Digital Art Zone

 
   
29 of 72
29
Genesis Meets Poser - Introducing DSON Importer for Poser
Posted: 12 October 2012 10:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 421 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  202
Joined  2003-10-09

genesis evolution: expressions, head morphs, body morphs and the Manly Men morphs
all say they must be installed in the same location as genesis

But as my DSON genesis is installed to the U drive and no daz Studio they will not install despite being on the list of items updated to DSON

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 10:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 422 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2003-10-09

Yeah, that’s what I did initially but it just wasn’t taking that way.  I’m not sure it made a difference to uninstall DS 4.5 but for all I know that cleared up a path issue somewhere *shrug*.  The only way it is working is for me to install into the default Poser Runtime but I don’t have that in Program Files (etc) anyways.

ken1171 - 12 October 2012 10:34 AM
Netherworks - 12 October 2012 10:31 AM

Well… finally got it to load non-invisibly.

Tell me how this makes sense…

- I completely uninstalled DS 4.5
- I reset my Poser prefs.
- I installed all 3 Poser Genesis files into the MAIN Poser Installation folder (backed the whole thing up first)

So… LOL wow. :D

I was also having the invisible Genesis loading up in Poser, but all I had to do was to install both companion packages in the same folder, and then add it to Poser as an external runtime. Before this I was having it installed in 2 different directories.

That has fixed the issue for me. ^________^

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 10:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 423 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 10:30 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 10:22 AM
DAZ_Spooky - 12 October 2012 10:12 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 09:43 AM

Everything installed OK, I load up genesis, BUT then I cant access any other libraries, pose props etc

I already tried turning off the subdivison, to no effect

am I the only one having this problem

any advice

I have been unable to reproduce this. Can I talk you into filing a bug at http:\\bugs.daz3d.com in the DSON Importer for Poser Project. Either I or a member of my team will need more information so we can figure this one out.

Thanks.

Request #115215

already posted 4 hours & no reply


I want directly to http:\\bugs.daz3d.com   & it says” Your account may be disabled or blocked or the username/password you entered is incorrect”

WHAT !!

The bug reporter does not share your daz3d login information—if this is the first time you’re using it, you need to register first.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 424 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  229
Joined  2008-12-31
DAZ_KatBriggs - 12 October 2012 10:08 AM
Isikol - 12 October 2012 10:07 AM
dtamm - 12 October 2012 09:55 AM

#3 is either a corrupted dll(not likely), using an older version of Poser(not likely), or not having the Visual Studio 2010 SP1 runtime (most likely).  Install one or both of the following:
- http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8328
- http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=13523

im having this problem and i still haven’t find a solution to this…

a)i completely removed poser and reinstalled it with sr3.1
b) i installed both c++ updates
c) i used the correct dson 64bit installer
d) my windows are 64bit and fully updated and checked for missing updates…

im an expert when it comes to pc…but darn, i can’t figure this out…

What version of Poser?  9 or 2012?

2012 pro

 Signature 

ISIKOL AT DEVIANTART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 425 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2004-12-26
adzan - 12 October 2012 10:54 AM

genesis evolution: expressions, head morphs, body morphs and the Manly Men morphs
all say they must be installed in the same location as genesis

But as my DSON genesis is installed to the U drive and no daz Studio they will not install despite being on the list of items updated to DSON

For those products, at least for now, you need to install them to a directory containing the “data\DAZ 3D\Genesis\Base\Genesis.dsf”.  The location of studio should not matter.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 426 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2003-10-09
DAZ_KatBriggs - 12 October 2012 10:02 AM
foxylady - 12 October 2012 09:58 AM
foxylady - 12 October 2012 09:19 AM

HELP PLEASE

...
I did not come to the forums yesterday and I am so far behind on what is going on, it is pathetic.  I need to read every post in this thread because there is a lot of great information in here on installing etc.

What I need help on is my cart.  Right now, I have the Genesis Starter Bundle, M5 Starter Bundle and V5 Starter Bundle in my cart.  Will this be enough to get me started with getting everything working in Poser?  Does anyone have any other suggestions?

If I wait and read all the posts, the sale will be over and I will still be reading.

Thank you so much Daz.  This was great news and I really appreciate the effort that made this possible.  This Poser user could not be happier.

......

Will I be okay with these three?  Anyone?

......


As long as http://www.daz3d.com/shop/dson-importer-for-poser is in your cart as well, then yes, you should be good to go.  That is the most important piece.  The rest is extra and not required.

Kat

Thank you Kat.  I only read the very first post in this thread when I proceeded to break the speed of light, checking out with the Importer.  So I am good to go there.  I wanted to grab it before someone at Daz said “Why are we giving this away?”

I thought it would be a good idea to get some starter packages so my people can have some textures and hair.  I have always coveted the Town and Country shirts and it comes in the M5 starter package, so I can grab that package and get the Town & Country also.

I shall patiently wait for anything you convert.

Did I mention how happy I was?  I guess this is one of the reasons that Daz is the best of the best.

 Signature 

A fool and her money are soon .....Hey!  Where’s my purse?

Old Post Count:  1110

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 427 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2003-10-09
fixmypcmike - 12 October 2012 10:57 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 10:30 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 10:22 AM
DAZ_Spooky - 12 October 2012 10:12 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 09:43 AM

Everything installed OK, I load up genesis, BUT then I cant access any other libraries, pose props etc

I already tried turning off the subdivison, to no effect

am I the only one having this problem

any advice

I have been unable to reproduce this. Can I talk you into filing a bug at http:\\bugs.daz3d.com in the DSON Importer for Poser Project. Either I or a member of my team will need more information so we can figure this one out.

Thanks.

Request #115215

already posted 4 hours & no reply


I want directly to http:\\bugs.daz3d.com   & it says” Your account may be disabled or blocked or the username/password you entered is incorrect”

WHAT !!

The bug reporter does not share your daz3d login information—if this is the first time you’re using it, you need to register first.


& now I’ve been waiting almost an hour for my confirmation e-mail to register,  bug reporter seems to have a few bugs

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 428 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  588
Joined  2006-08-11

So very simple and quick Genny in poser smile

Image Attachments
Genny.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 429 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
adzan - 12 October 2012 10:54 AM

genesis evolution: expressions, head morphs, body morphs and the Manly Men morphs
all say they must be installed in the same location as genesis

But as my DSON genesis is installed to the U drive and no daz Studio they will not install despite being on the list of items updated to DSON

Choose a custom install and specify the path manually.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 430 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1225
Joined  2003-10-19

I just want to say well done to both DAZ and Smith Micro. I am so happy that two of my fave companies have come together to work in harmony. And I am happy to see Genesis working in Poser.

Also… if it helps anyone…. this is how I installed mine.

I downloaded 3 files:  Genesis essentials (with the trx) Genesis essentials Poser CF and the DSON Importer. I didn’t change any of the paths, I let them install as they wanted.

Everything went to my Poser 2012 64 bit (as that is the version I’m using) In fact, this is the library I am currently loading Genesis from. Also, should mention my Runtime is a traditional Runtime, that works off program files (not my docs)

Additionally I have the MyLibrary mapped to my runtime (I noticed without that, it doesn’t see all the genesis morph packs I own) That said, it will load correctly, and the basic morphs are present, without this library being added. Could be something on my end, or maybe that’s just how it works.

Hope it helps.

 Signature 

—- Don’t knock on death’s door… ring the doorbell and run (he HATES that)

| My Store on DAZ | D4IVI4G3 Iµ© | Facebook |

Need help with something of mine? Shoot me an email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 431 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1294
Joined  2004-02-13
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 11:19 AM
fixmypcmike - 12 October 2012 10:57 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 10:30 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 10:22 AM
DAZ_Spooky - 12 October 2012 10:12 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 09:43 AM

Everything installed OK, I load up genesis, BUT then I cant access any other libraries, pose props etc

I already tried turning off the subdivison, to no effect

am I the only one having this problem

any advice

I have been unable to reproduce this. Can I talk you into filing a bug at http:\\bugs.daz3d.com in the DSON Importer for Poser Project. Either I or a member of my team will need more information so we can figure this one out.

Thanks.

Request #115215

already posted 4 hours & no reply


I want directly to http:\\bugs.daz3d.com   & it says” Your account may be disabled or blocked or the username/password you entered is incorrect”

WHAT !!

The bug reporter does not share your daz3d login information—if this is the first time you’re using it, you need to register first.


& now I’ve been waiting almost an hour for my confirmation e-mail to register,  bug reporter seems to have a few bugs

Even though you didn’t get the e-mail, go and try to log in and see if it lets you in.

 Signature 

Aundrea M Anderson (ann0314) (ARTCollaborations) (ARTCollab)
DAZ3D Community Volunteer Program Manager
DAZ3D PA/Customer Relations Liaison
Co-Owner of ARTCollaborations

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 432 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1294
Joined  2004-02-13

OK updated my checklist a little to rearrange the order some and to be more clear on a couple points for anyone who tried to install and ran into issues:

1) Have you looked through the installation instructions? If no, please go here: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dson_importer/poser/userguide/dson_installation_requirements/tutorials/dson_installation/start

2) Are you installing to Poser 9? If yes, be sure to install the 32 bit version even on a 64 Bit machine

3) Are you making sure you install to Poser 9 or Poser Pro 2012? If no, please know the importer will only work on these versions

4) Do you have Service Release 3 installed into Poser? If no, before proceeding you will need to download and install it (Please note SR3 may not be available to everyone in all countries yet, so please check for availability)

5) Did you download and install the right installers? You will need to install:

DSON_Importer_for_Poser_1.0.0.9_Win32 - Use this for 64 Bit or 32 Bit Systems running 32 Bit Poser 9 or 32 Bit Poser Pro 2012
DSON_Importer_for_Poser_1.0.0.9_Win64 - Use this ONLY if you are running 64 Bit Poser Pro 2012
14812_GenesisStarterEssentials_1.6_trx - Install this no matter which Poser or Bit Version you use
14812_GenesisStarterEssentialsPoserCF_1.6_dpc - Also install this no matter which Poser or Bit Version you use

6) Did you install to the application folder? If you use Windows 7 or Vista the content needs to be in a Poser content library outside the program Files/Program Files (x86) folder.

7) Are you getting a DLL error? If so, please see this post: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/9405/P390/#132419

If you have ran into something not on this list, let me know and I’ll update it so people know all the variables they can check and if I made a boo boo please let me know as well. smile

 Signature 

Aundrea M Anderson (ann0314) (ARTCollaborations) (ARTCollab)
DAZ3D Community Volunteer Program Manager
DAZ3D PA/Customer Relations Liaison
Co-Owner of ARTCollaborations

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 433 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2003-10-09
DAZ_ann0314 - 12 October 2012 11:37 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 11:19 AM
fixmypcmike - 12 October 2012 10:57 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 10:30 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 10:22 AM
DAZ_Spooky - 12 October 2012 10:12 AM
greyson5 - 12 October 2012 09:43 AM

Everything installed OK, I load up genesis, BUT then I cant access any other libraries, pose props etc

I already tried turning off the subdivison, to no effect

am I the only one having this problem

any advice

I have been unable to reproduce this. Can I talk you into filing a bug at http:\\bugs.daz3d.com in the DSON Importer for Poser Project. Either I or a member of my team will need more information so we can figure this one out.

Thanks.

Request #115215

already posted 4 hours & no reply


I want directly to http:\\bugs.daz3d.com   & it says” Your account may be disabled or blocked or the username/password you entered is incorrect”

WHAT !!

The bug reporter does not share your daz3d login information—if this is the first time you’re using it, you need to register first.


& now I’ve been waiting almost an hour for my confirmation e-mail to register,  bug reporter seems to have a few bugs

Even though you didn’t get the e-mail, go and try to log in and see if it lets you in.


with WHAT password, when you register its e-mail & username   NO password

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 434 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  300
Joined  2005-09-30
Mari-Anne - 12 October 2012 10:30 AM
DAZ_Spooky - 12 October 2012 10:15 AM
Mari-Anne - 12 October 2012 09:55 AM

I managed to download and install all the files, including the update to Daz Studio 4.5.1.6.  I am on Win 7 64-bit and have Poser Pro 2012 SR 3.  as for the DSON install, I let the installers go to the default locations and have the following DSON folders:

DSON - C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Run Time\Geometries

dson - C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Run Time\Python

DSON - C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Run Time\Python\poserScripts

GenesisStarterEssentials .dsx, .dsa, & .jpg - C:\Users\Owner\My Documents\Daz 3D\Studio\My Library\Run Time\Support

GenesisStarterEssentials .dsx, .dsa, & ,jpg -  C:\Users\Owner\My Documents\Daz 3D\Studio\My Library\Run Time\Support

In Poser Pro 2012, I have the My Library folder mapped.

Genesis loads fine although it seems to take forever (even after the initial load) and this is what I end up with when I apply the Lana texture - did I not do the installation correctly?

Just on the chance the image doesn’t upload, here’s the link:

http://www.emaycreations.net/GenesisLanaPoser.jpg

As you can see, the texture is off and there are some strange white blocks.

 

Wrong UV set is applied to Genesis. (I have done this myself before. smile ) What UV set is the texture designed for?

If you apply the Basic Female to Genesis then it will not only apply the texture set but also switch to V4’s UV set to Genesis. Basic Male = M4. Basic Child = K4. Michael 5 will give you M5’s UV’s, Victoria 5 will give you V5’s UV’s, etc.

I see what you mean about V4’s UV set being applied to Genesis.  However, I’m mystified.  I thought the Lana Simple texture was intended for Genesis??  It works fine if I apply it in Daz Studio 4.5.

I get roughly the same strange result in Poser if I use the Parameters dials to change Genesis to a V4 morph

UPDATE:  All is well (except for the very sluggish performance by Poser).  I found that the Genesis file I was loading was Genesis-Export-M4.cr2 instead of Genesis.cr2

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 11:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 435 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2310
Joined  2007-12-13
DAZ_KatBriggs - 12 October 2012 09:00 AM

Nicely done!

Thank you!

I’m usually the one who can’t get anything to work, but, once I’d installed all the core stuff it worked like a charm. I found it a little funny that the one female texture you’d included was the one I’d had the most trouble lighting in Poser! I believe Catharina Harders may be working on Genesis stuff that will be more like what I’m used to.

Am I right in thinking there’s now no basicwear for V5 like there was with V4!? I saw there was some for Genesis which wasn’t yet DSON compatible. I guess there will be some in the near future.

I can wait anyway as I have other projects on the go which are taking up my time and money

Onwards and upwards….

CHEERS!

Profile
 
 
   
29 of 72
29