Digital Art Zone

 
   
41 of 72
41
Genesis Meets Poser - Introducing DSON Importer for Poser
Posted: 13 October 2012 06:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 601 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15232
Joined  2003-10-09
evilded777 - 13 October 2012 06:21 AM
Richard Haseltine - 13 October 2012 05:24 AM
evilded777 - 12 October 2012 04:51 PM

I must be missing something, because I do not see how to change the UV mapping on Genesis in Poser.

Or, perhaps, do I need to update all of my Michael 5 textures to get new files that will apply the correct UV mapping for me?

Apologies if this was covered somewhere, 35 pages is just a little much to try to read and comprehend all at once.

You need to apply a .duf materials preset - I have one saved that switches to M4, I’ll try making a set of presets that do nothing but switch UV sets and put them up later but for now just apply one of the Sample map settings to the figure and then the texture set you want to use.

Thanks Richard, but I don’t think what you suggested works. Tried that already.

Sounds like I should be able to do this myself with the tools provided though, no? Make a preset in studio that just changes the UV’s? Convert that over? Or just convert an existing M5 preset over, perhaps?

Yes, as I said I made an M4 uv pose and converted that (using the manual method in one of my other posts) and it worked correctly. You do need to note that creating a UV-only preset is a bit of a fiddle as several properties of the surfaces are not at default when you load Genesis, so you need to zero those before using the check modified option in the save dialogue (and even then you will need to deselect the Normal map setting).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 06:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 602 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15232
Joined  2003-10-09
Rduda - 13 October 2012 06:45 AM
Richard Haseltine - 11 October 2012 03:23 PM
DAZ_KatBriggs - 11 October 2012 03:19 PM
timoteo - 11 October 2012 03:16 PM

Hi.  Very excited about this, but it doesn’t seem to work (at least for me.)  I’m running Poser Pro 2012 on Win7 64-bit.  I installed the DSON importer, then the Genesis Files, then the Genesis for Poser files.

When I launch Poser I am getting the following error in a “mainWacros” window:

>>>>>An errror occurred importing addon dson :
ERROR: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.

An errror occurred importing addon dson :
ERROR: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.<<<<

Also, when trying to use an item under the DSON Scripts menu, I get the following ...

>>>>>>
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File “C:\Graphics\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\poserScripts\ScriptsMenu\DSON Support\Importer Preferences….py”, line 2, in <module>
  import dson;
  File “C:\Graphics\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\dson\__init__.py”, line 3, in <module>
  import dson.dzdsonimporter
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.
<<<<<<<

It appears the module is not being found.  Is there a specific directory that the DSON Importer is supposed to be installed to?

Thanks,
Tim

Make sure you downloaded the correct 32 or 64bit version.  If you are in Poser 9, install to that directory.  The DSON Importer Documentation covers exactly what should go where.  smile

You also need SR3 for your Poser version.

What is “SR3 for your Poser version”??

Whichever version of Poser you have - you need to have Poser 9 SR3 or Poser Pro 2012 SR3

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 07:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 603 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15232
Joined  2003-10-09
WitchStorm - 13 October 2012 06:53 AM

OK. I have two folders on my external hard drive. One is Poser 9 (where I put everything to work), and the other one is, Poser 9 Content. I use to keep it inside of the Poser 9 folder, but with setting up Genesis in Poser 9, I had to move it on the outside of Poser 9 folder. Now Genesis works for me. My question is:  Where do I load my items to? The Poser 9 folder, or the Poser 9 Content folder?  Help!!!
I’m so confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

The content, both the Core and the Companion files, gets installed to the folder you have listed in your Poser Library panel - I would think that would be Poser 9 Content

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 07:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 604 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  156
Joined  2007-11-26
Richard Haseltine - 13 October 2012 07:00 AM
WitchStorm - 13 October 2012 06:53 AM

OK. I have two folders on my external hard drive. One is Poser 9 (where I put everything to work), and the other one is, Poser 9 Content. I use to keep it inside of the Poser 9 folder, but with setting up Genesis in Poser 9, I had to move it on the outside of Poser 9 folder. Now Genesis works for me. My question is:  Where do I load my items to? The Poser 9 folder, or the Poser 9 Content folder?  Help!!!
I’m so confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

The content, both the Core and the Companion files, gets installed to the folder you have listed in your Poser Library panel - I would think that would be Poser 9 Content[/quote

OK. I will try that with one item and see if it works for me. Thanks for the help.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 07:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 605 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  522
Joined  2006-07-28

Thanks Ann.  I can now switch from Figures to other parts of my library.  But boy! Having the library external to Poser is a a pain!  Hopefully, this will be quickly resolved.


How to I uninstall the Genesis content manually?  When I try to uninstall either content file, I get the error:

vfsUtils: cannot find startup script.

I installed both files into my Poser external runtime, but would prefer Genesis content be installed in my existing DAZ 3D studio content folder rather than being duplicated in the DAZ 3D content folder AND my Poser runtime.

DAZ_ann0314 - 12 October 2012 09:51 PM
DAZ_ann0314 - 12 October 2012 12:15 PM

OK here is the existing Bug Report on the issue of Genesis Loading but the Poser’s Library not responding:

https://bugs.daz3d.com/view.php?id=48127

Greyson and ezwood, please consider adding any additional information or details to it smile

Made that red cuz for as fast as this thread is going I didn’t want you to miss it LOL

AN UPDATE TO THIS ISSUE:
They have narrowed down what is causing this for some people and are working on a fix to resolve it. I just wanted to let those who were experiencing this know it was looked over today and the Software Dev people are hard at work trying to get it resolved for you all.

As a work around, you can try the following:
[quote author=“Risika75 “]If you’re having issues with switching over to other parts of the library once Genesis is loaded, go into Edit > General Preferences > Library > switch Launch Behavior to External and restart Poser. that fixed it for me.

 Signature 

Satira Capriccio on deviantART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 606 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  588
Joined  2006-08-11
jerham - 13 October 2012 06:32 AM
sedor - 13 October 2012 06:06 AM
Amethyst - 13 October 2012 06:02 AM

I’ve just added the DS library to Poser and it seems that other morphs have also loaded into Genesis including custom ones I made for DS4. Is this correct or am I dreaming?

No, you are correct - this is no dream!

It feels a little like a dream wink

Not only Genesis in Poser. But also a lot of other DAZ only content, like Optitex dynamic clothing. Best plugin ever if you ask me, especially if you use both programs.

 

And for those who do not use both, but will try the best, how to get optitex dynamic into poser? can one use them like poser dynamics?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 607 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6934
Joined  2005-08-15
Krissy - 13 October 2012 08:00 AM
jerham - 13 October 2012 06:32 AM
sedor - 13 October 2012 06:06 AM
Amethyst - 13 October 2012 06:02 AM

I’ve just added the DS library to Poser and it seems that other morphs have also loaded into Genesis including custom ones I made for DS4. Is this correct or am I dreaming?

No, you are correct - this is no dream!

It feels a little like a dream wink

Not only Genesis in Poser. But also a lot of other DAZ only content, like Optitex dynamic clothing. Best plugin ever if you ask me, especially if you use both programs.

 

And for those who do not use both, but will try the best, how to get optitex dynamic into poser? can one use them like poser dynamics?

Optitex Dynamic Clothing only works with the DAZ Studio plugin as far as I know.  You would do your drape in DS4 then freeze it, and export it to Poser as an OBJ.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 608 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2009-03-29
Krissy - 13 October 2012 08:00 AM
jerham - 13 October 2012 06:32 AM
sedor - 13 October 2012 06:06 AM
Amethyst - 13 October 2012 06:02 AM

I’ve just added the DS library to Poser and it seems that other morphs have also loaded into Genesis including custom ones I made for DS4. Is this correct or am I dreaming?

No, you are correct - this is no dream!

It feels a little like a dream wink

Not only Genesis in Poser. But also a lot of other DAZ only content, like Optitex dynamic clothing. Best plugin ever if you ask me, especially if you use both programs.

 

And for those who do not use both, but will try the best, how to get optitex dynamic into poser? can one use them like poser dynamics?

Not sure if there is a way without using DAZ Studio, i drape it in studio and then convert it to a prop (freezing the simulation) and saved the scene, for which a poser file can be made. Maybe someone knows a different way without studio, but that is a bit beyond my knowledge.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 609 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2004-03-28
Krissy - 13 October 2012 08:00 AM
jerham - 13 October 2012 06:32 AM
sedor - 13 October 2012 06:06 AM
Amethyst - 13 October 2012 06:02 AM

I’ve just added the DS library to Poser and it seems that other morphs have also loaded into Genesis including custom ones I made for DS4. Is this correct or am I dreaming?

No, you are correct - this is no dream!

It feels a little like a dream wink

Not only Genesis in Poser. But also a lot of other DAZ only content, like Optitex dynamic clothing. Best plugin ever if you ask me, especially if you use both programs.

 

And for those who do not use both, but will try the best, how to get optitex dynamic into poser? can one use them like poser dynamics?

In the past I have exported DS Dynamic clothing as an OBJ and loaded it into Poser to use as Poser Dynamic Cloth.  It is a little finiky sometimes but seems to work all right. 

However, the experiments I’ve tried simulating cloth on Genesis are… quite slow.  It was one of the first things I tried since, by having the V4 body shape for Genesis, I don’t need to convert clothing at all to use V4’s dynamic clothing on it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 610 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  251
Joined  2004-10-09
JimmyC_2009 - 13 October 2012 08:11 AM
Krissy - 13 October 2012 08:00 AM
jerham - 13 October 2012 06:32 AM
sedor - 13 October 2012 06:06 AM
Amethyst - 13 October 2012 06:02 AM

I’ve just added the DS library to Poser and it seems that other morphs have also loaded into Genesis including custom ones I made for DS4. Is this correct or am I dreaming?

No, you are correct - this is no dream!

It feels a little like a dream wink

Not only Genesis in Poser. But also a lot of other DAZ only content, like Optitex dynamic clothing. Best plugin ever if you ask me, especially if you use both programs.

 

And for those who do not use both, but will try the best, how to get optitex dynamic into poser? can one use them like poser dynamics?

Optitex Dynamic Clothing only works with the DAZ Studio plugin as far as I know.  You would do your drape in DS4 then freeze it, and export it to Poser as an OBJ.

You CAN use the optitex clothes in Poser, but you need to load them into DAZ Studio, run one short drape cycle and then export the clothes geometry as .OBJ. You can then import that as a prop in Poser and clothify it for use in the cloth room. I have done it with the Century night gown and it works fine. There is a couple of thing to keep in mind: If the optitex clothing model has multiple geometry options (like the night gown: open, clothed, long sleeves, short sleeves,...) you need to export each one as a separate obj. The two cloth engines are also working differently and thus the geometry from the optitex export might not be ideal for Poser. But generally it works ok.
TD

 Signature 

I reject your Reality and substitute my Vue!
Check my gallery at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 611 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  156
Joined  2007-11-26
WitchStorm - 13 October 2012 07:08 AM
Richard Haseltine - 13 October 2012 07:00 AM
WitchStorm - 13 October 2012 06:53 AM

OK. I have two folders on my external hard drive. One is Poser 9 (where I put everything to work), and the other one is, Poser 9 Content. I use to keep it inside of the Poser 9 folder, but with setting up Genesis in Poser 9, I had to move it on the outside of Poser 9 folder. Now Genesis works for me. My question is:  Where do I load my items to? The Poser 9 folder, or the Poser 9 Content folder?  Help!!!
I’m so confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

The content, both the Core and the Companion files, gets installed to the folder you have listed in your Poser Library panel - I would think that would be Poser 9 Content[/quote

OK. I will try that with one item and see if it works for me. Thanks for the help.

It worked. Now if the http://www.daz3d.com/shop/ethnicity-for-genesis-bundle actua,lly work in Poser. I re-set my downloads, and it still won’t work in Poser 9. The DSON is not in there. Can it be fixed? It says it can be used in Poser. A lot of things say they can be used in Poser for Genesis, so I re-set my downloads, and they don’t have the DSON in them yet.

Image Attachments
Genesis_War_Lord.jpg
 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 612 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2004-03-28

If we’re posting renders, I might as well post my first one:  http://screencast.com/t/AsFjVepSj

That’s a portion of my first render, which I sent to the Queue Manager.  I call it the Phantom Swordswoman.  She needs magnets in a couple places, I only Poser-ified a few of the many materials, and the Genesis figure failed to render entirely in the couple hours that render ran, but, hey, it fits the season!!!!!!

-Headdesk-

On the bright side, the background renderer still loves me.  Tamesis Human Genesis, all else normal Poser assets.

 

 

 

Image Attachments
amber_glow_600.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 613 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  588
Joined  2006-08-11

So only have to learn to use dynamics in DS… smile
Nightson gorgeous render! Now say - is the light mage fitted trought DS plugin or old good - scale morph procedure wink

And here is my another one.. I might grow to like Genesis, and get her/him some attention smile

Edited to change the render, since ther was a huge mistake I didn’t noticed at first smile

Image Attachments
SignsOfWinter.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 614 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2004-03-28
Krissy - 13 October 2012 08:54 AM

So only have to learn to use dynamics in DS… smile
Nightson gorgeous render! Now say - is the light mage fitted trought DS plugin or old good - scale morph procedure wink

And here is my another one.. I might grow to like Genesis, and get her/him some attention smile

LightMage is parented and posed, since that pose is REALLY simple. 

However, I got some good advice and originally used the “Copy Joint Zones” function in Poser to automatically re-rig it to fit Genesis and, you know, it looked REALLY good.  I wasn’t quite happy with how the fluffy, ruffled shoulders turned out, is all, or I would’ve stayed with that method.  But, nope, no DS usage at -all- for that image, it’s 100% pure Poser.

Beautiful image, yourself!!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 09:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 615 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  588
Joined  2006-08-11

Ah thank you smile
I have a bit of DS scare .. unfamiliar terythory and with the little time I have to play over, The scale/morph/parent technice is a bit easier smile

Oh thank you for tip :D

Profile
 
 
   
41 of 72
41