren’t being found.

What Richard said.  Check out the installation guide:
http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dson_importer/poser/userguide/dson_installation_requirements/tutorials/dson_installation/start

In my installation I ended up installing to three different areas:
- Genesis Stater Essentials TRX to a DS Content folder.
- Genesis Starter Essentials Poser to an all-new Runtime folder not located in my regular Poser directory.
- DSON Importer pointed at my main Poser Installation.

And then make sure to point the Poser library at the first two folders, adding them as extra Runtimes.  Poser’s got to know where to look to find the files.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 656 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2004-03-28
Faerydae - 13 October 2012 12:31 PM
Faerydae - 12 October 2012 03:35 PM
DAZ_BHowell - 10 October 2012 05:33 PM

Q: Are all Genesis based products compatible with Poser?
A: No. Genesis products must be created in or converted to DSON Importer compatible file formats. DAZ 3D has already converted dozens of its most popular products into DSON Importer compatible file formats and many more are coming soon. In addition, DAZ Published Artists are currently creating new products in DSON file formats that will also be available soon.

 

About the “many more are coming soon” ....will all Genesis DO’s be converted at some point? Just asking because I’m wondering if I should be grabbing some of the unconverted ones while they’re on sale, and then just download the updates when they’re converted?

This may have been missed in the sea of questions here, but any of the mods know the answer to this?

I’m not a mod, but I can tell you that the manual DSON conversions are pretty painless (once you get DS4.5.x up and running right—I had trouble with that bit), just a bit time consuming.  If there are any particular DAZ Originals that you’ve really got your heart set on, it may be worth the effort to convert them over yourself.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 657 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2004-09-27
Richard Haseltine - 13 October 2012 12:44 PM
Faerydae - 13 October 2012 12:31 PM
Faerydae - 12 October 2012 03:35 PM
DAZ_BHowell - 10 October 2012 05:33 PM

Q: Are all Genesis based products compatible with Poser?
A: No. Genesis products must be created in or converted to DSON Importer compatible file formats. DAZ 3D has already converted dozens of its most popular products into DSON Importer compatible file formats and many more are coming soon. In addition, DAZ Published Artists are currently creating new products in DSON file formats that will also be available soon.

 

About the “many more are coming soon” ....will all Genesis DO’s be converted at some point? Just asking because I’m wondering if I should be grabbing some of the unconverted ones while they’re on sale, and then just download the updates when they’re converted?

This may have been missed in the sea of questions here, but any of the mods know the answer to this?

As far as I know DAZ plans to update all DAZ Original items. I’m not sure how the work on PA items will be divided. However, some products (those with a lot of material options, for example) will take longer than others, and items that are reliant on the smoothing modifier may need some reworking or may not be amenable to conversion at all.

Thank you Richard smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 658 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2004-09-27
Nightsong - 13 October 2012 12:46 PM
Faerydae - 13 October 2012 12:31 PM
Faerydae - 12 October 2012 03:35 PM
DAZ_BHowell - 10 October 2012 05:33 PM

Q: Are all Genesis based products compatible with Poser?
A: No. Genesis products must be created in or converted to DSON Importer compatible file formats. DAZ 3D has already converted dozens of its most popular products into DSON Importer compatible file formats and many more are coming soon. In addition, DAZ Published Artists are currently creating new products in DSON file formats that will also be available soon.

 

About the “many more are coming soon” ....will all Genesis DO’s be converted at some point? Just asking because I’m wondering if I should be grabbing some of the unconverted ones while they’re on sale, and then just download the updates when they’re converted?

This may have been missed in the sea of questions here, but any of the mods know the answer to this?

I’m not a mod, but I can tell you that the manual DSON conversions are pretty painless (once you get DS4.5.x up and running right—I had trouble with that bit), just a bit time consuming.  If there are any particular DAZ Originals that you’ve really got your heart set on, it may be worth the effort to convert them over yourself.

Unfortunately, DS does not like me. If I could get it to run correctly believe me I’d be converting already smile Thank you though!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 659 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1243
Joined  2004-08-24
Richard Haseltine - 13 October 2012 12:27 PM
andolaurina - 13 October 2012 12:24 PM
andolaurina - 13 October 2012 12:01 PM

That’s good news on the Legacy files. smile

So…once I’ve loaded the content, I noticed that I have a bunch of stuff in a Poser runtime and other DS folders outside of that.  Poser only looks at that Runtime. 

Can I move these Genesis files around in the Poser runtime without breaking anything?  In a nutshell, the folders are poorly organized/named and need to be adjusted.  I do this all the time with Poser content (excluding geometries, pmds, textures, etc.) but I’m not sure if I can rename a folder of Genesis content without breaking everything. 

Help!

Anybody know the answer to this? Perhaps an admin? wink

The Data folder must not be moved - it has the geometry and morphs, if it can’t be found the content won’t load. I’m not sure which, if any, of the other non-Runtime folders are needed - you could always try moving them to a safe place, then loading the content.

I also want to know about this.  I do not use the typical Poser runtime structure.  For example, for James for M5, for my use, the Poser Companion files tjhat are supposed to go under materials and pose would go under

Runtime:Libraries:Characters:!People:Genesis:M5 James (I’d have the morphs and mats in the same folder or in a folder I create below that for them).

In DS, I am using the smart content for any DS4 stuff that comes with it, so I leave those where they are originally, but that’s not my process in Poser.  Since I have to actually FIND each file in my Poser Runtime, I want it to be somewhere that actually makes sense to me.

The concern is that in the Poser companion Support files, the .dsx file specifically points to the Runtime structure that is in the poser Companion files.  But I’m not sure what this file actually does in Poser.

I haven’t yet installed the DSON converter so haven’t tried this all yet…just my thoughts right now

 Signature 

Cheers,
Alisa

**********************************************************************
Post Count - just add 6775 to what it says here smile
**********************************************************************
Coordinator & updater for KCTC Freebies *Remembering France*

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 01:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 660 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1607
Joined  2008-11-10
Alisa Uh-Lisa - 13 October 2012 12:56 PM
Richard Haseltine - 13 October 2012 12:27 PM
andolaurina - 13 October 2012 12:24 PM
andolaurina - 13 October 2012 12:01 PM

That’s good news on the Legacy files. smile

So…once I’ve loaded the content, I noticed that I have a bunch of stuff in a Poser runtime and other DS folders outside of that.  Poser only looks at that Runtime. 

Can I move these Genesis files around in the Poser runtime without breaking anything?  In a nutshell, the folders are poorly organized/named and need to be adjusted.  I do this all the time with Poser content (excluding geometries, pmds, textures, etc.) but I’m not sure if I can rename a folder of Genesis content without breaking everything. 

Help!

Anybody know the answer to this? Perhaps an admin? wink

The Data folder must not be moved - it has the geometry and morphs, if it can’t be found the content won’t load. I’m not sure which, if any, of the other non-Runtime folders are needed - you could always try moving them to a safe place, then loading the content.

I also want to know about this.  I do not use the typical Poser runtime structure.  For example, for James for M5, for my use, the Poser Companion files tjhat are supposed to go under materials and pose would go under

Runtime:Libraries:Characters:!People:Genesis:M5 James (I’d have the morphs and mats in the same folder or in a folder I create below that for them).

In DS, I am using the smart content for any DS4 stuff that comes with it, so I leave those where they are originally, but that’s not my process in Poser.  Since I have to actually FIND each file in my Poser Runtime, I want it to be somewhere that actually makes sense to me.

The concern is that in the Poser companion Support files, the .dsx file specifically points to the Runtime structure that is in the poser Companion files.  But I’m not sure what this file actually does in Poser.

I haven’t yet installed the DSON converter so haven’t tried this all yet…just my thoughts right now

Considering you have a poser file calling python which calls a plugin which reads a duf, I’d keep all those files where they are.

Profile
 
 
   
44 of 72
44